There are three different guilds in ESO and two “disease” related skill lines. There is a lot of misinformation out there about all of it and hopefully this article will clarify some of the top questions along with getting you started on the path to unlock the powerful skills from these lines.

First, the biggest question - yes you can join both the fighter and mage guild, and when it’s added, the thieves guild. No, the thieves guild isn’t in the game yet, but will be added at some point after launch as additional content. Yes, it’s all optional content.

Below is a brief description of the world & guild skill lines and how to obtain them, including Werewolf and Vampire.

Fighter’s Guild

The Fighter’s Guild is available as soon as you’re done with Coldharbor and requires a simple quest in the first major city to unlock. You can find the Fighter’s Guild marked on your map. It is leveled up through killing the undead and daedra, in addition to completing Fighter’s Guild quests.

The skills here are focused on slaying the undead and the daedra.

Mage’s Guild

In a similar vain, you’ll find the Mage’s Guild also in the first major city after Coldharbor. It is leveled up through Mage Guild quests and finding tomes scattered throughout the world.

The skills here are focused around magic and enhancing magical abilities.


This is a dungeon quest line that levels up as you complete dungeon achievements. The skills here synergy with others in your party.


Okay this line is super fun. Starting at level 15 (technically level 4, but you can’t do the quest until 15) you can be infected with vampirism from random vampire NPCs or another player (who has a 7 day cooldown). To obtain Vampirism or the Vampire skill line in ESO you’ll need to be effectively fed on by another vampire. At that point you’ll be given a quest line to either become a vampire or decline the skill tree. If you decline the skill tree, you can then still become a werewolf. However, if you accept the vampiric powers, you can no longer become a werewolf.

Not to spoil the skill line, but vampires are more powerful at night and the disease works in stages, based on how hungry you are is what sort of buffs / debuffs you receive.

The NPC to obtain the buff is a rare spawn called a bloodfiend.

Lycanthropy / Werewolf

The werewolf skill line works in a similar fashion, you’ll need to be infected with lycanthropy from a werewolf (either an NPC or another player), complete a quest, then accept the quest line. If you’re a vampire then you can’t be a werewolf as well.

This skill tree allows you to use the werewolf ultimate, which transforms you into a werewolf giving you powerful attacks and adjusting your damage based on your stamina.

Thieves Guild

The Thieves Guild has yet to be implemented into ESO.

Soul Magic

This is a line you automatically get that allows you to capture souls in order to revive. Two notable skills are Soul Lock (which gives you a 5% chance to fill a soul gem on a weapon strike kill) and Soul Summons which lets you revive without expending a Soul Gem every two hours.

Well that’s it for the unique World and Guild skill lines!


To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our The Elder Scrolls Online Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2016

About The Author

Xerin 1
Get in the bush with David "Xerin" Piner as he leverages his spectacular insanity to ask the serious questions such as is Master Yi and Illidan the same person? What's for dinner? What are ways to elevate your gaming experience? David's column, Respawn, is updated near daily with some of the coolest things you'll read online, while David tackles ways to improve the game experience across the board with various hype guides to cool games.