The Blood Elves are the new playable race for the Horde introduced with the Burning Crusade expansion.  They have been around in game in various locations since the launch of the World of Warcraft, many players will remember them from Azshara. 


The Blood Elves are really the same race as High Elves, but have renamed themselves the “Children of the Blood” or Sin’dorei.  They did this to honor their kin that were killed during the battle at Quel’Thalas against the Scourge.

The Blood Elves have been helped by the naga and branded as traitors by the Alliance.  Being shunned and hated by the Alliance they have decided to join the Horde in an effort to get to the Outlands to find their Prince Kael’thas Sunstrider.


As a Blood Elf you will start in the Eversong Woods, their secondary zone is the Ghostlands.  Both of these zones make up Quel’Thalas. Their capital city is Silvermoon and located in the Eversong Woods.

Quel’Thalas is located north of the Eastern Plaguelands and beside Tirisfal Glades.  There is also a portal in Silvermoon that will teleport you to the Undercity.

Class Choices

As a Blood Elf you can play the following classes:

  • Hunter
  • Mage
  • Paladin
  • Priest
  • Rogue
  • Warlock
Racial Abilities

Blood Elves have some very good racial abilities that would draw many players even if they were an ugly race. 

Arcane Torrent – Silences all enemies within 8 years of you for 2 seconds.  Also gain 10 energy / 12 mana for each mana tap effect on you, the mana effect scales with level to 161 at level 70.

Mana Tap – This ability drains 50 mana (and scales with your level) from your target and puts an arcane energy buff on you for 10 minutes.  The buff can stack up to 3 times.

Arcane Affinity – Bonus 10 skill points in Enchanting.

Magic Resistance – All resistances are increased by 5.

Priest Abilities

As with every other class that can play a priest Blood Elf priests gain 2 race specific abilities.  They are:

Consume Magic – This ability dispels one buff from you and gives you mana based on your level.  It scales from 120 – 154 up to 455 – 488 at level 70.  It is an instant cast spell with a 2 minute cooldown.

Touch of Weakness – This is the same ability that Undead priests have.  It is a buff that you place on yourself, when you are next hit in melee the buff transfers onto your attacker as a debuff. The debuff on inflicts shadow damage and causes the target to do less damage for the next 2 minutes

If you have questions or comments we would love to hear from you! Email me ([email protected]) or post on our forums!

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our World of Warcraft Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2016

About The Author

Byron 1
Byron has been playing and writing about World of Warcraft for the past ten years. He also plays pretty much ever other Blizzard game, currently focusing on Heroes of the Storm and Hearthstone, while still finding time to jump into Diablo III with his son.


Related Content

54 professions square
Patch 5.4 Profession Changes