Archive
Daily Tip:There are 2 types of PvP in Guild Wars 2 – Structured PvP and World PvP

Guild Wars 2 Previews

  • Make yourself a date with the night

    Games Radar has posted their impressions of the upcoming Guild Wars Expansion, Nightfall.

    As you may remember, the original plan for the massively multiplayer role-player Guild Wars was that rather than charging a subscription fee, they'd release full-priced expansions every six months for people who wanted further adventures. When Guild Wars Factions took a full year to appear, that plan was presumed to be abandoned. With Nightfall arriving almost six months to the day later, it seemingly hasn't.

    Keep reading to see what they have to say. Head over to our Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community site to catch up on all the latest news and information.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Oct 24, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Boomtown Brings Us an Hands-On Preview of Nightfall

    Boomtown has posted their latest look at the upcoming Guild Wars expansion. They had a chance to play Nightfall. Keep reading to find out what they thought...

    So here we are again, logging on for God knows which time, this time preparing to get into the next chapter of the saga, Nightfall. The title screen now has a sort of African-Arabian from-the-desert-to-the-seas thing going, and as usual, Jeremy Soule's music fits the mood. It feels like I'm about to date an old flame again, and she's changed ever so subtly, but somehow significantly. The thing is, though, that she's still the same, my Guild Wars. She may now have even more to do, this time focusing on single-player content rather than the multiplayer-fest that is Factions, she may have two new classes, the Dervish and the Paragon, lots of new items, quests, et cetera up her sleeve, but really, folks, she is the same.

    Get clicking to read the rest of the preview. Stop by our Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community site to catch up on all the latest news and information or share your thoughts with us on this and all your favorite MMOs in the new Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 16, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Thriving Online Community Waiting for More!

    Hexus.gaming has posted a preview of the upcoming expansion to Guild Wars. Nightfall has received favorable previews thus far, keep reading to see if the trend continues.

    NCSoft and ArenaNet’s Guild Wars titles have a thriving online community. The latest expansion, Guild Wars Nightfall, has got those fans salivating at the thought of new missions, new environments to explore, new magical beasts and even two new professions to choose from, the Dervish and the Paragon.

    Get clicking to see how they rate Guild Wars: Nightfall. Do you play Guild Wars? Are you looking forward to this expansion? Head over to the Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community site and share your thoughts with us in the forums today.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 05, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Guild Wars Nightfall Updated Impressions - Heroes, Quests, and Setting

    GameSpot posted some updated impressions for the upcoming expansion to Guild Wars. They had a chance to speak with ArenaNet co-founder Jeff Strain about Nightfall.

    The appeal of online games is that they let you have your adventures alongside other players from around the globe. And one of the hallmarks of ArenaNet's online role-playing game Guild Wars is that it has evolved over time, adding new features and gameplay ever since its launch last year. Thanks to excellent gameplay and the fact that there's no subscription fee required to play, Guild Wars has established itself as a hit. ArenaNet claims more than 2 million copies of the game sold to date, and with the release of further chapters, we can expect that number to grow.

    Head over and read the rest of the article. Joined our Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community yet? Head over and share your thoughts in the forums. Catch up on al the latest news and information today.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 29, 2006
    LadySirse
  • A Guild Wars Factions Primer

    Guild Wars Factions launched in early May, but if you're not quite sure what the standalone expansion to the bestselling subscription-free Guild Wars is all about, Hexus does a great job of summarizing things in this article.

    This time we have 2 new character classes to add to the classes from the Prophecies campaign, giving you Assassin and Ritualist to choose from too. Assassins are fast and can link attacks together with ease, Ritualists can summon creatures from the void (spirits and the likes !) to aid them and party members in battle.

    Check out the Guild Wars Factions overview at Hexus gaming, then I'd be remiss to not mention our very own Guild Wars @ Ten Ton Hammer community site, for the rest of your GW info needs.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, May 31, 2006
    Ethec
  • PvP with no monthly fee.
    Pro-G has a preview of Guild Wars: Factions up and ready to be perused.

    "The Factions campaign itself is set on an Asian-styled continent called Cantha, and (as the title implies) the story revolves around a conflict between two warring factions, the Luxon and the Kurzick. Player guilds can form alliances to side with one of these two factions, and then engage in alliance battles, the result of which will give the victorious alliance control over towns and unlock elite-level cooperative quests."

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Mar 31, 2006
    Boomjack
  • Guild Wars world tour.
    MMORPG.com toured the ArenaNET studios to take a look at Guild Wars: Factions, the upcoming expansion to the hit game.

    "We were introduced to two of the four mission types that will be available in Factions, and we played each one of the new professions in two different scenarios. During the tour, we had seen the animators working on the dance animations and the “Signature” dances which will also include particle effects and NPC backup dancers, so the first thing everyone did was to try out the dance animation. With Game Designers Eric Flannum and John Peters coaching and accompanied by several other devs that provided back-up characters other than Assassins and Ritualists, we were off."

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Mar 22, 2006
    Boomjack
  • Guild Wars Chapter 2, Coming To a PC Near You.
    GameSpot has posted a Guild Wars interview focusing on the as yet unnamed expansion, Chapter 2. Nostradamus predicted this expansion when he wrote:

    " Guild Wars has become one of the major successes of 2005, and it's easy to see why. This online role-playing game from ArenaNet offers countless hours of excellent gameplay, requires no monthly subscription fee, and features innovative streaming technology that allows the developers to update the game automatically every time you log on. Now the team at ArenaNet is preparing the first major update to Guild Wars, the so-called second chapter. This update will introduce a ton of content. But don't take our word for it. Gaile Gray, Guild War's community relations manager, was kind enough to answer our questions regarding chapter two. "

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Preview at GameSpot.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 29, 2005
    Boomjack
  • /sings "And that's the recipe for makin' sorrow!"

    How would you like to have your spirit shackled so you can be treated as a contemptible slave in a sweltering dungeon? We thought you would, and so did Arena.net! IGN is hot for Sorrow's Furnace, and we can see why...

    With the addition of Sorrow's Furnace, players will receive two new zones with a ton of new quests and content along with smaller additions to existing areas and new gameplay mechanics. These guys play the game a ton themselves and workers dedicated to looking through player feedback and compiling it for the team to see have found some obvious areas of improvement. One of the most glaring bits that many players have mentioned is the issue of progression and reward. As it is right now, players making their way through the story campaign will tromp along swimingly, growing in power and skill at a great pace, when they'll run smack into a wall that slows progression mingling frustration with the fun.

    Read the lengthy Guild Wars: Sorrow's Furnace preview at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Ethec
  • PvP Extreme and still no monthly fee.
    Details on the upcoming PvP Extreme event for Guild Wars players have been posted on the official site. Dave Chappelle swears up and down that he didn't say this:

    " Join us for our three-day Guild Wars PvP Extreme Weekend (PvPX) and get a jump on the competition. For the entire weekend, all PvP play gets you extra faction points. "

    You can read the details of the Guild Wars - PvP Extreme Weekend at the Official Site.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 23, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net