Heroes of the Storm: Hero Type Guide

A basic guide showcasing the four different Hero types found in Heroes of the Storm.

Heroes of the Storm

Heroes of the Storm, Blizzard's online team brawler game, brings us some of the most iconic and best-loved characters from the Warcraft, Diablo, and Starcraft universes. Each of these well-known Heroes is classified into one of four distinct categories: Assassin, Support, Warrior, or Specialist. Depending on which category a Hero belongs to will determine what role that Hero will play inside the game. Each type of Hero has a special place of their own to fit into the intense game battles.

With that in mind, it is easy to just pick a Hero without thinking much about these categories. In fact, most of us will simply pick our favorite Hero, regardless of what he or she does. However, choosing a Hero in a category that fits your personal play style is essential to your enjoyment of the game. For example, if you like charging directly into battle, you don't want a Hero who is made to hide in the background. Or if you prefer healing, you don't want to pick a character who is solely made for damage.

Read onward to have these categories explained so that you can feel confident in choosing the perfect Hero type for you.


Assassins are the damage dealers in Heroes of the Storm. They have the potential to do massive amounts of damage. However, true to the Assassin name, they don't just jump head first into battle. Instead the Assassin sits back and waits. Carefully picking their target before rushing forth and systematically destroying them.

Despite the large amounts of damage this Hero type pumps out, they also have a weakness. In a trade for their huge damage, Assassins have very low health and resistance. They are also inept at damaging multiple targets, being better suited for one on one combat. This leaves them very vulnerable if they get stuck in a sticky situation and is another reason the Assassin takes his or her time before attacking.


The eight Assassins available in Heroes of the Storm are:

  • Demon Hunter
  • Illidan
  • Falstad
  • Nova
  • Kerrigan
  • Raynor
  • Tychus
  • Zeratul


Heroes who are considered Supports do exactly what you would expect them to do, support their team in battle. Support Heroes offer up various spells that help to keep your team alive. Healing spells, shields, buffs, and crowd control are all abilities common to a Support Hero.

Support Heroes are able to do damage, however, it is minimal. Instead players who choose these Heroes can expect to spend their time staying out of the way of combat. With that being said, Support Heroes are essential to any team and staying close your your allies to back them up with your abilities is all important. How well you play your Support Hero could very well determine if your team wins or loses a match.


There are currently six Support type Heroes in game:

  • Brightwing
  • Tyrande
  • Li Li
  • Malfurion
  • Uther
  • Tassandar


Those Heroes that fall into the Warrior category are, like the Assassin, damage dealing characters. However, unlike the Assassin, these rough and tumble Heroes deal damage in a different way. With huge amounts of health and resistance, Warriors run into battle and disrupt the fighting. Drawing attention onto themselves, thus keeping the rest of the team (especially those more squishy Heroes) out of harm's way.

Warriors are really the tanks of Heroes of the Storm. They are all that stands between enemies and allies. Playing this character type will ensure you are almost always on the front lines of battle, bring destruction down on the heads of all those who stand to oppose you.


Heroes of the Storm currently boasts six Warrior Heroes:

  • Diablo
  • Arthas
  • Elite Tauren Chieftain
  • Muradin
  • Tyrael
  • Stitches


Specialists are unique in that they, according to Blizzard, do not fit into any other role. Specialists are utility characters, however, they provide back up to their team in ways that Support Heroes cannot. They can do massive damage to towers and bases, provide buffs, and even take over other characters to help the team. Filled with interesting and unusual abilities, Specialists can be played in many different ways, all of which effectively strengthen a team.


Specialists found in Heroes of the Storm include:

  • Zagara
  • Murky
  • Gazlowe
  • Abathur
  • Sgt. Hammer
  • Witch Doctor

Now that you know more about the Hero types inside the game, it is time for you to pick your Hero. Keep in mind, each Hero inside each of these categories have their own distinct abilities and skills. It is a good idea to try out every Hero inside each of these categories to make sure you find the best one suited to your personal play style. Now get playing!

About the Author

Last Updated:

Around the Web