Archive

Lord of the Rings Online Previews

  • First Look

    MMORPG.com posted their first look at Lord of the Rings Online this weekend.

    My Hobbit Minstrel really became my main character as I traveled through the lands of Middle Earth playing songs to heal the Morale of my fellow party members as well as fighting and doing damage through my shouts. What is Morale, you ask? It is your health bar, plain and simple. In a fight, if you do poorly, you lose Morale (a good take on Tolkien’s theme). A Minstrel has the ability to boost Morale, thus healing players.

    More is just a click away.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Feb 12, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Lord of the Rings Online: Hands-On Preview

    WarCry had a chance to get some hands on time with Lord of the Rings Online. Keep reading to see what they have to say about this upcoming MMO.

    The game looks great. However this comes with a price, and that is right now textures will kill your machine if you don't have at least 2GB of RAM. If not, I'd suggest reducing texture detail to Medium or Low. Since the game is still in Beta, I'd expect that this will get addressed before launch. The amount of detail in the environment from waving fields of flora to the water is amazing though. Character and creature models are well done, especially capes, which would give a certain superhero MMO a run for its money.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Feb 12, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Preview from Midway Gamer's Day

    FiringSquad had a chance to post a new preview for Lord of the Rings Online.

    FiringSquad has covered Lord of the Rings Online extensively in the past couple of months via an interview and some brief impressions at CES. At Midway's Gamers Day this past Thursday, developer Turbine showed off a build of the upcoming fantasy MMORPG but the big news was the announcement of a special pre-order program where players could either choose to pay $9.99 a month or a $199 lifetime membership if they pre-order the game. We got a chance to chat briefly with Turbine CEO Jeff Anderson about this new venture.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 29, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Lord of the Rings Online: CES Preview

    MMORPG.com has put down their thoughts on Lord of the Rings Online from this years's CES.

    At the Games for Windows booth in the Las Vegas Convention Center this year was Turbine, showing off Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar. Played on Windows Vista, rendered using Microsoft’s DX10 API.

    Poised to ship in the 2nd quarter of the year, Adam Mersky, Director of Communications was justifiably excited. “We had over 300,000 beta sign-ups,” he said, “and we’ve garnered interest from fans of Tolkien, fans who’ve never played an MMO before.”

    Get clicking tolearn more.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Jan 16, 2007
    LadySirse
  • More Impressions from CES

    FiringSquad has posted another look at Lord of the Rings Online based on their impressions from CES.

    The demo at CES was fairly subdued; we didn't get to see anything like combat; it was basically just seeing a pre-created character move through the world of Middle Earth (which we will told during our demo is about 30,000 square miles of game space which only a portion will be available to play at the game's launch). The game is looking about as sharp as we have seen it in past trade show with an art style that takes its inspiration from the various fantasy illustrations for the Rings books rather than the film version. You will still recognize various settings from the books, from Hobbiton in the Shire to Tom Bombadil's house (which is up on top of a hill overlooking a waterfall just like the books describe it).

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jan 12, 2007
    LadySirse
  • IGN bug Turbine for some updated news plus new impressions.

    IGN brings us their thoughts on what they have seen of Lord of the Rings Online during CES.

    he message we got from our time with Lord of the Rings Online at this year's Consumer Electronic Show was that the developers are looking to create the most authentic experience possible for bringing the piece of fantasy fiction to the online world. Whether they succeed or not remains to be seen, but the amount of detail put into the small amount we saw today was a good start.

    Get clicking to learn more.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jan 10, 2007
    LadySirse
  • CES 07: The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar Impressions

    Gamespot has updated their site today with their impressions of Lord of the Rings Online from CES.

    At CES Turbine showed off mounts for the first time and explained how travel will be accomplished throughout the game. The Lord of the Rings Online will launch with a world that's 30,000 square miles in size, which is humongous. After the first time you travel to a new location, you'll be able to fast-travel to that point, which means you'll automatically ride a mount to that location. If you have more money, you can purchase your own mount and ride anywhere you wish. The mounts thus far include horses and ponies for the tiny hobbits.

    More is just a click away.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jan 10, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Suddenly that hobbit fetish you're harboring doesn't seem so shameful

    Gotta love that title! Check out this preview straight from Lord of the Rings Online Beta that was posted over the weekend at Games Radar.

    In the wrong hands, the richly-woven veins of lore and adventure that define J.R.R. Tolkien's books could've proved bridling, and possibly insulting - after all, it has in plenty of previous games based upon The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. But a few dozen hours in the closed beta of The Lord of the Rings Online gives the opposite impression: one of freedom and excitement in a familiar world that's nevertheless brimming with untapped potential, whether you enter it as Human, Elf, Dwarf or Hobbit.

    Get clicking to read the rest!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Ten Ton Hammer / LotroSource's premier glimpse into Turbine's Middle Earth...

    John "Methost" Irwin on our LotroSource sister site offers up his first hands-on preview of Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar, straight from last week's Midway event in San Franciso:

    Special mention should also be given to the artwork on this game. The stunning visuals had me stopping mid-quest more than once, just to look around. The ground foliage sways in the breeze and the lakes cast lifelike reflections. Leaves flutter from trees and stars twinkle in the night’s sky. Turbine uses the word “polish” when it talks about delays in development. This is what they mean. The end result is eye-popping.

    You can read the rest of Methost's engaging preview at LotroSource.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 08, 2006
    Ethec
  • Another WoW competitor, but with quite a legacy to back it up.

    1UP.com has posted a preview of Lord of the Rings Online.

    LOTRO will indefinitely prove that the rights to a movie license are vastly overrated. Even with only the books to pull from (the core trilogy as well as The Hobbit), Turbine's take on Tolkein's world is as vivid and as stylized as we've seen from EA's titles, if not moreso. Taking into account the sheer, massive size of Middle Earth, LOTRO is currently limited to one region of the world: Eriador. With the other regions of Middle Earth planned to be dolled out in due time, this gives Turbine the opportunity to give each region the type of care it deserves, thus giving off a handmade feel to the world. The region by region nature of LOTRO also allows Turbine enough time to roll out the ongoing story, which is intended to involve players in famous events from the Lord of the Ring series.

    Get clicking to read more. Have you been to our LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer Community sitelately? Head over and get caught up on all the latest news and information.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 07, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net