Archive

Lord of the Rings Online Previews

  • The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar Hands-on

    IGN has been busy getting hands on time with several upcoming games. Today, the posted a preview of Lord of the Rings Online. Keep reading to see what they thought of their time in Middle-earth.

    The game begins, as all others do, by creating a character. Males and females of the humans, elves and hobbits can be chosen along with a male dwarf. I guess females with beards aren't that appealing. After picking a race and gender a racial intro cut shows to give a little bit of background on that particular entry to set the stage for events to come.

    Those unfamiliar with the title up to now should know that it takes place during the events of The Lord of the Rings trilogy of books. This simple fact opens up a lot of questions. Will we get to see the fellowship traveling around? Will we play a role in the events leading up to Frodo dropping the ring into the fire pits of Mount Doom?

    Get clicking to find out what answers they were able to find. Stop by our LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer Community today and get up to date with all the latest news and information!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 03, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Will Middle-earth Become Your New Home?

    MMORPG.com had a chance to preview Lord of the Rings Online during PAX. They have updated their site to bring us this preview. Keep reading to find out if they think the game is a hit...

    The star of the Turbine Entertainment booth at PAX was Lord of the Rings Online. In taking on this second massive license, Turbine has a mighty weight on their shoulders and expectations to live up to.

    “This is an MMO for people who love MMOs,” explained Lead Systems Designer Nik Davidson. He made special note of how the game had not tried to “reinvent the wheel” when it came to things like interface, controls and basic mechanism. Lord of the Rings Online will not have change for change’s sake.

    Read the full preview to learn more. Haven't joined the Lord of the Rings Online Community here yet? Why not? It just takes a moment to register. Head on over to LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer and sign up today! Then hit the forums and tell us what you are looking forward to seeing in this upcoming MMO.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • As I wandered the gaming exhibition area of the Penny Arcade Expo, I wondered what exactly people would want to know about Lord of the Rings Online. There has been a flood of information released by Turbine in the past weeks and most of the games major systems have been talked about. The systems we don’t know about were not going to be shown at PAX. What is a reporter to do? It is not easy for me to place myself in the position of an unknowing fan because I actually receive a bit more information about the game. That’s right, I know stuff. The desire to share all I know is very great. Unfortunately, I am limited to telling you about what I saw or could have seen at PAX. This may sound very restrictive, but there are so many small details that are to be learned. I will try to touch on and grade a few major areas of the game. These grades are based only on the current version that was on display at PAX.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 30, 2006
    Methost
  • GameSpot sits down with Codemasters and Turbine at Leipzig to see an advanced build of this Tolkien-inspired MMORPG.

    Did GameSpot give this look at the game a thumbs up...or down? Keep reading to find out.

    LEIPZIG, Germany--Based on the literary works of J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings Online is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game set for release on the PC. We've seen quite a lot of the game over the past year, and as it moves into beta phase at the end of September, more people will be able to see just how it's shaping up. As you'd expect from a game based on such a classic piece of literature, The Lord of the Rings Online has a firm emphasis on story. Playing as one of seven character classes, you will follow a path that frequently crosses that of the fellowship of the ring, with plenty of familiar names and places along the way. We visited Codemasters at Leipzig to see an example of the first few character levels and what players can hope to expect as they work their way deeper into the game.

    Check out the preview at GameSpot. Don't forget to stop by our own Lord of the Rings Online community at LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer. Share your thoughts with us in the forums there.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 24, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Turbine grinds away on their Tolkien-set MMO

    GameDaily.com has posted their first impressions of Lord of the Rings Online. Did they enjoy it or find it a chore to look at? Keep reading to find out.

    Turbine is hard at work on Lord of the Rings Online, and they're proud to show it off. From the very first glance it's obvious that the team has made huge strides, bringing the visuals far up from last year's showing and improving the overall experience through control and gameplay by magnitudes.

    Read the full article and then head over to the forums at LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer and let us know what you think!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 14, 2006
    LadySirse
  • We have a scratch in race #4 at the Barrow-downs. Frodo's Fancy will not run today.
    Turbine has posted a preview of the Barrow-downs area in Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar.

    "Known in the Elvish language as Tyrn Gorthad ("Hills of Tombs"), the Barrow-downs, located east of the Old Forest in the Bree-land region of Eriador, is a place of mystery best avoided by unwary adventurers.  By day, the area seems harmless enough – a quiet region of gently rolling plains and grassy mounds topped by ancient standing stones, marking the final resting place of great warriors from ages past.  But the spells which lay across the Barrow-downs are deceiving, and the mists that roll in as the day wanes can disorient and entrap even the bravest souls, turning the once-pleasant hills into dark shapes crowned with sharp teeth of stone.  In the dreadful gloom, evil spirits from Angmar dwell amongst the standing stones and within the burial mounds, inhabiting the bodies of the long-dead warriors and raising them as terrifying Wights driven to collect the living and bring them forever into this land of the dead. "

    You can read the entire Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar Preview at the Official Site.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Dance Party Bree!
    Turbine has released an MP3 to be used in-game for the Prancing Pony. You know, the one in Bree just east of the Chetwood Forest. Okay, so I spent hours of my socially-ostracized youth studying the Tolkien maps, what's it to ya? :)

    " Download Prancing_Pony.mp3 to hear in-game music from LOTRO! "

    Link to the download on the LotRO front page!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 29, 2005
    Ethec
  • Making friends and influencing people in Middle Earth.
    CVG now has a preview of Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar posted. Apparently you'll only be able to craft a character from the free races (man, hobbit, elf, and dwarf). A gleaming white figure on a bright white horse shouted this as he rode swiftly by:

    "Although the developer apparently discussed the idea of being able to play the game as good versus evil, in the end it's decided to let you choose characters from the four free races of the world: men, elves, hobbits and dwarves. Unfortunately, you won't be able to tread the Middle-earth turf as an orc or a goblin."

    Click here for more information, including when you'll see some familiar characters from the epic tale.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jul 25, 2005
    Ethec
  • "Alas, this camp shall not bequeath another fey beast for another hour and two score minutes!"
    With hundreds of Legolas-variations in character names roaming the countryside of games like Everquest 2 and World of Warcraft until recent attempts to thwart the use of "real" fantasy character names, the role playing aspect of the upcoming Middle Earth MMO was never in doubt. How will the game answer concerns of producing a game as friendly to Gandolfs (role players) as BigNukers (pure gamers)? Turbine Dev Floon Beetle weighs in on the issue:

    "Role-play is entirely a function of players, not code. Role-play is about people connecting with each other, not with bytes of code or icons. It is about turning what might otherwise be isolated imagination into a shared experience. There are no rules or systems that truly make that more meaningful: it is the personal interaction that makes it significant."

    The moral of the story? Give players a world worthy of role-play and see what happens. Sounds good to us! Check out the full article.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jul 25, 2005
    Ethec
  • Orcs and Goblins and Wizards, oh my!
    Turbine has posted a look at the Goblins and Orcs of Lords of the Rings Online. I had a dream last night, in black and white no less, that went something like this:

    "Where Tolkien has used both the names 'Goblin' and 'Orc' for the race, we've used the terms in the interest of gameplay to represent different types of Orc-kind. 'Orcs' are larger, brawnier creatures, whereas 'Goblins' are smaller, and the sort that might ambush you in dark caverns underground."

    You can read the entire Lord of the Rings Online Preview at The Official Site.
     

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 15, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net