Archive

Previews

  • Hero's Journey First View

    RPG Vault has posted a look at the upcoming Hero's Journey that is full of wonderful new screenshots.

    Set in the original world of Elanthia, Simutronics' Hero's Journey is a massively multiplayer endeavor focused on providing an action-oriented, adventure-style experience that also emphasizes flexible character creation and development an a compelling quest element.

    Learn more with just a click.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • As Sigil's labor of love enters the fifth phase of its beta period, GameSpy takes a look at how far it has come.

    Gamespy updated their look at Vanguard: Saga of Heroes over the weekend. Don't miss out...

    I've been following the progress of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes for what seems like years now. As the MMO lovechild of both Brad McQuaid and Jeff Butler (the geniuses behind EverQuest), one could argue that it's worth the wait just to see what the guys that just about invented the genre come up with. Harried by publisher issues and an overzealous fanbase, it has been a bumpy road for the folks at Sigil, but now that Vanguard has opened its doors to FilePlanet subscribers (click this link to go check it out), we thought it was a good time to take a look at the changes the game has undergone since the earliest days of the closed beta.

    More is just a click away.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Suddenly that hobbit fetish you're harboring doesn't seem so shameful

    Gotta love that title! Check out this preview straight from Lord of the Rings Online Beta that was posted over the weekend at Games Radar.

    In the wrong hands, the richly-woven veins of lore and adventure that define J.R.R. Tolkien's books could've proved bridling, and possibly insulting - after all, it has in plenty of previous games based upon The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. But a few dozen hours in the closed beta of The Lord of the Rings Online gives the opposite impression: one of freedom and excitement in a familiar world that's nevertheless brimming with untapped potential, whether you enter it as Human, Elf, Dwarf or Hobbit.

    Get clicking to read the rest!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Sigil's Nick Parkinson takes IGN through what to expect in the new beta and how best to help improve Vanguard as a whole.

    IGN posted a preview of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes over the weekend that was written by Nick "Glip" Parkinson. Don't miss out on this and the great screenshots at are included.

    There's a lot of you that have been looking forward to checking out this gigantic MMO for yourselves so now's the time. Nick Parkinson from Sigil Games was nice enough to fill us in on all of the changes and improvements that have taken place over the previous stages of beta so that you can know what to expect along with hints on how you can help make the game better by the time it releases.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Get the WAR going!

    GameDaily took time over the weekend to post a one minute preview of the upcoming Warhammer Online.

    People complain that companies build fantasy-based online games pretty much the same way. Gamers level up, kill stuff, get better loot, rinse and repeat. Warhammer: Age of Reckoning (WAR), on the other hand, rips the heart out of that misconception and steps on it. Introducing Realm vs. Realm combat, a combination of Player vs. Player and Player vs. Environment types of game play, this game may rewrite the rules of design for future massively multiplayer online games.

    Learn more with just a click.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Vanguard Preview

    GamersInfo.net has added their thoughts to the round of previews today.

    I'm one of those people who is a fan of MMO's in general. If it has multiple people playing together online, I'll probably at least try it. It was Christmas seven years ago that my husband and I bought one another our first MMO, his and hers copies of Everquest, and I've been hooked on MMO's ever since. So when we had an opportunity to join Vanguard beta and take an early look at the game, I was more than a little excited. I knew enough about the game and Brad McQuaid to know that this game had potential to take me back to those glory days of my first MMO.

    More is just a click away.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • First Impressions

    Eurogamer.net has posted a preview of Vanguard:Saga of Heroes on their site today.

    Perhaps, on reflection, Sigil Games might feel that putting the word "Saga" into the name was asking for trouble. Calling a game a "Saga" of anything, aside from inviting silly jokes about old age pensioners that don't play very well beyond England's shores, also practically guarantees that your development process will indeed become a Saga - a long, drawn out and somewhat painful experience abounding with whispered half-truths and vague generalisations. Still - even given the number of misconceptions and conflicting views which exist on the topic of Vanguard, Sigil's developers can at least count themselves lucky that they avoided the "Forever" pitfall, eh?

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Continuing his series on specific elements in Flagship's title, Bill Roper tells RPG Vault about its three types of quests

    RPG Vault has posted another in the series of sneak peeks at Hellgate London. The seventh installment in this series sports three new screenshots.

    In Flagship Studios' Hellgate: London, which takes place in 2038, the titular city lies in ruins, shattered by a demon army against which nuclear and even biological armaments were almost completely ineffective. There is but one final, desperate ray of hope. It resides with factions such as these, who can face the monsters with abilities and technologies outside the realm of normal understanding.

    Get clicking to check it out.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jan 04, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Bill Roper offers information on items and magic, the demon fighters' key tools of the trade in Flagship's game

    RPG Vault has posted another in their series of previews of Hellgate: London.

    Items
    Weapons and armor are both very important to the long-term life expectancy of characters, and there will be ways to customize both. Clothing is a whole other matter, and in fact, we have separate slots for pants and shirts. We want to have a way for players to have "casual" wear they can kick around in when they're not out slaying Demons, and we're looking forward to making a TON of cool stuff for players to collect and wear.

    Get clicking to learn more.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Dec 21, 2006
    LadySirse
  • eGames 06: Fury Preview

    PAL Gaming Network has taken the time to preview the upcoming Fury. Keep reading to see what their thoughts are.

    Fury is a game that allows gamers to fully customise their characters in becoming one of the greatest fighters in the universe. Players take the role of one of the Chosen, heroes that have been selected to be reborn due to their previous heroic deeds. The universe that Fury is set in is on the verge of destruction, and it’s up to the Chosen to go round to other dimensions to fight and rebuild the universe.

    Keep reading with just a click.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Dec 20, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net