Archive

Previews

  • Another WoW competitor, but with quite a legacy to back it up.

    1UP.com has posted a preview of Lord of the Rings Online.

    LOTRO will indefinitely prove that the rights to a movie license are vastly overrated. Even with only the books to pull from (the core trilogy as well as The Hobbit), Turbine's take on Tolkein's world is as vivid and as stylized as we've seen from EA's titles, if not moreso. Taking into account the sheer, massive size of Middle Earth, LOTRO is currently limited to one region of the world: Eriador. With the other regions of Middle Earth planned to be dolled out in due time, this gives Turbine the opportunity to give each region the type of care it deserves, thus giving off a handmade feel to the world. The region by region nature of LOTRO also allows Turbine enough time to roll out the ongoing story, which is intended to involve players in famous events from the Lord of the Ring series.

    Get clicking to read more. Have you been to our LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer Community sitelately? Head over and get caught up on all the latest news and information.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 07, 2006
    LadySirse
  • The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar Hands-on

    IGN has been busy getting hands on time with several upcoming games. Today, the posted a preview of Lord of the Rings Online. Keep reading to see what they thought of their time in Middle-earth.

    The game begins, as all others do, by creating a character. Males and females of the humans, elves and hobbits can be chosen along with a male dwarf. I guess females with beards aren't that appealing. After picking a race and gender a racial intro cut shows to give a little bit of background on that particular entry to set the stage for events to come.

    Those unfamiliar with the title up to now should know that it takes place during the events of The Lord of the Rings trilogy of books. This simple fact opens up a lot of questions. Will we get to see the fellowship traveling around? Will we play a role in the events leading up to Frodo dropping the ring into the fire pits of Mount Doom?

    Get clicking to find out what answers they were able to find. Stop by our LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer Community today and get up to date with all the latest news and information!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 03, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Find Out What IGN Thinks Of Fury

    IGN has posted a report of their hands on preview. Find out what they learned when they were given a chance to test drive this upcoming game. You'll love the screenshots that are included with the article too!

    Tony Hilliam explained, "We don't consider ourselves a true MMO - we want to be the best at one thing. We know we can't compete with WoW. They've done a great job with handcrafting content for dungeons and they have a massive breadth of content that we can't match. So instead, we set out to take the basic Battlegrounds concept and improve it dramatically. So that's what we've set out to do. We want to the best PvP game there is."

    Keep reading to learn more. Are you looking forward to Fury? Tell us about it in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 03, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Bursting at the seams with new content, this expansion will keep real life at bay

    GamesRadar.com has posted their hands on preview of the upcoming expansion for EverQuest II, Echoes of Faydwer.

    We recently got some hands on time with the beta version of Echoes of Faydwer and it looks like EverQuest II fans will have a good reason to put real life on hold and order some pizza as it’s jam packed with more content than any other expansion released for the granddaddy of MMORPGs. Unlike previous expansions which focused on new content for particular level ranges, Echoes of Faydwer will include new questing grounds for all levels with plenty of end-game bosses for raiders to take down.

    Get clicking to read the rest of the preview. What are your thoughts about this upcoming expansion? Let us know in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums today.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 03, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Hands On Impressions of Burning Crusade

    Pro-G has posted their hands on impressions of the Burning Crusades. Keep reading to see what they think of the upcoming expansion to World of Warcraft.

    The Burning Crusade presents an interesting conundrum for World of Warcraft players: drop your existing high level character for the allure of starting one of two new races, or keep on with your uber-equipped killing machine and brave the shattered realm of Outland.

    So far, most beta players have opted for the high level rewards of Outland over starting a new character. But this isn't to the detriment of TBC's two new races, the manga-esque Blood Elves and the big blue aliens the Draenei - both have aspects that have drawn concern from the typically vocal WoW fan base, but overall are shaping up nicely.

    Get clicking to read more! What are your thoughts? Share them with us in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 02, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Jon Wood from MMORPG.com gives his first look impressions of Vanguard

    Just posted today on MMORPG.com you can find another first look at Vanguard Saga of Heroes. Keep reading to see what his thoughts are.

    The first thing that struck me about this game when I sat down to play was the general look of it. I don't just mean graphics, either. I find the overall art style of this game to be very appealing. Vanguard does a pretty good job of skirting the line between realism and fantasy. Often companies make a decision about the look of their game and take it so far in one direction that takes away from the other. The cartoony style of a game like World of Warcraft sacrifices realism for the sake of having a "fantasy" feel, while I have also played games that tried to look ultra-realistic and in that effort, took the fantasy feel out of their game. Vanguard doesn't succumb to either extreme, looking real enough to satisfy me, while still free enough to be fantasy.

    Keep reading to learn more. Don't miss out on Ten Ton Hammer's Exclusive Hands On Preview as well.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 01, 2006
    LadySirse
  • FiringSquad Previews The Burning Crusade

    FiringSquad.com has posted a preview of the upcoming World of Warcraft expansion, The Burning Crusade.

    The Blood Elves are the new Horde race, Blizzard’s answer to the calls for attractive models and Paladins for the Horde. Continuing the story from WarCraft III, the Blood Elves have split from the Alliance by making common cause with Illidan. Their lands and Silvermoon, their city, lay in ruins. The passage of the Scourge has quite literally left a mark on what were once the beautiful lands of the elves.

    Keep reading to learn more. See all the exclusive Ten Ton Hammer previews at our WoW Ten Ton Hammer Community site.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 01, 2006
    LadySirse
  • First Impressions of Gods and Heroes

    The Armchair Empire has posted their preview of Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising.

    When not seeing the sites throughout the Empire, players will have plenty of time for combat. This will take place in a more action-oriented fashion on par with what one could expect to find in the Diablo series, and considering that the mastermind behind Rome Rising is Stieg Hedlund, who was also head honcho on Diablo II, this probably shouldn’t come as much of a surprise. The process, however, is meant to be a lot more strategic with players having to aim and time their attacks while fighting, and not simply flailing away.

    Head over and read the rest of the preview. Have you joined our Gods and Heroes Ten Ton Hammer Community site yet? Join today to get all the latest news and information.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Oct 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Burning Crusades Hands-On Preview

    ProG has joined the host of sites getting a chance to preview the upcoming expansion for World of Warcraft. Nightfall has been a hot topic of late. Keep reading to see what their impressions are.

    It's probably the most anticipated expansion in videogame history.

    The problem for WoW fanboys like me who have been dipping their virtual toes (or, if you're a Tauren, hoofs) into the beta for the last couple of weeks is that there's absolutely masses of new stuff to wade through, and it's almost impossible to be objective about it.

    Read the rest of the preview and then share your thoughts with us in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums. You can find out more about WoW and the Burning Crusades at our WoW Ten Ton Hammer Community site.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 26, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Make yourself a date with the night

    Games Radar has posted their impressions of the upcoming Guild Wars Expansion, Nightfall.

    As you may remember, the original plan for the massively multiplayer role-player Guild Wars was that rather than charging a subscription fee, they'd release full-priced expansions every six months for people who wanted further adventures. When Guild Wars Factions took a full year to appear, that plan was presumed to be abandoned. With Nightfall arriving almost six months to the day later, it seemingly hasn't.

    Keep reading to see what they have to say. Head over to our Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community site to catch up on all the latest news and information.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Oct 24, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net