Archive

Previews

  • Mythic's Paul Barnett offers a glimpse into the embattled world of the Empire.

    GameSpy had a chance to talk to Paul Barnett and get a preview of the Empire, one of the factions in the upcoming Warhammer Online.

    It would be difficult to find someone who will speak on the topic of Warhammer with more impassioned fervor than Mythic's Paul Barnett. The man seems to channel the spirits of the orcs, dwarves, and Chaos Marauders that populate the brutal world that he's helping to bring to life. As such, we could not think of anyone better to talk with us about the latest in-game faction for Warhammer: Age of Reckoning that Mythic has decided to unveil: the Empire. As you'd expect from the Warhammer universe, this human nation, to paraphrase Mr. Barnett, is teetering on the edge of annihilation at the hands of a multitude of assailants, not the least of which is humanity's own tendency to take the violent measures necessary for survival to wild extremes.

    Keep reading to learn more. You can get all the latest news and information at our Warhammer Ten Ton Hammer Community site. Share your thoughts with us on this and all your favorite MMOs in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 20, 2006
    LadySirse
  • The content and new races should give veteran WoW players a much-needed breath of fresh air.

    GameWorld has taken time to look at the Burning Crusade and bring us their thoughts on it.

    Rejoice fellow gamers! The first expansion pack for World of Warcraft is just around the corner. I was lucky enough to have a beta key and jump in on the closed beta. I’ve been playing for about a week so here is my report from the front lines. Let’s start with the new game mechanics.

    Get clicking to read more. Are you looking forward to this expansion? Tell us why in the new Ten Ton Hammer Forums today! Stay up to date on all the latest news and information at our WoW Ten Ton Hammer Community site.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 20, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Profile Preview - The Bard, Blood Mage, Cleric, Disciple, and Dread Knight Classes

    GameSpot has posted this look at Vanguard: Saga of Heroes. They offer an overview of five of the classes planned for this upcoming game.

    The popular massively multiplayer role-playing genre that lets you adventure online with thousands of other players is set to get even bigger next year with the release of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes, the debut title from Sigil Games. There's a lot of potential in Vanguard, as it is being created by some of the creators of the groundbreaking game EverQuest. This is a fantasy-themed game set in a world populated by humans, elves, dragons, and other mystical creatures. You'll be able to create your own unique character which you'll use to explore this vast world.

    Get clicking to read more. Have you joined our Vanguard Ten Ton Hammer Community site? Sign up today and share your thoughts with us in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 19, 2006
    LadySirse
  • A Look at Stargate Worlds

    GamersInfo has taken the time to post a preview of Stargate Worlds. Keep reading to see if they think that this will be a hit or a flop.

    While Stargate has historically been a squad-based experienced, there have been instances where individuals were necessary to complete missions. Knowing this and keeping the solo-player in mind, they’re hoping to strike a balance. Though, as it is a multi-player game, they will provide rewards for “regular squad” play – the Stargate version of a guild.

    Get clicking to learn more! Are you waiting for your chance to play Stargate Worlds? Share you thoughts with us in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 19, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Into the Fog of Ringfell

    RPG Vault has another in their series of peeks at Chronicles of Spellborn. This one includes five new screenshots that shouldn't be missed.

    In this series of articles, we are taking an in-depth look at the world of The Chronicles of Spellborn. Players are part of a civilization struggling for survival after the destruction of their world. What is left are the hollow rock-realms known as shards, floating in the magical Deadspell Storm. Each of these shards offers a unique set of themed environments, dungeons and creatures. In this fifth and final episode, we explore the areas that lie deeper within the shard, hidden beneath a thick fog.

    Get clicking to read more. Be sure to share your thoughts on this and all your favorite MMOs in our new Ten Ton Hammer Forums.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Oct 17, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Sprawl's Scrawl - First Impressions of Closed Beta

    WoW Vault has posted a preview of WoW's upcoming expansion, The Burning Crusade. This preview is full of impressions from closed beta, so don't miss out!

    One of the first things you notice upon logging into Burning Crusade beta is a number of quick popup boxes that indict that the system is scanning for viruses and the like. It's good to see that Blizzard is taking active steps at keeping a blacklist of known exploits. Once again the new player is presented with a view of the Dark Portal, this time from the Outland side. At this point, if you haven't upgraded your account with a key, do not expect to login.

    Get clicking to read more. Head over to WoW Ten Ton Hammer to get up to date on all of the latest news and information on the Burning Crusades.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 16, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Boomtown Brings Us an Hands-On Preview of Nightfall

    Boomtown has posted their latest look at the upcoming Guild Wars expansion. They had a chance to play Nightfall. Keep reading to find out what they thought...

    So here we are again, logging on for God knows which time, this time preparing to get into the next chapter of the saga, Nightfall. The title screen now has a sort of African-Arabian from-the-desert-to-the-seas thing going, and as usual, Jeremy Soule's music fits the mood. It feels like I'm about to date an old flame again, and she's changed ever so subtly, but somehow significantly. The thing is, though, that she's still the same, my Guild Wars. She may now have even more to do, this time focusing on single-player content rather than the multiplayer-fest that is Factions, she may have two new classes, the Dervish and the Paragon, lots of new items, quests, et cetera up her sleeve, but really, folks, she is the same.

    Get clicking to read the rest of the preview. Stop by our Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community site to catch up on all the latest news and information or share your thoughts with us on this and all your favorite MMOs in the new Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 16, 2006
    LadySirse
  • What is Outlands like? What are the two new race areas like? How is the new loot?

    Voodoo Extreame has a preview to answer all of these questions.

    The Burning Crusade closed beta is finally out, and after much gnashing of teeth, I have stopped playing long enough to be able to write up some "hands on" impressions of the game. I do not want to bore you all with the details of every little minute detail of what has gone into The Burning Crusade expansion pack, and the truth is, a lot of things have been beat to death in other previews.

    Get clicking to learn more. We're waiting for your take on the Burning Crusade and all things WoW in the new Ten Ton Hammer Forums. Speak up and share your thoughts.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 13, 2006
    LadySirse
  • World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade Updated Hands-On - The Two New Races

    GameSpot has taken the time to look at the blood elf and draenei characters that will appear in the upcoming expansion The Burning Crusade.

    Thousands of players from around the globe log into the game daily, and nightly (and daily, and nightly, and daily, and nightly) to play as a wizard, warrior, or thief in the colorful Warcraft fantasy universe. And (hopefully) later this year, the studio will release The Burning Crusade, the expansion pack for the game which will add plenty of high-level content for veterans as well as two new playable fantasy races to build new characters with. We took the opportunity to get in-depth with the two new races, the fanatical blood elves of the monstrous Horde faction and the mystical draenei characters of the noble Alliance.

    Get clicking to read more. What has you burning to try out this new expansion? Let us know in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums after you get up to date on all the latest at our WoW Ten Ton Hammer Community site.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 13, 2006
    LadySirse
  • What's In Store When You Start ArchLord?

    This is what Whizzedout tries to answer. They have posted a detailed look at ArchLord.

    You start of with creating your avatar, which I must say is very limited and you only have a handful of races and classes to pick from. Whats worse is the fact you cant select which gender you are, I fancied playing a Ranger but was only allowed to play as a female, now im one of those persons that likes to think every female characther you come across in the game is a real female in real life, not some 40 year old fat bloke.

    Get clicking to read more. Do you agree with their assesment of ArchLord? Let us know in our brand new Ten Ton Hammer Forums.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 11, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net