Previews

  • A Peek At ArchLord

    There is a new MMORPG coming out called ArchLord and Ten Ton Hammer has the information you need before the game is released! We've played the ArchLord beta and have compiled tons of information plus our impression of the game. If you ever wanted to have the ultimate power in a game to do whatever you wanted to then ArchLord might just be the game for you.

    "ArchLord is your standard Asian fantasy MMORPG that throws in a few new and exciting concepts to mix things up. You've got your standard Warrior, Mage, and Archer arch-types (Shamans, Elementalists, and Berserkers are also available for play). They each have a unique role that allows them to utilize their preferred weapon to slash, pierce, or toast their enemies. You've got some pretty generic races too which are the Humans, Orcs, and Moon Elves. You have a giant sprawling world filled with all kinds of fantasy themed cities (that are very well done) and tons of mean monsters that are hording tons of wonderful loot."

    Get clicking to see if Xerin gives ArchLord the thumbs up or down! Let us know what you think of ArchLord in the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer!

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Sep 12, 2006
    LadySirse
  • ArchLord Updated Impressions - The ArchLord System, Castles, and Sieges

    Gamespot has posted their updated impressions of the upcoming ArchLord. You can see what they have to say about castles and sieges as well as two stunning screenshots.

    ArchLord is an online role-playing game that will allow one player to rise through the ranks to become the ultimate power in the game.

    Get clicking to read more. Are you waiting to play this game? Do you think you will be the one to rise to the top? Tell us all about it in the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer!

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 06, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Grab Yer Blades And Get Ready to Fight!

    Thats right! In this preview at MMORPG.com we get a look at avatar combat. Don't miss a word!

    The big news out of PAX was that Pirates of the Burning Sea will launch in June of 2007 and that the feature list now includes avatar combat. We played the game and sat down with Producer John Scott Tynes at PAX to discuss exactly how avatar combat works.

    “[We] made the decision a few months ago that we were going to release in ’07,” explained Tynes as we sat in a Bellevue Subway. Once made, that decision allowed them to pursue something they’d always wanted, but never felt they had time to do correctly: avatar combat.

    Keep reading to learn more. Is Pirates of the Burning Sea on your must play list? Let us know why in the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Will Middle-earth Become Your New Home?

    MMORPG.com had a chance to preview Lord of the Rings Online during PAX. They have updated their site to bring us this preview. Keep reading to find out if they think the game is a hit...

    The star of the Turbine Entertainment booth at PAX was Lord of the Rings Online. In taking on this second massive license, Turbine has a mighty weight on their shoulders and expectations to live up to.

    “This is an MMO for people who love MMOs,” explained Lead Systems Designer Nik Davidson. He made special note of how the game had not tried to “reinvent the wheel” when it came to things like interface, controls and basic mechanism. Lord of the Rings Online will not have change for change’s sake.

    Read the full preview to learn more. Haven't joined the Lord of the Rings Online Community here yet? Why not? It just takes a moment to register. Head on over to LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer and sign up today! Then hit the forums and tell us what you are looking forward to seeing in this upcoming MMO.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • As I wandered the gaming exhibition area of the Penny Arcade Expo, I wondered what exactly people would want to know about Lord of the Rings Online. There has been a flood of information released by Turbine in the past weeks and most of the games major systems have been talked about. The systems we don’t know about were not going to be shown at PAX. What is a reporter to do? It is not easy for me to place myself in the position of an unknowing fan because I actually receive a bit more information about the game. That’s right, I know stuff. The desire to share all I know is very great. Unfortunately, I am limited to telling you about what I saw or could have seen at PAX. This may sound very restrictive, but there are so many small details that are to be learned. I will try to touch on and grade a few major areas of the game. These grades are based only on the current version that was on display at PAX.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 30, 2006
    Methost
  • Create Your Own Content

    What could be more fun than sending your friends through content that you created for them! Get a look at how the folks at Nevrax are making it happen with the upcoming expansion to Saga of Ryzom, Ryzom Ring. NeenerNeener.net brings us a preview complete with screenshots...

    I’ve read a number of the other previews out there, and I don’t know if the authors just didn’t have enough time or didn’t want to bore their audience with details, but tough noogies, because I’m dragging you through the absolute guts of this thing.

    To create your own Ring, you sign in the same as you would normally. And as long as we’re talking about logging in, I have to tell you - Ryzom has the BEST login screen: Yes, the art is fantastic, but the real winner is the "loading" messages that show up. In most games, you’ll see a quick flurry of things like, "Loading Textures" or "Patching vers. 1.11.23 to 1.12.33" or something equally boring. With Ryzom, you get such fun messages as:

    Loading Random Loading Messages
    Installing Ninja Yubos
    Shrinking Trykers
    Spare Yubos - who knows, maybe one day, they will spare your life

    Comedy gold, I tell you! Once you’re logged in, though, you choose "Edit" to go into the Ring section and begin creating your own world.

    Check out the full preview. Do you play Saga of Ryzom? Looking forward to the expansion? Let us know in the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer!

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 29, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Warhammer Shows Off At PAX

    MMORPG.com took time to preview the upcoming Warhammer Online while they attended PAX. Did they find it a sure hit or a flop in the making? Keep reading to find out...

    The EA Mythic booth was packed by gamers gathered around the wide screen showing the cinematic trailer and laptops allowing them to get hands-on time with the races currently at a demonstrable stage.

    At E3, Warhammer had already shown the Greenskins and the Dwarven races, and according to Content Designer John Cox they were showing off was the development of the UI and the Career Advancement; otherwise known as character development.

    Each character will have three areas of skills to build. They are core, specialization and secondary abilities and points are awarded in each category as your character advances.

    Get clicking to read the full preview. Is Warhammer Online shaping up to be the game you've been waiting for? Tell us all about it in the growing Warhammer Ten Ton Hammer community forums! We're waiting to hear from you.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 29, 2006
    LadySirse
  • GameSpot sits down with Codemasters and Turbine at Leipzig to see an advanced build of this Tolkien-inspired MMORPG.

    Did GameSpot give this look at the game a thumbs up...or down? Keep reading to find out.

    LEIPZIG, Germany--Based on the literary works of J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings Online is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game set for release on the PC. We've seen quite a lot of the game over the past year, and as it moves into beta phase at the end of September, more people will be able to see just how it's shaping up. As you'd expect from a game based on such a classic piece of literature, The Lord of the Rings Online has a firm emphasis on story. Playing as one of seven character classes, you will follow a path that frequently crosses that of the fellowship of the ring, with plenty of familiar names and places along the way. We visited Codemasters at Leipzig to see an example of the first few character levels and what players can hope to expect as they work their way deeper into the game.

    Check out the preview at GameSpot. Don't forget to stop by our own Lord of the Rings Online community at LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer. Share your thoughts with us in the forums there.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 24, 2006
    LadySirse
  • The Heavenly Demon Clan

    In the fifth of six clan features at MMORPG.com, we get a close look at The Heavenly Demon Clan today. Included in this preview are several new screenshots! Don't miss it.

    Heavenly Demon Clan was founded by a cruel, ambitious warrior who, in defiance of The Imperial Emperor and his court, self-proclaimed himself The Emperor Heavenly Demon and waged holy war against all governing factions. It is whispered by many that Emperor Heavenly Demon truly was possessed by demons as a child, and certainly any who had witnessed his ferocity in battle, would attest that this was true. His proclamation, “A land governed by the depraved must be conquered through depraved justice, only through fire may it be cleansed!” sums up the clan’s collective philosophy.

    What are you waiting for? Get clicking to learn more about this clan. Waiting for your chance to play 9 Dragons? Let us know what you're waiting for and what you like about the game so far right here in the forums at Ten Ton Hammer.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 18, 2006
    LadySirse
  • New Preview Posted

    The folks over at Tabula Rasa have posted a preview of the forthcoming game on their official site. The preview takes a look at the history of the game, back-story, key features and what we can expect in the near future.

    Throughout my massive multiplayer online gaming some of the best moments I’ve experienced were feelings of being a part of a massive war in Sony’s MMOFPS – Planetside. After finishing with Planetside, I started playing World of Warcraft and invested some serious time (3 level 60’s later…). Because of the exposure to both games I couldn’t help feeling that there was room for a game that offered a true feeling of “massive conflict” and shooter style combat whilst having the character depth, questing and classes of a more traditional MMO. You can imagine then, when I found a link to the Tabula Rasa website I was quite excited by the prospect. A Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG) which used First Person Shooter (FPS) style combat!

    Keep reading to learn more anbout Tabula Rasa. Are you waiting for this upcoming game? Head over to the forums here at Ten Ton Hammer and share your thoughts with us.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 15, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net