Archive

Previews

  • As I wandered the gaming exhibition area of the Penny Arcade Expo, I wondered what exactly people would want to know about Lord of the Rings Online. There has been a flood of information released by Turbine in the past weeks and most of the games major systems have been talked about. The systems we don’t know about were not going to be shown at PAX. What is a reporter to do? It is not easy for me to place myself in the position of an unknowing fan because I actually receive a bit more information about the game. That’s right, I know stuff. The desire to share all I know is very great. Unfortunately, I am limited to telling you about what I saw or could have seen at PAX. This may sound very restrictive, but there are so many small details that are to be learned. I will try to touch on and grade a few major areas of the game. These grades are based only on the current version that was on display at PAX.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 30, 2006
    Methost
  • Create Your Own Content

    What could be more fun than sending your friends through content that you created for them! Get a look at how the folks at Nevrax are making it happen with the upcoming expansion to Saga of Ryzom, Ryzom Ring. NeenerNeener.net brings us a preview complete with screenshots...

    I’ve read a number of the other previews out there, and I don’t know if the authors just didn’t have enough time or didn’t want to bore their audience with details, but tough noogies, because I’m dragging you through the absolute guts of this thing.

    To create your own Ring, you sign in the same as you would normally. And as long as we’re talking about logging in, I have to tell you - Ryzom has the BEST login screen: Yes, the art is fantastic, but the real winner is the "loading" messages that show up. In most games, you’ll see a quick flurry of things like, "Loading Textures" or "Patching vers. 1.11.23 to 1.12.33" or something equally boring. With Ryzom, you get such fun messages as:

    Loading Random Loading Messages
    Installing Ninja Yubos
    Shrinking Trykers
    Spare Yubos - who knows, maybe one day, they will spare your life

    Comedy gold, I tell you! Once you’re logged in, though, you choose "Edit" to go into the Ring section and begin creating your own world.

    Check out the full preview. Do you play Saga of Ryzom? Looking forward to the expansion? Let us know in the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer!

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 29, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Warhammer Shows Off At PAX

    MMORPG.com took time to preview the upcoming Warhammer Online while they attended PAX. Did they find it a sure hit or a flop in the making? Keep reading to find out...

    The EA Mythic booth was packed by gamers gathered around the wide screen showing the cinematic trailer and laptops allowing them to get hands-on time with the races currently at a demonstrable stage.

    At E3, Warhammer had already shown the Greenskins and the Dwarven races, and according to Content Designer John Cox they were showing off was the development of the UI and the Career Advancement; otherwise known as character development.

    Each character will have three areas of skills to build. They are core, specialization and secondary abilities and points are awarded in each category as your character advances.

    Get clicking to read the full preview. Is Warhammer Online shaping up to be the game you've been waiting for? Tell us all about it in the growing Warhammer Ten Ton Hammer community forums! We're waiting to hear from you.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 29, 2006
    LadySirse
  • GameSpot sits down with Codemasters and Turbine at Leipzig to see an advanced build of this Tolkien-inspired MMORPG.

    Did GameSpot give this look at the game a thumbs up...or down? Keep reading to find out.

    LEIPZIG, Germany--Based on the literary works of J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings Online is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game set for release on the PC. We've seen quite a lot of the game over the past year, and as it moves into beta phase at the end of September, more people will be able to see just how it's shaping up. As you'd expect from a game based on such a classic piece of literature, The Lord of the Rings Online has a firm emphasis on story. Playing as one of seven character classes, you will follow a path that frequently crosses that of the fellowship of the ring, with plenty of familiar names and places along the way. We visited Codemasters at Leipzig to see an example of the first few character levels and what players can hope to expect as they work their way deeper into the game.

    Check out the preview at GameSpot. Don't forget to stop by our own Lord of the Rings Online community at LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer. Share your thoughts with us in the forums there.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 24, 2006
    LadySirse
  • The Heavenly Demon Clan

    In the fifth of six clan features at MMORPG.com, we get a close look at The Heavenly Demon Clan today. Included in this preview are several new screenshots! Don't miss it.

    Heavenly Demon Clan was founded by a cruel, ambitious warrior who, in defiance of The Imperial Emperor and his court, self-proclaimed himself The Emperor Heavenly Demon and waged holy war against all governing factions. It is whispered by many that Emperor Heavenly Demon truly was possessed by demons as a child, and certainly any who had witnessed his ferocity in battle, would attest that this was true. His proclamation, “A land governed by the depraved must be conquered through depraved justice, only through fire may it be cleansed!” sums up the clan’s collective philosophy.

    What are you waiting for? Get clicking to learn more about this clan. Waiting for your chance to play 9 Dragons? Let us know what you're waiting for and what you like about the game so far right here in the forums at Ten Ton Hammer.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 18, 2006
    LadySirse
  • New Preview Posted

    The folks over at Tabula Rasa have posted a preview of the forthcoming game on their official site. The preview takes a look at the history of the game, back-story, key features and what we can expect in the near future.

    Throughout my massive multiplayer online gaming some of the best moments I’ve experienced were feelings of being a part of a massive war in Sony’s MMOFPS – Planetside. After finishing with Planetside, I started playing World of Warcraft and invested some serious time (3 level 60’s later…). Because of the exposure to both games I couldn’t help feeling that there was room for a game that offered a true feeling of “massive conflict” and shooter style combat whilst having the character depth, questing and classes of a more traditional MMO. You can imagine then, when I found a link to the Tabula Rasa website I was quite excited by the prospect. A Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG) which used First Person Shooter (FPS) style combat!

    Keep reading to learn more anbout Tabula Rasa. Are you waiting for this upcoming game? Head over to the forums here at Ten Ton Hammer and share your thoughts with us.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 15, 2006
    LadySirse
  • New Details and Video Interviews

    UGO has posted this preview and video selection after a look at the upcoming WoW expansion, The Burning Crusade.

    So you quit a couple months ago. You were so done with World of Warcraft. You thought you saw everything there was to see, from Blackrock Spire to the Eastern Plague Lands. But here comes Blizzard, ready to steal your life away yet again. World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade will introduce two new races, ten new levels and a boatload of new quests that are sure to keep you inside until 2009.

    Get clicking and read the full preview. When you're done don't forget to stop by WoW Ten Ton Hammer and let us know your thoughts on The Burning Crusade in the forums!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Aug 14, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Worthplaying Checks Out Ryzom Ring

    Posted on Sunday, this preview by Worthplaying.com offers an indepth look at the upcoming expansion for Saga of Ryzom.

    The Ryzom Ring is a set of tools for editing and sharing player-made "maps" that are customizable with terrain, monsters and NPCs all run by individual players. Maps can be integrated directly into The Saga of Ryzom world of Atys, where thousands of other players can experience one person's handiwork, or kept as a private sanctuary only accessible to a select few.

    Head over and read the full preview. Don't forget to stop by the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer to let us know what your thoughts are on this upcoming release.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 08, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Is the Warhammer Online game in any way an attempt to be a translation of the table-top war game?

    ComputerandVideoGames.com has posted a preview of the upcoming Warhammer Online Age of Reckoning.

    Stood in a large hall, surrounded by empty tables where hundreds of undersized battles have been decided with hundreds of handfuls of dice, I ask Games Workshop's licensing manager Erik Mogensen a question that I know is a stupid one, but I feel I should ask. Is the Warhammer Online game in any way an attempt to be a translation of the table-top war game?

    "Not at all. It's not about the table-top game, it's about the IP".

    Keep reading to find out more. Tell us what you think about this preview at Warhammer Ten Ton Hammer!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Aug 07, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Nevrax opens up the Ryzom world to let you--the player--design your own online stories.

    GameSpot has posted their first impressions of the upcoming expansion to Saga of Ryzom, Ryzom Ring. See what they think...

    The concept of allowing users to generate their own content is nothing new. Back as far as the late eighties, gamers were getting in on the act with packages such as Sensible Software's Shoot-'Em-Up Construction Kit. Since then, some developers have shipped tools within their games to enable players to create custom levels or missions, and such freedom soon proved popular as online communities flourished--Doom, Morrowind, and Neverwinter Nights were just a few to galvanise would-be designers to get creative.

    Keep reading and find out more then head over to the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer and let us know if you agree.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 03, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net