Previews

  • Gameplay Preview #8 - Spellweaving

    The official site for Funcom's Age of Conan offers a look at spellweaving. Keep reading to see what you can expect from this forthcoming MMO.

    This week we take a look at the dark and arcane arts that are part of the magic system in Age of Conan, and in particular our unqiue spellweaving system!

    In Age of Conan we wanted the magic to reflect the world in which the game is based. Dealing with the arcane arts and siphoning the power of ancient gods is not something to be taken lightly. Just like our melee system, our magic system will also call upon the skills of the player. The player learning to balance their lust for powerful affects with the dangers that calling upon such extraordinary magic incurs.

    Head over to the Age of Conan site to read the rest of this preview!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jun 26, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Still In Beta But Holds Promise...

    Silkroad Online is a recently translated Asian MMO that is currently in beta. GameZone posted their preview of this interesting title.

    The Silkroad was the major cultural and economic trading route connecting ancient China with Islamic and European civilizations. It was a hazardous byway, often haunted by thieves, merchants and those who would protect the merchants from the thieves.

    In an increasing trend, yet another Asian massively multiplayer online game has been translated over to English and is in the testing phase. Silkroad Online does carry some Asian influences, and some of the combat styling could be likened to KOEI’s Dynasty Warriors franchise (in a tiny way), but the game also carries some of the influences of other Asian-generated MMOs, like Lineage II.

    Read the full preview at GameZone.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jun 22, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Developer Journal: The Weapons of 9 Dragons

    In the fifth of a series of developer journals Ken Johnston, CEO Real Time Worlds, talks about the weapons that will be found in 9 Dragons. 9 Dragons is a MMO that is set in ancient China around the Ming Dynasty and s the first authentic martial arts massively multiplayer online game.

    That world was ancient China during the Ming dynasty. They were dangerous times; the land was filled with bandits, wild animals and strange monsters. Still, there were those brave souls who mastered different forms of Kung Fu and heard the call of Martial Chivalry to combat these dark forces.

    In a previous article I told you about the monsters and also some of the specific monster clans that are in the game. Now I want to talk to you about some of the weapons you can use to defeat these monsters.

    Read this full journal entry at MMORPG.com.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jun 22, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Hero Preview and Screenshots

    GameZone posted a preview of Hero Online.

    If there is one game that Hero Online can best be equated to emulate, it would be Diablo II. The game is, by default, a third-person hack ‘n slash. It is easy to jump into and play, and it is rather entertaining.

    Read the full preview at GameZone.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jun 21, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Will Warhammer Online Be the Next Best Thing?

    Worthplaying has posted a preview of Warhammer Online today. The review is chock full of screenshots and interesting observations...

    When Dark Age of Camelot launched back in 2001, I felt it was EverQuest, only without the parts that I didn't like. By the same token, Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning might be World of WarCraft: PVP Done Better.

    Comparing WAR to WoW is inevitable — there are too many similarities to be dismissed. Both feature Orcs with cartoonish armor, both use similar fonts, and heck, even the names are similar. According to Games Workshop — the owners of the Warhammer name — Blizzard ripped them off. That might well be true, since my knowledge of Warhammer is limited to taking a look at a friend's miniatures and thinking, "Painting all of those must have been a hell of a lot of work." Even if Blizzard did borrow heavily from Games Workshop, because WoW launched first, Warhammer Online will be inevitably compared to WoW.

    Read the full preview of Warhammer Online.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jun 19, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Burning for more info on the WoW expansion?

    GamingExcellence offers its take on the late 2006 expansion to the ridiculously popular fantasy MMO World of Warcraft. Included is a more detailed look at the "world event" that will open the "Dark Portal" from Azeroth to Outland than I've seen anywhere.

    So what is offered to devoted players in The Burning Crusade? First and foremost on anyone's list would be the hundreds of hours of new gameplay in a completely new area for high-level characters. This begins with the opening of the Dark Portal from Azeroth to Outland, which will be similar to a world-event, but will not require that all players be in the same area to experience it. Although the details were sketchy at this point, Blizzard has stated that regardless of where you may happen to be on the world map when this occurs on your server, and regardless of your level, you will experience something akin to hell freezing over. Or the gates to hell opening up and unleashing monsters like you have never seen before. Or the announcement of Starcraft 2 followed by a server crash. Okay, so the last one was a stretch, but I assure you that whatever does happen, you will want to be online for it, even if your character is still only level 25 or so.

    The server crash scenario seems most likely. Anyway, check out "The Burning Crusade" preview at GamingExcellence, then saunter on over to the WoW @ Ten Ton Hammer community site for all your other WoW information needs.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, May 31, 2006
    Ethec
  • A Guild Wars Factions Primer

    Guild Wars Factions launched in early May, but if you're not quite sure what the standalone expansion to the bestselling subscription-free Guild Wars is all about, Hexus does a great job of summarizing things in this article.

    This time we have 2 new character classes to add to the classes from the Prophecies campaign, giving you Assassin and Ritualist to choose from too. Assassins are fast and can link attacks together with ease, Ritualists can summon creatures from the void (spirits and the likes !) to aid them and party members in battle.

    Check out the Guild Wars Factions overview at Hexus gaming, then I'd be remiss to not mention our very own Guild Wars @ Ten Ton Hammer community site, for the rest of your GW info needs.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, May 31, 2006
    Ethec
  • Tabula Rasa impresses GamingExcellence

    First NCSoft / Destination Studios's upcoming MMO masterpiece got some "ooos" and "ahhs" out of our merry band at E3 2006 (winning our "Player's Choice" award), now Gaming Excellence delivers a very favorable preview of the Sci-Fi FPS / MMO hybrid.

    Tabula Rasa not only takes a unique approach to the presentation of the MMO genre by focusing on story and the mechanics of battle, it also strives to remove the frustrating aspects associated with the time spent playing these games altogether. Besides the amazing alien environments, players will also notice that the interface used in the game is extremely different from other popular titles. Of course this is not a negative aspect of the game, on the contrary it appears that NCsoft may have another hit online game when Tabula Rasa releases late this year.

    Check out a Tabula Rasa preview and screens at GamingExcellence.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, May 30, 2006
    Ethec
  • Spying the Path to Kali

    Gamespy previews The Path to Kali, a lead-in to the next free expansion for EVE Online. They must have been able to talk to a dev at E3 (yup, Ethec's still just a tad bitter).

    EVE Online's graphics overhaul is no mere patch release. While the company is working on an updated version of the current engine, they've also taken the drastic step of actually building an entirely new engine for Windows Vista. The new operating system from Microsoft apparently has quite a few features that MMOs like EVE can take advantage of, including fully programmable shaders and support for instancing, so the development team has decided to scrap and re-do every one of the game's 300 plus spaceships from scratch while also adding new lighting and shadow features.

    Check out Gamespy's preview of the EVE Online Kali expansion by clickin' here.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, May 25, 2006
    Ethec
  • Thurston "Ratboy" Hillman met up with Stieg Hedlund, the Executive Producer of Gods & Heroes,the first big release of Perpertual Entertainment. The demo was held in the Sony Online Entertainment booth, and must have been pretty entertaining since it kept "Ratboy" distracted from the booth babes!

    Normally when I walk around E3 I am distracted from the shiny booths and my eyes wander over to the nearest booth babe, with Gods & Heroes I completely lost sight of the booth babes (SoE had some pretty fantastic ones too) and centered all my attention on the demo of the game. For the next forty-five minutes my eyes were glued to the giant LCD screen above me; this game was stunning.

    Read the rest on God and Heroes and all thier Minions at E3 in thefull review

    Features, Previews
    Sat, May 13, 2006
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net