Archive

Previews

  • Will Warhammer Online Be the Next Best Thing?

    Worthplaying has posted a preview of Warhammer Online today. The review is chock full of screenshots and interesting observations...

    When Dark Age of Camelot launched back in 2001, I felt it was EverQuest, only without the parts that I didn't like. By the same token, Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning might be World of WarCraft: PVP Done Better.

    Comparing WAR to WoW is inevitable — there are too many similarities to be dismissed. Both feature Orcs with cartoonish armor, both use similar fonts, and heck, even the names are similar. According to Games Workshop — the owners of the Warhammer name — Blizzard ripped them off. That might well be true, since my knowledge of Warhammer is limited to taking a look at a friend's miniatures and thinking, "Painting all of those must have been a hell of a lot of work." Even if Blizzard did borrow heavily from Games Workshop, because WoW launched first, Warhammer Online will be inevitably compared to WoW.

    Read the full preview of Warhammer Online.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jun 19, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Burning for more info on the WoW expansion?

    GamingExcellence offers its take on the late 2006 expansion to the ridiculously popular fantasy MMO World of Warcraft. Included is a more detailed look at the "world event" that will open the "Dark Portal" from Azeroth to Outland than I've seen anywhere.

    So what is offered to devoted players in The Burning Crusade? First and foremost on anyone's list would be the hundreds of hours of new gameplay in a completely new area for high-level characters. This begins with the opening of the Dark Portal from Azeroth to Outland, which will be similar to a world-event, but will not require that all players be in the same area to experience it. Although the details were sketchy at this point, Blizzard has stated that regardless of where you may happen to be on the world map when this occurs on your server, and regardless of your level, you will experience something akin to hell freezing over. Or the gates to hell opening up and unleashing monsters like you have never seen before. Or the announcement of Starcraft 2 followed by a server crash. Okay, so the last one was a stretch, but I assure you that whatever does happen, you will want to be online for it, even if your character is still only level 25 or so.

    The server crash scenario seems most likely. Anyway, check out "The Burning Crusade" preview at GamingExcellence, then saunter on over to the WoW @ Ten Ton Hammer community site for all your other WoW information needs.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, May 31, 2006
    Ethec
  • A Guild Wars Factions Primer

    Guild Wars Factions launched in early May, but if you're not quite sure what the standalone expansion to the bestselling subscription-free Guild Wars is all about, Hexus does a great job of summarizing things in this article.

    This time we have 2 new character classes to add to the classes from the Prophecies campaign, giving you Assassin and Ritualist to choose from too. Assassins are fast and can link attacks together with ease, Ritualists can summon creatures from the void (spirits and the likes !) to aid them and party members in battle.

    Check out the Guild Wars Factions overview at Hexus gaming, then I'd be remiss to not mention our very own Guild Wars @ Ten Ton Hammer community site, for the rest of your GW info needs.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, May 31, 2006
    Ethec
  • Tabula Rasa impresses GamingExcellence

    First NCSoft / Destination Studios's upcoming MMO masterpiece got some "ooos" and "ahhs" out of our merry band at E3 2006 (winning our "Player's Choice" award), now Gaming Excellence delivers a very favorable preview of the Sci-Fi FPS / MMO hybrid.

    Tabula Rasa not only takes a unique approach to the presentation of the MMO genre by focusing on story and the mechanics of battle, it also strives to remove the frustrating aspects associated with the time spent playing these games altogether. Besides the amazing alien environments, players will also notice that the interface used in the game is extremely different from other popular titles. Of course this is not a negative aspect of the game, on the contrary it appears that NCsoft may have another hit online game when Tabula Rasa releases late this year.

    Check out a Tabula Rasa preview and screens at GamingExcellence.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, May 30, 2006
    Ethec
  • Spying the Path to Kali

    Gamespy previews The Path to Kali, a lead-in to the next free expansion for EVE Online. They must have been able to talk to a dev at E3 (yup, Ethec's still just a tad bitter).

    EVE Online's graphics overhaul is no mere patch release. While the company is working on an updated version of the current engine, they've also taken the drastic step of actually building an entirely new engine for Windows Vista. The new operating system from Microsoft apparently has quite a few features that MMOs like EVE can take advantage of, including fully programmable shaders and support for instancing, so the development team has decided to scrap and re-do every one of the game's 300 plus spaceships from scratch while also adding new lighting and shadow features.

    Check out Gamespy's preview of the EVE Online Kali expansion by clickin' here.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, May 25, 2006
    Ethec
  • Thurston "Ratboy" Hillman met up with Stieg Hedlund, the Executive Producer of Gods & Heroes,the first big release of Perpertual Entertainment. The demo was held in the Sony Online Entertainment booth, and must have been pretty entertaining since it kept "Ratboy" distracted from the booth babes!

    Normally when I walk around E3 I am distracted from the shiny booths and my eyes wander over to the nearest booth babe, with Gods & Heroes I completely lost sight of the booth babes (SoE had some pretty fantastic ones too) and centered all my attention on the demo of the game. For the next forty-five minutes my eyes were glued to the giant LCD screen above me; this game was stunning.

    Read the rest on God and Heroes and all thier Minions at E3 in thefull review

    Features, Previews
    Sat, May 13, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Tony “Radar” Jones put on his eye patch and swaggered on over to demo Disney’s new pirate MMO “Pirates of the Caribbean.”

    The character ran from town into the bay, and a menacing powerful ship appeared from the fog. As they climbed aboard I cried “Whar be ye crew?” Apparently, you will be able to have small groups who will travel to instanced zones for adventure and treasure! My eye squinted at the prospect of treasure, this developer was a sly one.

    Tony got right into character with Pirates of the Caribbean Online at E3 and even threatened to make one developer "walk the plank".....Avast Ye Swabbies!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, May 12, 2006
    LadySirse
  • "Fastest, Most Destructive" and soon to be... bigger!

    Pro-G has the scoop from the NetDevil team about "Update 1" for Auto Assault, which includes a number of missions for high level highway warriors.

    In what will be the first of many planned updates to the game, Auto Assault players will soon be able to play in twelve new high-level (65+) missions, 15 new Biomek missions, 20 new Human missions, and 27 new Mutant missions. If you're bored of the player you've created, the new Character re-spec feature will let you re-spend your points on a brand new character.

    Check out Auto Assault's "Update 1" news at Pro-G.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, May 09, 2006
    Ethec
  • A preview of 9 Dragons is presented over at MMORPG.com based upon the interview Dana Massey had with Howard Marks.

    With 9 Dragons, Marks wants to marry the familiar things people want in an MMORPG and its story with the unique twist of being a Ming Dynasty era martial arts game.

    Read the entire preview here

    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 08, 2006
    LadySirse
  • PvP with no monthly fee.
    Pro-G has a preview of Guild Wars: Factions up and ready to be perused.

    "The Factions campaign itself is set on an Asian-styled continent called Cantha, and (as the title implies) the story revolves around a conflict between two warring factions, the Luxon and the Kurzick. Player guilds can form alliances to side with one of these two factions, and then engage in alliance battles, the result of which will give the victorious alliance control over towns and unlock elite-level cooperative quests."

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Mar 31, 2006
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net