Archive

Previews

  • Guild Wars world tour.
    MMORPG.com toured the ArenaNET studios to take a look at Guild Wars: Factions, the upcoming expansion to the hit game.

    "We were introduced to two of the four mission types that will be available in Factions, and we played each one of the new professions in two different scenarios. During the tour, we had seen the animators working on the dance animations and the “Signature” dances which will also include particle effects and NPC backup dancers, so the first thing everyone did was to try out the dance animation. With Game Designers Eric Flannum and John Peters coaching and accompanied by several other devs that provided back-up characters other than Assassins and Ritualists, we were off."

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Mar 22, 2006
    Boomjack
  • 1Up has a pretty good preview of RF Online up today.

    There's a bit of something-for-everyone from a design that blends fantasy and magic with sci-fi action. The story goes that three factions are locked in battle for this planet. The Holy Alliance Cora takes the classic high fantasy route. Its lithe elfin warriors look the part, capped off with their Final Fantasy styled summoning ability. Mech fans will probably like the Bellatio Union. Their more human-like appearance and reliance on technology includes their carrying a mech with them that they can pull out and mount to fight from. And finally, there's the Accretia Empire that counters the other two organic lifeforms with cyborgs. Their heavy frames allow them to mount a tremendous weapon known as the launcher.

    Read it in it's entirety here

    A little piece inside of me still wishes that they had published Dragon Empires

    More RF Online News and Info

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Dec 29, 2005
    Awenyddion
  • Hands Off My Car
    Gamespot.com
    has a preview of one of the most anticipated titles of 2006, Auto
    Assault
    .

    Auto Assault is cruising toward completion, and we've checked out the latest
    developments in this high-speed online role-playing game.

    Even though it's still in its lengthy beta-testing phase, Auto Assault is
    making great strides as it races to launch next year. This online role-playing
    game from NCSoft and developer NetDevil promises to be one of the fastest
    games you'll play in 2006, thanks to the fact that you'll spend large portions
    of the game speeding around a wasteland in a combat vehicle, blasting everything
    that moves. Forget about the chain mail armor and the two-handed sword, because
    this online RPG is all about big guns and tricked-out rides. We recently got
    an updated look at the many new improvements that have been made in Auto Assault
    since we last saw it earlier this summer.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Dec 08, 2005
    LadySirse
  • "Make it fun, and make it fun for all player levels." That's all I need to hear to at least give a new MMO a try! There is no such thing as too much fun and from what IGN says in their Preview It definately looks good enough.

    Being careful not to tread on the traditional fantasy territory already established so well by WoW, EverQuest and the like, CoS takes place in a very imaginative fantasy environment populated by planetoids whirling through the Deadspell Storm. The planetoids, or "shards," are the remnants of an empire controlled by eight demons, and you'll start out with access to a couple of those. But before you do that, you'll be designing your character. And interestingly, your outfit has no connection to your abilities.

    Check Out More Chronicles of Spellborn News and Info

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Dec 08, 2005
    Awenyddion
  • Gamespot has a Hands-On Preview of Auto Assault today. Find out what they have to say about Character Creation, Opening Levels and Graphics.

    The entire character-creation system has been revamped since we last saw it, and now it looks as though it's close to final. The system gives you plenty of control to tweak your character's appearance, and you can adjust your body style, the scale or size of your character, his or her skin color, as well as their primary and secondary color. Then there are various hair styles, hair colors, accessories (such as helmets and mouth pieces), and more that you can select. After that, though, you can tweak your vehicle's colors and paint scheme, as well as choose from an assortment of wheel rims.

    If you're a post apocalyptic, run things over with your Hummer fan, visit our Auto Assault Fan-site!

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Dec 07, 2005
    Awenyddion
  • The Spellborn beta is born, and MMORPG.com captures the moment
    One of the first in the next wave of fantasy MMORPGs due out next year, Chronicles of Spellborn garners its fair share of hype. MMORPG.com boasts an excellent preview of the game:

    More and more MMORPGs are coming on the market in the next year. Some will be a standard version of everything you have seen before. The Chronicles of Spellborn plans to break the mold of a typical MMORPG and take the genre into a new exciting direction. With stunning visuals the game presents a wonderful look to its respective players. With the world gone and only shards remaining after its destruction the travel aspect and looks of the realm are very unique. Spellborn also presents a change to game play by building the game on skills, not loot. With these two elements in mind the game also features plenty of options for both PvE and PvP oriented players. Spellborn also keeps a very close tab on their community and the growing appeal of MMORPGs to gamers. In a genre of grinding, looting, and endless hours of play, the Chronicles of Spellborn offers something different to the players. The game mantra, “What Lies Hidden Must be found,” gives players a chance to drive the storyline as well as their own character development.

    And if you applied for beta, an invite might be hidden in your email inbox, so go find it! The Chronicles of Spellborn preview at MMORPG.com
    Other links of interest:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Dec 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • Sonatas with shotguns.
    GamersInfo has posted anAuto Assault Preview.

    " At GenCon SoCal 2005, I had the opportunity to talk to producer Steve Snow from NCSoft for the up and coming MMO Auto Assault. He took me through what the game had to offer so far. At first blush Auto Assault has a lot to offer and will be one of the most unique persistent worlds created for the MMO market. "

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Nov 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • GameSpy rolls for initiative.
    DDO is still in the "hands on" phase of previewing (followed by the "OMG roxxz0rz!" preview phase, which is followed by the "preview" preview phase... something like that), and GameSpy doesn't disappoint.

    After all, what better genre than the massively multiplayer online role-playing game to bring the "role" back into what usually becomes merely an endless treadmill of players searching for the bigger, better magical doodad? Having been lost in the D&D Online beta for about three days now, I'm seriously impressed at how well Turbine is translating not just the mechanics, but the very "feel" of classic D&D gameplay to the MMO format.

    No dice bag needed to view GameSpy's "hands on" preview of Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach.
    Other links of interest:

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 22, 2005
    Ethec
  • Hellgate: London, probably should have been renamed to Hellgate: Paris?
    1UP has posted a preview of Hellgate: London. The preview is very short, focusing on the hybrid RPG/Shooter angle of the game.

    " "It's very much, 'Hey, you got your shooter in my RPG! Hey, you got your RPG in my shooter!'" says Dave Brevik, creator of Hellgate: London (and formerly project lead, design lead, and lead programmer of Diablo and Diablo II ). No doubt, the game reaches across the shooter-RPG chasm-and into totally new fantasy-game territory-in more ways than one, though the most obvious is the inclusion of first-person gameplay. Although melee combat always takes place in the third person ("There are lots of visual moves and melee skills associated with animations, and you'd lose all of that by being in first person," explains Brevik), both first- and third-person play are at your disposal through the rest of the game. "

    You can read the entire Hellgate: London Preview at 1UP.
    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 17, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A chronicle of The Chronicle.
    MMORPG has posted a The Chronicle developer's diary featuring an unmentioned developer and focusing on the races available in the game.

    " An important feature we have incorporated with The Chronicle is a diversity of playable races and avatar customization. We believe that it is a vital part of a player experience to truly feel unique and diverse in the game world, where players can be recognized by appearance rather than the text floating above their heads. Although the text floating above your head feature would be really cool in real life, we believe that players want more diversity than that in their gaming experience. Our attempt at this diversity comes through our expansive list of playable avatars and the distinct customization of each unique avatar. In The Chronicle, we are featuring nine playable base races with a total of 27 sub-races. That is 27 different avatars which each have distinct and unique customization options. We will discuss customization in a future developer journal and will focus on introducing our future explorers, warriors, heroes, empire rulers and evil nemeses. "

    You can read the entire The Chronicle Developer's Diary at MMORPG.
    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 17, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net