Archive

Previews

  • Final Fantasy XI, and by final they mean continuing.
    1UP has posted a preview of Final Fantasy XI for the XBox 360. This is an excellent article that talks about the status of the game and why some questionable design decisions were made.

    " When Sony dropped support of the HDD hard drive for the PlayStation 2, effective with the launch of the PSTwo redesign, the flow of new players ground to a trickle, with the only real options either being the PC version of the game, or for gamers to hunt down refurbished, original style PS2s. While the game has sustained itself, the Final Fantasy XI community is now in for its first real infusion of new players in quite some time, thanks to the upcoming Xbox 360 version of the game. While the 360 version made its debut at this past E3, then its first public appearance at Square-Enix's event in Japan over the summer (and subsequently at the 2005 Tokyo Game Show), 1UP made a special trip to Japan to get some hands-on time with the game at the Square-Enix headquarters in Shinjuku, Tokyo. We also took the opportunity to sit down with Final Fantasy XI producer, Hiromichi Tanaka, to discuss the status of the game as is, as well as the upcoming expansion pack, FFXI: Treasures of Aht Urghan, along with the 360 version in particular. "

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy XI for XBox 360 Preview at 1UP.
    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 17, 2005
    Boomjack
  • How do the dragons fit down those tiny tunnels to get into the dungeon in the first place?
    Dungeons and Dragons Online received twice the loving today with previews posted on both GameDaily and MMORPG

    " Recently, I had the opportunity to attend a press event for Turbine’s Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Before I even left, I knew what to expect. I was told that the game’s lead designer, Ken Troop was going to give us a brief overview of the game before we ourselves would have a chance to sit down in front of it. "

    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • You will accept my God or I will kill you, because he is a kind and caring God. And so begins the crusade.
    ComputerAndVideoGames, the site with the longest name in MMOG circles has posted a preview of World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusades.

    "
    There is a life beyond the world as you know it. I know because I've just been there. But right now I'm sitting in an office in Irvine, California, and sitting opposite me is Blizzard's creative director Chris Metzen, the man whose mind provides the motivation every time an orc raises an axe in anger. Every major nugget of Warcraft lore has passed through his hands - Frozen Thrones, Dark Portals, you name it. He's the man who gives meaning to your daily grind. He's also a full-on rock star: wide grin, muscular build, dazzling necklace, chunky rings and Bono sunglasses. He's the closest man to Henry Rollins the games industry has. And I'm here to hear him talk Orc. "

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusades Preview at ComputerAndVideoGames.
    And there's more!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Nov 14, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Blizzard's Redux of "Timecop"
    Jean Cluade Van Damme kind of looks like a Tauren, hmm... but you'll see what I mean about "Timecop" in a second. On another note, our British friends at CVG just posted the nuttiest preview I've ever read. I'll stand back and let a one of the tamer snippets fly:

    "That's right, your character is about to make an amazing journey through time and space to some of the most pivotal moments in Warcraft history - all thanks to a handy dungeon managed by a Flight of Bronze Dragons whose humdrum task is to police the timestream. Although they're clearly not very good at it, seeing as anyone of sufficient level (and owning the expansion pack) will be able to wander into their Tanaris lair, speed up to 88mph and hurtle through history. You'll be there on the Black Morass the day the Black Portal was opened, before the land was blighted and split between the Blasted Land and the Swamp of Sorrows, with an environment being made pixel for pixel just as it was in Warcraft II. You'll be one of a party who rescue future orc leader Thrall from a distinctly non-ruined and highly turreted Durnhold keep. You'll even be present atop Mount Hyjal on the fateful day in Reign of Chaos when all the races joined together to put the boot into the wicked bad Archimonde."

    Sounds like fun. More English enthusiasm from the CVG Preview of Burning Crusade here.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 11, 2005
    Ethec
  • It's all hands-on, without the usual harassment suits that follow.
    We were there. They were there. It was written about everywhere. Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach hands-on information is stamping your way faster than a Bugbear with a burr on its rump. TenTonHammer, GameSpot and IGN all have their impressions online for your dice rolling, dungeon crawling pleasure.

    " Turbine cleared out Dragon Bar, a fine establishment in San Francisco's North Beach district, and brought all the necessary hardware to provide core community members, pen-and-paper (PnP) gamers, and fansite reps a "hands on" tour of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach (or DDO, for short) . The atmosphere was charged with excitement as the alcohol and gourmet vittles flowed freely, and I'd be remiss not to thank the Turbine crew for pulling off a fitting introduction for this party-intensive game. "

    Who's da man? You're da man! Now get to it!

    Still craving more? Even more Dungeons and Dragons Online News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 10, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The crusades, the crusades, the crusades are on Fire.... we don't need no water, we need more gameplay.
    ActionTrip has posted a World of Warcraft: Burning Crusades preview. .

    " In my long years of being a game junkie I have never encountered an ethereal substance as potent as whatever it is that's trickling from my monitor screen when I'm playing World of Warcraft. Still, I take solace in the fact that I'm just one of the four and something million souls feeding off the mysterious trickling substance. We need it to trickle as we need the air we breathe and the food we ingest. And if someone asks you, I'm not addicted. Nope. I deny the existence of the word 'denial' and that's that. I'm fine. (The first step in breaking an addiction is to admit you have a problem -Mo.)"

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft: Burning Crusades Preview at Action Trip.
    Not enough? Hit our World of Warcraft Community Site or the Meta-Search Tool, or heck, more WoW News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • RF Online ...we need RC Online! Teeny, tiny cars being driven by virtual remote control versus other virtual people in a teeny, tiny world.
    RPGVault has posted a RF Online Preview, where else...online.

    " Although the title will be new in the West, it has already established itself as a success in the Far East, with a player base reportedly numbering over a million. Accordingly, it seems reasonable to expect the game and the servers will be stable, and that many possible issues related to balance, load et al will already have been addressed. The mix of fantasy and science fiction elements may help to foster both awareness and a sense of product differentiation among members of the target audience. While the visuals are attractive, with some of the female character models and their outfits drawing particular attention, it appears that the minimum system requirements will be quite reasonable. "

    You can read the entire RF Online Preview at RPGVault.
    Not enough? More RF Online News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A rose by any other name is a hacking, slashing massively multiplayer online game.
    MMORPG.com has posted a preview of ROSE Online based on their chat with David Kim at the Austin Game Conference.

    " While at the Austin Gaming Conference I got to meet with David Kim of Gravity Interactive’s ROSE Online, a new Korean MMO that is currently in open beta. This kid-friendly MMO takes place in a huge world, or rather, universe — players can travel between seven different planets, three of which are already in the game, to fight monsters, do quests, and make friends. "

    You can read the ROSE Online Preview at MMORPG.com.
    Other Interesting Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Hero's Journey, not your sit around the house playing WoW kind of story.
    RPGVault has posted their Hero's Journey Peek #10. The included screenshots look superb. Who would have thought that a wagon could look so cool?

    " Hero's Journey is a fantasy persistent state world being developed by one of the pioneers in the category, Simutronics. It takes place in the world of Elanthia, where a savage war has shattered entire societies. The remnants have ceased hostilities lest none survive, and are attempting to build a new civilization by working together within an alliance called the Triumvirate. Sadly, private agendas, greed, the blinding desire for power and simple malevolence stand in their way, including external threats like the otherworldly Rakshaal plus some that aren't as obvious. In this series, the team has agreed to tell us more. "

    You can read Hero's Journey Peek #10 at RPGVault.
    Other Interesting Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Lord British takes the purse away from Tabula Rasa.
    MMORPG.com has posted a Tabula Rasa preview featuring insight from Richard "Lord British" Garriott.

    " Originally announced some time ago, the game underwent a marked shift just before E3 2005. Richard explained how it began with a rather trivial observation: everyone on the development team exclusively played female characters.
    Why was this? Well, they discovered that as the game’s extremely far-fetched high fantasy style evolved, it became harder for male gamers to connect with their male avatars. Thus began a period where they tried to put a little more grit into the game; a process that would eventually completely redefine its setting."

    You can read the entire Tabula Rasa Preview at MMORPG.com.
    Other Interesting Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 03, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net