Previews

  • A quick look at The Burning Crusade, without the religious fervour and piles of burning lumber.
    1UP has posted a preview of the World of Warcraft expansion, The Burning Crusade. The preview focuses on the new Horde race, the Blood Elves. Now all the men hiding their female side can play a more attractive female character. There is your Halloween scare.

    " The first thing you notice about Sunstrider Isle is that it feels a lot like an Alliance town. There's lots of foliage and animals and green and blue and so on, unlike Horde starting areas which are liberally covered with black and brown. Also, because BlizzCon is the only place to check out the expansion, there were a ton of blood elf characters -- so much that in any quest that involves killing things, the time it takes for a creature to respawn is longer than usual due to everyone else killing the same creatures you're going after. The gameworld was set to night time, which made Sunstider Isle look a bit like the Night Elf regions (and not as color crazy as the screenshots in our news story earlier today), but, just as the Horde finally has a "hot female" race to play as, it now has a picturesque little zone to hang out in as well. "

    You can read entire World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade Preview at 1UP.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 31, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Toyotas With TOW Missiles.
    MMORPG.com has posted an Auto Assault Preview based on their chat with Valerie Massy and Scott Brown at the Austin Game Conference.

    " Thursday of AGC I got to sit down and talk to Scott Brown, project lead of AutoAssault, and Valerie Massey, Online Community Coordinator. After this summer’s roadhouses I was excited to see where AutoAssault was, and where it was going. "

    You can read the Auto Assault Preview at MMORPG.com.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 31, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Beta is over, here come the villains.
    GameCloud have posted their final impressions of the City of Villains beta. The game is scheduled to release on October 31st, with pre-order customers jumping in two days early.

    " Last month we got our first chance to play the beta version of City of Villains, the stand alone expansion to the hit super hero themed MMORPG from developer Cryptic Studios and publisher NCSoft. At the time we wondered how the two separate games would co-exist and if players of the original would leave for the sequel. Since that time NCSoft announced that players would be able to play both games for the same $14.95 a month fee, something that Sony Online pioneered with their $21.95 a month fee for access to all of their MMORPG titles. "

    You can read the entire City of Villains Beta Impressions article at GameCloud.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • In case you were thinking Mustafarian had something to do with Reggae music...

    SOE previews the November Star Wars Galaxies: Trials of Obi-Wan expansion by way of showing us some new equipment and house items that can be found on the inhospitable lava planet of Mustafar. It's enough to elicit gutteral noises from any excitable Wookie.

    Mustafar, once a simple mining planet, now suffers in the merciless grip of greed. Treasure hunters and mercenaries of all sorts risk their necks to cross dangerous lava fields, battle renegade droids and explore deep into old republic facilities still armed with dangerous defense grids because the lure of treasure is so great.

    New expansion items for Star Wars Galaxies... take a look!

    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 26, 2005
    Ethec
  • Gods And Heroes. Spreading the word, one sword at at time.
    MMOGInfo has posted a Gods And Heroes preview that touches on many aspects of the Perpetual Entertainment developed game. There did not seem to be any new information in the preview, but it was a good refresher. :

    " Perpetual Entertainment has seted out to create a MMORPG that introduces the players completely in the Rome of year 300 B.C. allowing them to participate directly in the expansion of this State city. For it Perpetual is creating a persistent virtual world with hundreds of dynamic zones as much in the regions dominated and adjacent to Rome as mythologic realms. Thus we will have from extensive valleys, mountainous plains, hills to nordic regions, mountain ranges, islands and much more. "

    You can read the entire Gods and Heroes Preview at MMOGInfo.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 26, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Warhammer Online Resurrected. I think that should be the official name of the game.
    Warhammer Alliance has posted a brief preview of Warhammer Online. There isn't anything new here, but it's nice to see a site up and running to cover this "off in the distance" title by Mythic.

    "Despite taking place in a entirely new setting, Mythic will be drawing
    on all the Warhammer fantasy material no matter whether it comes from
    the Warhammer Fantasy Battles or Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay. This will
    ensure that this new game will look, feel, and perhaps even taste like
    real Warhammer.
    "

    You can read the entire Warhammer Online Preview at Warhammer Alliance.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • We have a scratch in race #4 at the Barrow-downs. Frodo's Fancy will not run today.
    Turbine has posted a preview of the Barrow-downs area in Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar.

    "Known in the Elvish language as Tyrn Gorthad ("Hills of Tombs"), the Barrow-downs, located east of the Old Forest in the Bree-land region of Eriador, is a place of mystery best avoided by unwary adventurers.  By day, the area seems harmless enough – a quiet region of gently rolling plains and grassy mounds topped by ancient standing stones, marking the final resting place of great warriors from ages past.  But the spells which lay across the Barrow-downs are deceiving, and the mists that roll in as the day wanes can disorient and entrap even the bravest souls, turning the once-pleasant hills into dark shapes crowned with sharp teeth of stone.  In the dreadful gloom, evil spirits from Angmar dwell amongst the standing stones and within the burial mounds, inhabiting the bodies of the long-dead warriors and raising them as terrifying Wights driven to collect the living and bring them forever into this land of the dead. "

    You can read the entire Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar Preview at the Official Site.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • At look ahead, at villains and the city they call home.
    GameSpy has posted a preview of City of Villains taking a look at character creation and the gameplay as it stands pre-release. The game should be in a store near you starting on Halloween. Dress up as your favourite villain and head down the mall to get a copy. I might leave the bellaclava at home though.

    " When I was a kid, my Dad and I would spend hours discussing our favorite sci-fi movies, old episodes of Star Trek, or the intricate nuances of comic books. It was during one of those conversations that I noticed something odd. For all the time we spent discussing Batman, or Luke Skywalker or Captain Kirk, we spent much more time discussing the Joker, Darth Vader, or picking apart the political structures of the Romulan Empire (OK, my Dad's a geek, too). When I asked him why we seemed to gravitate toward the villains far more than the heroes of these stories, I remember his answer as if it were yesterday:



    "Villains are more fun.""

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at GameSpy.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Bill Roper takes GameSpy to the gates of Hell. Too many jokes to pick just one folks.
    GameSpy has posted a Hellgate: London preview focusing on a demonstration given by Bill Roper of Flagship studios. We contacted Mr. Roper of Three's Company, but he had never heard of the game and was searching for a "gay guy". We did get this out of him:

    "For the purposes of the demo, Roper controlled a Templar character. The only class in Hellgate that's been thus far revealed, Templars seem like they're going to be well suited to mixing it up with creatures up close. Throughout the demo, Roper's newly-minted female Templar (the fair sex had just gotten its version of the class modeled, incidentally) wielded a wide variety of weapons, both melee and ranged, which gave us a pretty clear idea as to how combat would work in the final game. " 

    You can read the entire Hellgate: London Preview at GameSpy.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 20, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Nissans and tactical nukes!

    New fansite Gamer's Addiction jots down their first impressions on the vehicular shoot-'em-up MMO we know as Auto Assault. If you ever wanted to be Steve McQueen in that Bullitt monumental car chase scene (with some additional devious weaponry, of course), you'll want to pick up this game next spring, basically. Yea, I agree with GA, it's a man's game, as long as you're not prone to carsickness or vertigo!

    Now, MY personal favorite part of the game (aside from the death, destruction and other chaos) is the MUSIC! WOW! The sound engine in the game is PHENOMENAL! It really puts you in the drivers seat and makes you feel like you're there. And to top it off, the background music is great driving music - definitely something to destroy the world to!

    Overall, in my opinion, Auto Assault has hit the world square on the nose. You get destruction, interaction, cool music, hot chicks in little clothing, and Great cars that shoot guns. What more could a guy ask for? I mean, come on! I doubt they'll start delivering beer door to door during the game.....or will they?

    The Auto Assault preview at Gamer's Addiction.

    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 20, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net