Archive

Previews

  • Gods And Heroes. Spreading the word, one sword at at time.
    MMOGInfo has posted a Gods And Heroes preview that touches on many aspects of the Perpetual Entertainment developed game. There did not seem to be any new information in the preview, but it was a good refresher. :

    " Perpetual Entertainment has seted out to create a MMORPG that introduces the players completely in the Rome of year 300 B.C. allowing them to participate directly in the expansion of this State city. For it Perpetual is creating a persistent virtual world with hundreds of dynamic zones as much in the regions dominated and adjacent to Rome as mythologic realms. Thus we will have from extensive valleys, mountainous plains, hills to nordic regions, mountain ranges, islands and much more. "

    You can read the entire Gods and Heroes Preview at MMOGInfo.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 26, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Warhammer Online Resurrected. I think that should be the official name of the game.
    Warhammer Alliance has posted a brief preview of Warhammer Online. There isn't anything new here, but it's nice to see a site up and running to cover this "off in the distance" title by Mythic.

    "Despite taking place in a entirely new setting, Mythic will be drawing
    on all the Warhammer fantasy material no matter whether it comes from
    the Warhammer Fantasy Battles or Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay. This will
    ensure that this new game will look, feel, and perhaps even taste like
    real Warhammer.
    "

    You can read the entire Warhammer Online Preview at Warhammer Alliance.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • We have a scratch in race #4 at the Barrow-downs. Frodo's Fancy will not run today.
    Turbine has posted a preview of the Barrow-downs area in Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar.

    "Known in the Elvish language as Tyrn Gorthad ("Hills of Tombs"), the Barrow-downs, located east of the Old Forest in the Bree-land region of Eriador, is a place of mystery best avoided by unwary adventurers.  By day, the area seems harmless enough – a quiet region of gently rolling plains and grassy mounds topped by ancient standing stones, marking the final resting place of great warriors from ages past.  But the spells which lay across the Barrow-downs are deceiving, and the mists that roll in as the day wanes can disorient and entrap even the bravest souls, turning the once-pleasant hills into dark shapes crowned with sharp teeth of stone.  In the dreadful gloom, evil spirits from Angmar dwell amongst the standing stones and within the burial mounds, inhabiting the bodies of the long-dead warriors and raising them as terrifying Wights driven to collect the living and bring them forever into this land of the dead. "

    You can read the entire Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar Preview at the Official Site.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • At look ahead, at villains and the city they call home.
    GameSpy has posted a preview of City of Villains taking a look at character creation and the gameplay as it stands pre-release. The game should be in a store near you starting on Halloween. Dress up as your favourite villain and head down the mall to get a copy. I might leave the bellaclava at home though.

    " When I was a kid, my Dad and I would spend hours discussing our favorite sci-fi movies, old episodes of Star Trek, or the intricate nuances of comic books. It was during one of those conversations that I noticed something odd. For all the time we spent discussing Batman, or Luke Skywalker or Captain Kirk, we spent much more time discussing the Joker, Darth Vader, or picking apart the political structures of the Romulan Empire (OK, my Dad's a geek, too). When I asked him why we seemed to gravitate toward the villains far more than the heroes of these stories, I remember his answer as if it were yesterday:



    "Villains are more fun.""

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at GameSpy.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Bill Roper takes GameSpy to the gates of Hell. Too many jokes to pick just one folks.
    GameSpy has posted a Hellgate: London preview focusing on a demonstration given by Bill Roper of Flagship studios. We contacted Mr. Roper of Three's Company, but he had never heard of the game and was searching for a "gay guy". We did get this out of him:

    "For the purposes of the demo, Roper controlled a Templar character. The only class in Hellgate that's been thus far revealed, Templars seem like they're going to be well suited to mixing it up with creatures up close. Throughout the demo, Roper's newly-minted female Templar (the fair sex had just gotten its version of the class modeled, incidentally) wielded a wide variety of weapons, both melee and ranged, which gave us a pretty clear idea as to how combat would work in the final game. " 

    You can read the entire Hellgate: London Preview at GameSpy.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 20, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Nissans and tactical nukes!

    New fansite Gamer's Addiction jots down their first impressions on the vehicular shoot-'em-up MMO we know as Auto Assault. If you ever wanted to be Steve McQueen in that Bullitt monumental car chase scene (with some additional devious weaponry, of course), you'll want to pick up this game next spring, basically. Yea, I agree with GA, it's a man's game, as long as you're not prone to carsickness or vertigo!

    Now, MY personal favorite part of the game (aside from the death, destruction and other chaos) is the MUSIC! WOW! The sound engine in the game is PHENOMENAL! It really puts you in the drivers seat and makes you feel like you're there. And to top it off, the background music is great driving music - definitely something to destroy the world to!

    Overall, in my opinion, Auto Assault has hit the world square on the nose. You get destruction, interaction, cool music, hot chicks in little clothing, and Great cars that shoot guns. What more could a guy ask for? I mean, come on! I doubt they'll start delivering beer door to door during the game.....or will they?

    The Auto Assault preview at Gamer's Addiction.

    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 20, 2005
    Ethec
  • Camelot Hydro stocks gain ground.
    MMOGInfo has posted a preview of Dark Age of Camelot: Darkness Rising. It's a rough read, that caused my head to A-Splode, but worth the look if you want more DAoC info. We felt compelled to contact a Speak and Spell toy, but all we could get was this:

    " The shades are growing and becoming stronger in the world of Camelot, and in case it was not enough with the eternal war between the kingdoms of Albion, Hibernia and Midgard, now a new threat has arisen within each one from the kingdoms and threatens to destroying them without concerning its external conflicts. The moment has arrived for call the champions of each kingdom so that they unite their forces and avoid that the evil destroy its lives... " 

    You can read the entire Dark Age of Camelot: Darkness Rising Preview at MMOGInfo.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 20, 2005
    Boomjack
  • I need your help, Obi-Wan Kenobi.
    IGN has posted a preview of Star Wars Galaxies: Trials of Obi-Wan. The preview is a good read covering the new, or should it be returning villain, as well as touching on the solo versus group aspect of the expansion. Mark Hamill will talk to anyone...but us, so we'll pretend that he said this:

    " If there's any game that's managed to stir up some controversy with it's various incarnations, changes, and general shinannegans, it's Star Wars Galaxies. It was easily one of the most anticipated MMOs to hit shelves and provided a unique look at the Star Wars universe that crafters and role-players seemed to like more than most interested in combat scenarios. For good or bad, much has changed in Galaxies including a new combat system and an increased focus on loot to keep people adventuring. With those ideas in mind, Sony Online and LucasArts have created a new high level expansion called Trials of Obi-Wan, where players will indeed get the chance to meet the wise one himself… well, in ghost form anyway. " 

    You can read the entire Star Wars Galaxies: Trials of Obi-Wan Preview at IGN.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 20, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Avault in Alcatraz.
    The Adrenaline Vault have posted their impressions of City of Villains based on their experience at the Alcatraz event held recently. Sean Connery did not feel obliged to comment on this story, or on the movie "The Rock". He did point right at us, yell, "You're the man now dog!" and then uttered this:

    " Outside of the icy grip of death itself, there isn’t much else in this world that can unnerve a man more than being faced with a life sentence inside of the confines of a prison cell. Especially having to spend the rest of your time on Earth locked up and situated on the most infamous island in the United States, Alcatraz. No one ever said that being one of the world’s most wanted criminals was easy, but life on The Rock proved to be more disparate than most of its occupants ever imagined. It was so bad in fact these vile men coined Alcatraz with a new name, “Hellcatraz”. " 

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at AVault.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 17, 2005
    Boomjack
  • GameSpot goes to Hell.
    GameSpot has posted a preview of Hellgate: London focusing on the gameplay details. Wayne Gretzky who must feel a bit like he is in Hell while on the bench for the Phoenix Coyotes did not have this to say:

    " We recently had a chance to check in with publisher Namco and developer Flagship Studios for an updated look at Hellgate: London. The hybrid role-playing game will, as you may recall, take place in a near-future version of the city of London just after it has been overrun by demonic hordes. You'll play through the game from either a third-person perspective or a first-person perspective (the former is more appropriate when using melee weapons, the latter is more appropriate when using ranged weapons), and you'll learn a huge number of different skills, while acquiring a great many different weapons that can be customized with demonic artifacts, futuristic technology, or even holy relics, such as a fragment of the True Cross, or the finger bone of a long-dead saint. " 

    You can read the entire Hellgate: London Preview at GameSpot.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 14, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net