Archive

Previews

  • Have a Hell of a time in London.
    IGN has posted a preview of Hellgate: London focusing on the weapons and the graphical goodness. Bill Roper, formerly of Blizzard fame, would not give a release date, but it looks like we may get to blast away in London next year. I'm sure we'll spend some time with this one at E3 2006. Bruce Campbell was excited to see our number on his caller ID and picked up right away, but unfortunately we had dialed the wrong number. He quickly said this before we hung up on him:

    "
    Hellgate should be of particular interest to those types of players
    that like Diablo-style RPGs. Not necessarily the graphical style or
    quality of that series, but the random nature and near unlimited
    replayability of it. If Hellgate: London turns out as slick as it looks like it should, junkies looking for a new action/RPG fix should warm up those veins because this could be it. We got the chance to see an updated version of the game for the first time since E3 back in May and things look to be progressing at pace. Flagship's Bill Roper is pleased with the work that's been done but is still unwilling to give any sort of firm release date. At this point it's still "when it's done" but will most likely be released sometime in 2006. " 

    You can read the entire Hellgate: London Preview at IGN.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 14, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The Bad-man of Alcatraz
    No Clint Eastwood, but some big names in MMO gaming (and a few schmoes dressed up as comic book supervillains) were in San Francisco bay to showcase "City of Villains" - next-to-release MMO (late October) and stand-alone sequel to the immensely popular City of Heroes.

    "NCsoft recently held an event in San Francisco, or rather, in the San Francisco Bay, to showcase some of the new features being implemented in their upcoming title, City of Villains – particularly base building and base raids. Held within the confines of Alcatraz Island, Lord Recluse and his right-hand woman, Ghost Widow, were on hand to interest the attendees into joining their league of evil, Arachnos.
    Not to be outdone by these villains, our hero Robert Garriott, CEO NCsoft North America, presented his plan for subscriber domination: Two games, one fee - $14.95."

    Read up on many of CoV's cool features in GameHelper's wrap-up of the City of Villains Alcatraz release party.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 13, 2005
    Ethec
  • The title says "Preview - City of Heroes". The masthead says "City of Heroes". The tab on the page says "Reviews" What you get is a preview of City of Villains. Go Go Gadget!
    MMOGInfo has posted a preview of City of Villains. Jack Nicholson sneered at us before yelling:

    "This is the feeling that many heroes of  Paragon City will have experimented and finally, with the next launching of City of Villains will be able to give loose rein and experience the other side of justice, the side of the evildoers and villains who every day threaten the existence of the innocents to obtain their desires: the complete domination of the free world. Although it's clear that all the players will not think equal, and many will follow faithfuls their defense of the Good, for that reason the true war between the Chaos and the Order is going to start in Paragon City very soon. " 

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at MMOGInfo.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 12, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Hondas with Heat-Seekers
    MMORPGDot doesn't dispute Auto Assault lives up to its mantra: "The Fastest, Most Destructive MMO Ever," but they do ponder whether or not it has the wheels to keep gamers playing month after month. I tend to think that as long as there's a southern California commute, there will be a market for vehicular destruction MMOs.

    "Overall the game delivers what it promises: long hours of blowing-up-crap bliss. The question is what sort of gamer will it appeal to? Will the action-craving gamer pay a monthly fee for what feels like a late nineties post-apocalyptic arcade with character advancement, crafting and multiplayer options thrown in? Will the MMORPG player identify enough with a little vehicle zooming around the screen as his character to want to put time, money and effort into developing the vehicle slash quasi-character? Will those good old Car Wars fans find what they are looking for in this aspiring MMOG version of the golden oldie?
    I doubt that all those sceptical of an integration of MMORPG with a fast paced action car warring post apocalyptic game will have their scepticism dispelled by Auto Assault. On the fun, blowing-things-up side of things the game works well enough, but on a lot of other fronts - at least in its current Beta stage - the overall concept and what the game does with it are both problematic. It simply seems difficult for the game to succeed on all the fronts it wishes to succeed, both because of the overall conceptual structure of the game and the way the various elements of that structure have been married. But I will definitely give the release version a spin to see if these doubts have been eased by the final product. "

    Read more of the Auto Assault preview at MMORPGDot, if you so desire.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 10, 2005
    Ethec
  • More features than that bat-belt, at a boy wonder price.
    It seems like anyone that has played "City of Heroes" - the superhero MMO from NCSoft - has good things to say about it, and the hype is growing in intensity over the CoH sequel: City of Villains. NCSoft recently promised that you'd be able to play CoH and CoV for the same monthly subscription price of $14.99, giving existing CoH players a good reason to get in touch with their dark side.
    One of the sweetest features of the late-October supervillain stand-alone adjunct is the ability to build your own evil lair. That much I knew. What I didn't know is how raids on these lairs would be conducted, and it makes for some compelling gameplay.

    " Your group picks a time when the base will be on the defensive, and during that time another group will sign up to raid it. During that timeslot, your item(s) of power will either stay under your control or pass to another group. It seems like a great gameplay idea, and the required raids are a great way to give any chance the opportunity to acquire an item. Plus, since you can choose when to be raided, you'll always be able to ensure that you've got enough players available to defend. "

    Read more about City of Villains at ShackNews.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 10, 2005
    Ethec
  • Unhand me you brute!
    NCSoft has posted a walkthrough of the "Brute" that will appear in their upcoming title, City of Villains. Andre The Giant, known for his brute force tactics did not have this to say:

    "Despite the potentially dangerous side effects, Karl spent weeks
    developing a specific formula to fulfill his totemic destiny.  Finally perfecting the formula, Karl retreated to his uncle’s mansion and injected the specially prepared wolf serum into his own arm.  Expecting an epiphany of joy at being reunited with the animal he believed he shared a blood pact with, Karl was horrified by the rage and anger that swept through him.  Every ounce of inner anger, insecurity, and self-hatred was funneled through the inhuman cravings that swept his trembling body.  Feeling himself filling with strength yet overwhelmed by intense pain and unnatural, violent urges, he collapsed onto the floor. " 

    You can read the entire Brute Walkthrough for City of Villains at the Official Site.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 06, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Because women are all over this virtual sex thing.
    Next Generation has posted a preview of Spend The Night, billed as an erotic MMO that targets the female audience. I'm going to go out on a limb and guess that Hello Kitty Online or ToonTown Online are going to have a larger female population than a pixel-sex game. Pornography and virtual sex expert Peewee Herman was contacted for comment, but was too busy watching Japanese escalator movies to say anything more than this:

    "
    Republik's Spend The Night is about sex. It's an online multiplayer
    game in which adults can meet other adults and act out their fantasies
    through graphically rich avatars. Next Generation spoke to company CEO
    Robert Coshland.

    You can read the entire Spend The Night Preview at Next Generation.
     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • FPS, let me introduce you to MMOG.
    ArmChairEmpire has posted a preview of Webzen's upcoming FPS/MMOG hybrid, Huxley. We have been informed by untrustworthy sources that Bill Cosby will be filing suit against Webzen, claiming that Huxley is too close to Huxtable the family name he created for the Cosby Show. We have this statement from nobody in particular:

    "
    Bringing the first person shooter into massively multiplayer online gaming is something that game developers have been fiddling around with for a while now.  Up to this point, the most popular attempt at such fusion of genres has been Planetside from Sony Online Entertainment.  The game never shattered any sales or subscription records, but it has managed to find itself a respectable number of dedicated players since its release.  Looking a the Planetside model, there are definite signs that an MMOFPS can work, and Webzen is currently in the process of developing their own title in the genre for the PC and Xbox 360 with Huxley.

    You can read the entire Huxley Preview at ArmChairEmpire.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 03, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Guild Wars Chapter 2, Coming To a PC Near You.
    GameSpot has posted a Guild Wars interview focusing on the as yet unnamed expansion, Chapter 2. Nostradamus predicted this expansion when he wrote:

    " Guild Wars has become one of the major successes of 2005, and it's easy to see why. This online role-playing game from ArenaNet offers countless hours of excellent gameplay, requires no monthly subscription fee, and features innovative streaming technology that allows the developers to update the game automatically every time you log on. Now the team at ArenaNet is preparing the first major update to Guild Wars, the so-called second chapter. This update will introduce a ton of content. But don't take our word for it. Gaile Gray, Guild War's community relations manager, was kind enough to answer our questions regarding chapter two. "

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Preview at GameSpot.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 29, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Volkswagen vehicle turned super villain.
    IGN has posted a preview of the villain Scirocco from the upcoming title, City of Villains. Martha Stewart, another villain, claimed that Scirocco was merely her apprentice and went on to say:

    " I began following Scirocco's trail in Paragon City. There was another man called Scirocco who operated as a hero starting sometime in the 1980's. Before that, information on this hero quickly became sketchy. I was able to piece together a few things. He was originally granted powers by a mysterious order of monks from the Temple of the Four Winds. Very little is known about these monks, but a few things are certain. First, they train gifted individuals in the mystic arts. After accessing early Freedom Phalanx records I was able to determine that the Dark Watcher was one of their trainees. I was not able to locate him for questioning. He has not been heard from since he vanished on one of his dimensional patrols in 1957. The second aspect of the Order of the Four Winds is more difficult to analyze and is the one that affects my current investigation directly. It seems they are responsible for granting "mantles of mystic power" to certain individuals who embody the winds of the world. The Scirocco, as an example, originates in the Sahara Desert as a dry dusty wind but becomes humid as it passes over the Mediterranean. I could not determine what criteria are used to choose these individuals, or why the last Scirocco was a hero and the current one appears to be a villain. Perhaps the dual nature of the wind itself has something to do with it. "

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at IGN.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 28, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net