Previews

  • Will HoratioHornblower be the new "Leggollaaaas"?

    Flying Lab put on a show for folks at PAX, and judging from the number of favorable "first impressions" articles that editors have been hungrily posting, it looks like the preview was a hit. The devs are now back in their cubicles, readying PotBS for alpha testing.

    I also mentioned in my last dev log that we’re going to start the alpha test program during this milestone. Alpha testing will initially start with a focus on combat scenario testing. Ships of different types, with different packages, captained by players of different skills, as well as different groupings (small scout ships with larger capital ships, a mix of frigates and merchantmen, etc.) all have to be balanced against one another. For that we need frequent combats with good analysis, so we’re going to be carefully evaluating the first testers who get into the game.

    Take a look at the Pirates of the Burning Sea Dev Log here.
    Flying lab has also posted 3 new PotBS screenshots.
    Don't know much about PotBS? Leaf through our PotBS news archive for a history lesson!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 08, 2005
    Ethec
  • Imagine being a cop in City of Villains
    EuroGamer has posted a preview of City of Villains, the upcoming NCSoft published title. The Penguin and Catwoman were unavailable for comment, but the following note was slipped under our door this morning:

    " He may be the cape-wearing father of the City of Heroes, but Jack Emmert's actually rather evil. Asked to tell us about his favourite moments in Paragon City, he thinks for a bit and then his eyes twinkle. He was playing late one evening, he says, banded up with a handful of other players and doing alright - only for them to turn on him and try and boot him out. Clearly riled and seeking vengeance, he used his admin-level access privileges to summon an enormous monster to slay them all. "HA! HA! HOW DO YOU LIKE THAT!" Fortunately for the rest of us, he wasn't allowed to do it again - but you can imagine how much fun he's having with City of Villains. "

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at EuroGamer.
    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • /sings "And that's the recipe for makin' sorrow!"

    How would you like to have your spirit shackled so you can be treated as a contemptible slave in a sweltering dungeon? We thought you would, and so did Arena.net! IGN is hot for Sorrow's Furnace, and we can see why...

    With the addition of Sorrow's Furnace, players will receive two new zones with a ton of new quests and content along with smaller additions to existing areas and new gameplay mechanics. These guys play the game a ton themselves and workers dedicated to looking through player feedback and compiling it for the team to see have found some obvious areas of improvement. One of the most glaring bits that many players have mentioned is the issue of progression and reward. As it is right now, players making their way through the story campaign will tromp along swimingly, growing in power and skill at a great pace, when they'll run smack into a wall that slows progression mingling frustration with the fun.

    Read the lengthy Guild Wars: Sorrow's Furnace preview at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Ethec
  • E3 was how long ago again?
    GameRifts has posted a preview of Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising based on their E3 visit. Russell Crowe claimed he was the only gladiator and cursed us as follows:

    " Our initial introduction to Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising took place at the E3Expo concourse hall on our first day where we walked past a group of Roman soldiers stationed to promote the game. These Roman soldiers were the actual historical re-enactors of the time period with actual hand crafted armor and weapons. A game company that wants to ensure that every detail, down to their "booth babes" is accurate already has a leg up on the competition. So, when our scheduled appoint arrived, we were already looking forward to seeing the game. "

    You can read the entire Gods and Heroes Preview at GameRifts.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Can we get an APB on APB?
    1UP has posted an All Points Bulletin preview. Davey Jones asked me to take the last train to Clarkson and he'd meet me at the station, but when I arrived the only thing there was this note:

    " How many times have you played a Grand Theft Auto game and envisioned how cool it would be if all those folks walking and driving around the streets of Vice City were actually other human players? Funny, the original creator of Grand Theft Auto, David Jones, wonders the exact same thing. That's why his new company, Real Time Worlds, is crafting exactly such a game, due for release on PC in 2007 and Xbox 360 in 2008. "

    You can read the entire APB Preview at 1UP.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Boomjack
  • DnD players, look up from your dice and handbooks a sec!

    Turbine's DDO team turned out at PAX in force, and has some spiffy pictures and captions to show for it. Luckily, Marut (today's profiled monster) didn't show up too; the pasty-white crowd was almost certainly ill-equipped to dispatch an extraplanar stone construct:

    A twelve foot tall statue of a hulking onyx man in golden armor stood before us for a moment before speaking in a mechanical voice.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE UNTIL THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Clearly we were not going to agree to this command. Maruts are inevitables that represent the inevitability of death, and are lawful extraplanar constructs from Dolurrh, the Realm of the Dead. They hunt those who use unnatural means to cheat death. It's likely that this inevitable was hunting a powerful giant, and was sealed away rather than simply destroyed for unknown reasons.

    I tried explaining to the inevitable that the giants of Xen'drik are likely dead, and its mission is complete.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE WHILE I ASCERTAIN THAT THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Sighing, I nodded assent to the marut while simultaneously giving the others the signal for attack. It would be a difficult fight, but I had faith in my comrades.

    Free forum registration is required for the rest of this entertaining Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach read, or just check out DDO's Pax pics here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • Meet up with Captain Morgan, without the nasty after-effects!

    Pirates of the Burning Sea (PotBS) has garnered a number of previews since the Penny Arcade Expo (PAX); excitement appears to be building for this age of sail-themed MMORPG. The latest early look comes from Gamecloud:

    We were shown and got to play the two main aspects of the game during PAX. One of them is your chosen character (which can be either male or female with a lot of customisation planned) walking around one of the game's island towns. These towns are where you can get various missions from the NPCs. While it won't be in the first public release of Pirates Of The Burning Sea we were told that plans are to give your avatars more to do in town in later releases, including sword combat with other characters and players.

    Then we got to play the other major aspect of the title; sailing ship travel and combat. You will start out with a small ship at first and then as you move onto various missions you can gain loot and have access to buy and/or board and steal other bigger ships. You can even have acccess to AI driven escort ships in higher levels of the game. And yes Player vs Player features are planned. During our PAX demo we got a lesson in the game's ship sailing and combat. Combat is handled in real time and having the biggest ship with the most guns is, as we soon found out, not a lock on winning battles.

    The rest of the Gamecloud Pirates of the Burning Sea preview right here, buddy.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • A busy day in Auto Assault...

    NetDevil's newest "prologue" feature on the Auto Assault site comes in the from of an fragmented event log from "Day 189."

    I appreciate the art involved, but these logs gives me a headache. Parsing through these things brings back bad memories of long nights in Tijuana involving lots of tequila, nightmarish fletching sessions in EQLive, an female NPC named Aryclauwynn, and... well, you know too much already!

    02.28.22 Disturbance reported at Enhancement Facility 5.
    02.42.41 Second disturbance reported at Enhancement Facility 5 (Designated: PEC5). Camp Security Terminator Detachment A/11/51 to investigate.
    02.43.10 Mastermind Agrellex Minor posits that if the disturbance is similar to disturbances on 188.02.55.10, 187.01.23.09 and 186.01.45.21 this would account for normal Pike behavior.
    02.43.15 CSTD cautioned.
    02.43.55 Consensus taken by Agrellex, Cantor, and Optimus order use of force to stop disruptive Pike behavior in PEC5.

    08.00.85 Viewer visits the Auto Assault "Recon: Chapter 7" page.
    08.00.86 Ethec moves on to the next news piece.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
  • SWG producer Grant McDaniel brought back gamers' questions from Leipzig on the upcoming "Trials of Obi-Wan" expansion.

    He won't be confronting sticky issues like why the Death Star had to circle Yavin to blow up its 4th moon. Dood, it blows up planets, and if Yavin is a gas giant, couldn't the DS just fire through it to bring enough widespread destruction on Yavin 4 to undermine the rebel cause. Don't get me started! Nothing like good Hollywood, though.

    1. Is this a Jedi expansion?
    Absolutely not. This expansion has content and adventures for all types of Star Wars Galaxies players.
    2. I'm not a Jedi...so is there any reason for me to obtain the Trials of Obi-Wan Expansion?
    Of course. All players will be able to converse with Obi-Wan and help him on his quests. Additionally, there will be many other quests as well as other reasons to explore the planet of Mustafar. And, the planet itself is so completely unique when compared to the rest of the planets in our game, that I think many people will just enjoy exploring and adventuring anywhere they can. (A lot more than Anakin!)
    3. Trials of Obi-Wan: Will there be a new playable species? How about new NPC species?
    We did not add any new playable species. However, Mustafar is home to two new native NPC species that you will find in the expansion (more on them later).

    More Q&A from Lucas Arts on the Trials of Obi-Wan: Star Wars Galaxies expansion here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
  • Neither pot, nor BS... it's a pirate & privateer MMOG!

    Idle Thumbs probes (heh) the upcoming Flying Labs title "Pirates of the Burning Sea." Their expert twiddlers came back from PAX with some positive impressions.

    Because combat is between large ships rather than light mobile units, the pace of battles is much slower than normal. Reloading a cannon takes time, and sailing ships definitely do not turn on a dime. The pacing means that battles have plenty of time for planning strategy. You're perfectly welcome to try to fire our port cannons, then come about for a shot from the starboard, but while you're turning you also expose yourself for a broadside shot from another enemy ship. It is, in fact, one of the very few games I've seen where the physical shape of your combat unit comes into play during the battle. Larger ships present more surface area to hit, but are also better armed and better armored. Light ships are hard to hit, but lack the stronger firepower.

    See what all the pirate's parrots are squawking about: take a look at the Idle Thumbs preview of Pirates of the Burning Sea!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net