Archive

Previews

  • Pintos with Panzerschreken
    For once we'd like to see an Auto Assault preview where the writer didn't get in the newbie-mobile, skip the introductory quests, comment on the devestation all around (which you can glibly add to be destroying landscape objects) and finally relay the joy of blowing things up (well, okay, you can never say enough about blowing things up! Vin Diesel agrees.) Unfortunately, Stratics follows the unwritten formula for AA previews.... doesn't anyone do anything fun and new in this post-apocalyptic world- stop for gas and donuts perhaps?

    " Upon first entering the game world as a Biomek Terminator (with a giant cannon for a left arm, it doesn’t do much but it sure looks cool) I noticed how bleak it all seemed. Ever play Fallout and notice all the devastation? Same principle. I didn’t waste much time in the starter city getting any of the dozen or so missions readily available for rewards of experience and cash, I jumped straight into my car and was out there blasting things. In the original newbie car – I use car as a superlative, it’s really more of a rolling death machine with a giant gun on the top – you’re already able to get up to a handy seventy something miles per hour, chaingun firing away with reckless abandon at anything that moves or doesn’t move. One of the first handy things I noticed is that as I destroyed the beautifully crafted landscape the destroyed objects would release other objects to me which I could pick up. Bits of scrap metal, grease, nuts&bolts, general junk really. Little did I know at the time that each and every one of those items that I got from just gleefully destroying the world would allow me to craft my own items with ease when I returned to the city."

    Read more of the Stratics preview of Auto Assault at Stratics Central, that is, if you haven't read it all before.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Sep 26, 2005
    Ethec
  • Peeking or Peeping?
    RPG Vault has posted Hero's Journey Peek #7, featuring a new adversary, The Pack. Kevin Sorbo ignored us completely when we asked him if he like playing a hero on Hercules, but we are 100% confident that had he given us 10 seconds of his time he would have said this:

    " We find out about The Pack, a new species of adversary the developers at Simutronics are creating to challenge you "

    You can read the entire Hero's Journey Peek #7 at RPGVault.
    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 23, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Is that a parrot on your shoulder or are you just glad to see me?
    RPG Vault has posted Pirates of the Burning Sea Captain's Log #1, featuring producer, Russell Williams. We asked Johnny Depp to revisit his Pirates of the Caribbean character and he spouted:

    " Executive Producer Russell Williams discusses Flying Lab's plans for the beta of its online age of sail endeavor "

    You can read the entire Pirates of the Burning Sea Captain's Log #1 at RPGVault
    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 23, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Mazdas With Mortars.
    GameSpot has posted an Auto Assault preview focusing on the Driver-versus-Driver aspect of the upcoming NetDevil game. Robby Gordon let loose with copious quantities of verbal abuse when we asked about the article, though NASCAR had this statement in his defense:

    " Auto Assault promises to be the fastest online role-playing game on the planet when it launches later this year. After all, what other online RPG lets you put the pedal to the metal as you hurtle along a postapocalyptic wasteland, blasting other cars, not to mention mutated creatures? Of course, part of the charm of online role-playing games is that you can graduate from beating up on the computer to challenging your fellow human players in a test of skill, as well as low ping rates. Every online role-playing game approaches player-versus-player gameplay in its own way, and Auto Assault is no different. We'll let the NetDevil staff explain. "

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Preview at GameSpot.
    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 23, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Camaros with Cannons!
    The Official Auto Assault site has updated the recon section with a second look at loot. Brad Pitt denied that his latest movie was a bomb, citing the following:

    "Traders have often
    remarked about the sheer variety of items and useful pieces
    of equipment found in the Central Wastelands, whether from
    the ruins of an ancient pre-apocalyptic city, deep in the
    stomach of a particularly nasty Crawler, or strewn from
    the wreckage of a Pike Duster. In fact, the wide assortment
    of resources, weapons, components, and other materials available
    for exploitation in the Central Wastelands theoretically
    approaches infinity. A Loot research study funded by Sledge's
    Stop ‘n Shop in Scrap Valley estimates that there are billions of unique objects in the Central Wastelands alone. Although most items are quite common – it is not unknown to come across an extremely rare, valuable find. "

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Recon Update at The Official Site.
    Other Links You Might Enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 22, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A chronicle of the The Chronicle.
    MMORPG.com has posted a developer written preview of The Chronicle. The preview focuses on the battle system and specifically on the opportunity subsystem of combat. Vin Diesel, the master of combat and of opportunity flexed the muscles in his eyelids and roared:

    " I attack you and hit for 22 damage. You attack me and hit for 17 damage. I attack you and miss. You attack me and critically hit for 34 damage. I attack you…
    Does the above exchange sound familiar? It probably does, because that’s the way combat works in just about every MMORPG on the market today. In reality, combat is a complex dance of subtle maneuvers, split-second perceptions, and exploiting opportunities, which is why most RPG battles seem so sterile and monotonous by contrast. It’s tough to get excited about a match of dueling calculators, but one of the things The Chronicle is attempting to do is add a new dimension to RPG style combat, putting more emphasis on strategy and timing than just clicking auto attack to find out who has the best damage per second and hit points."

    You can read the The Chronicle Preview at MMORPG.com.
    Other Links You Might Enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 22, 2005
    Boomjack
  • With gas prices as high as they are, who wouldn't want a flying carpet?

    Stratics shows off some highlights of the new EverQuest 2 expansion area. They might have the fancypants screenshots, but TTH has the lowdown (check out the TTH Desert of Flames coverage while you're at it!). The scoop from Stratics:

    On a recent tour of Desert of Flames, I was able to capture some pictures of various locations we visited. I have recently received these images back from the photography studio, and would like to share them with you.

    Take a tour of the Desert of Flames with Stratics, Part 1 and Part 2!

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Sep 20, 2005
    Ethec
  • Is it really good to be bad?
    GameCloud has posted a hands-on impression of City of Villain based on beta experiences with the first few missions. Jack Nicholson, disappointed that he could not play The Joker in City of Villains pounded his fist on the desk and exclaimed:

    " Cryptic Studios and NCSoft released a big hit in April 2004 with City of Heroes, which finally gave players the chance to defend freedom and protect the meek with their super powers. Since its release Cryptic has been very generous with release new free content adding new zones, villain groups, powers and player vs player features. However, Cryptic is getting ready to do something that hasn't really been done before in MMORPG history with its next retail product City of Villains. Is it a sequel? Nope, since the game uses the same graphics engine and takes place in the same time frame and universe as City of Heroes. Is it an expansion pack? Nope because City of Villains is being sold as a full priced stand alone game (although it will add features to people who already own City of Heroes). Gamecloud got a chance to enter the beta test for the game and try out the first few missions (the publishers are not yet allowing screenshots to be published from the beta test; the shots in this article have been previously released). "

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at GameCloud
    Related Links

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Sep 19, 2005
    Boomjack
  • You are a PAX on the nation.
    Vanguard Crafters posted their preview impressions of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes, based on their visit to the Penny Arcade Expo. After trashing the Canadian Prime Minister while visiting Canada, Bono still had time to say this:

    " Sigil had a small booth, certainly compared to some other companies, but this fits well with where they are in development.  Three screens were set up for developers and testers demonstrate game play and the beautiful graphics.  I heartily agree with all who have seen the game that the screen shots do it no justice.  The screenshots don't reproduce the detail, clarity and life that Vanguard: Saga of Heroes has, and this is only Beta 0!  I spent most of my time drooling on the developers' shoulders. "

    You can read the entire Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Preview at Vanguard Crafters.
    Related Links

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • EQ: DoD PV.
    First out of the gate after release, IGN has posted a Preview of EverQuest: Depths of Darkhollow, the 10th expansion for the game. When asked about EverQuest, Vin Diesel reminisced about soloing Lord Nagafen two days after release and muttered the following:

    " DoD has six new static zones -- Corathus Creep, The Undershore, Stoneroot Falls, The Ruins of Illsalin, Dreadspire Keep and The Hive - and 60 missions, similar to the mission system in the last expansion, Dragons of Norrath. Like the last three expansions, it's for player levels 45 and up and will include raids even harder than the ones currently in the game, some of which are undefeated. "

    You can read the entire EverQuest: Depths of Darkhollow Preview at IGN.
    Related Links

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 15, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net