Archive

Previews

  • RF Online. Soon game names will just be one letter long.
    RPGVault has posted a preview of RF Online by Codemasters, featuring the races that you will be able to play. Russell Crowe threw the phone when we called him about this story, but we heard the following as it soared through the air:

    " A report on the races you'll be able to play when Codemasters launches CCR's science fantasy persistent state game "

    You can read the entire RF Online Preview at RPGVault.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Fly you very own black flag...

    "Strike and heave to if we give ya the gun, else we'll spare nary a one of ya. We ask no quarter and we give none!" That's what a pirate would say, but what would Gamespot say about a pirate MMO?

    Set in the raucous 18th century Caribbean, during the heyday of piracy, Pirates of the Burning Sea will let you sail for the major powers of the era (Britain, France, or Spain), as well as for yourself as a, well, pirate. The game will feature both player-versus-player combat and player-versus-environment missions, which will let you build a career as a dread captain on the high seas. The game itself seems to combine the town exploration of a traditional online role-playing game with the stylized world map and travel of Sid Meier's Pirates!, with a real-time ship-combat mode that's almost out of a historically based wargame. As such, it's certainly very different from the traditional online role-playing games, with their foci on fantasy worlds and races, not to mention swords and sorcery.

    That and more, you knock-kneed lubber, in the Gamespot preview of Pirates of the Burning Sea, due out end-of-year 2005.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 14, 2005
    Ethec
  • I am super powerful, and I choose to wear spandex.
    GameSpot has posted a preview of City of Villains giving an overall look at the upcoming game. We asked Martha Stewart if she would be making a guest appearance in the game and she replied as follows:

    " Last year, developer Cryptic Studios and publisher NCsoft's City of Heroes helped massively multiplayer online games leap a tall building in a single bound. Previously, online role-playing games usually involved creating a fantasy character and repeatedly beating on skeletons and goblins to earn copper coins, magic swords, and the privilege of beating on larger skeletons and goblins. City of Heroes took massively multiplayer games into the realm of comic-book superheroes by letting you create your very own superpowered do-gooder, complete with superhuman abilities like flight, superspeed, and a whole host of other powerful abilities designed to let you conquer the thugs and criminals of Paragon City, the game's home area. Now, Cryptic and NCsoft are working on their next game, City of Villains, which isn't an expansion pack, but rather, is something of a stand-alone sequel to City of Heroes. You won't need the original game to play City of Villains, but you might want to consider getting both games eventually, especially if you're interested in pitting superheroes against supervillains in player-versus-player battles. "

    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 14, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A crispy pet hamster was the only creature I've found inside my furnace.

    IGN caps off its preview series with a look at the bestiary of the recent Guild Wars expansion. Alas, charred little Fuzzball didn't make the list; he didn't have a respawn timer.

    Today, for the last feature, we're giving you a quick glimpse at some of the new creatures found in the area of Sorrow's Furnace. You'll find a couple more surprises waiting for you inside, but you'll become quite familiar with those you find below.

    Have a look at the nasties you'll find deep inside the Guild Wars: Sorrow's Furnace expansion at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Sep 12, 2005
    Ethec
  • More lore than your heroic eyes can possibly journey through!

    Simutronics designers Steph Shaver and Mike Doscher introduce us to a couple player races in "Hero's Journey" and to the inspiration behind an enemy clan's architecture. Lore makes my head hurt faster than opera night at a karaoke bar, but it's nice to see the kids enjoying themselves!

    The Stoneborn include the stoic Burians, who excel as miners, metalworkers and brewers, and the Qwi, who are master tinkerers and builders. The combination has yielded many technological advances. Among the Ilvari, the ethereal Mistfolk are dedicated to magic and its secrets, while the Earthfolk focus on nature. The feline Suwari were once the former's pets. They too follow dual beliefs, the fastidious Domesticates being city dwellers whereas the Ferals embrace the wilderness. The original Old Blood Humans are stalwart and sturdy, while the Togs, who are easily distinguished by their greenish skin, are usually slightly taller and even bulkier.

    Peruse the rest of the Hero's Journey Peek #6 at RPG Vault, if you so choose!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 09, 2005
    Ethec
  • BMWs with Bazookas!

    Gamecloud's latest preview gives readers a look inside the Auto Assault beta. So a biomek, a mutant, and a lawyer walk into a bar, and the barkeeper says...

    After the tutorial missions are over it was time to actually go into the game with real people online. Currently the beta only allows people to play a few hours a couple of times a week. Your avatar is directed to talk to NPCs who give your character missions to execute. You then move your avatar out of the base and then a loading screen comes up where you see your vehicle. The missions in the first few levels are pretty basic. You have to go and shoot a pre-determined number of specific enemies, whether they are human, mutant creatures or other vehicles. The game's combat is real time but there are some winks to normal MMORPGs combat as the game calculates hits and misses.

    Stave your preview hunger (we know you can't get enough of these!) by reading the rest of the Gamecloud Auto Assault beta sneak peek!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 09, 2005
    Ethec
  • Will HoratioHornblower be the new "Leggollaaaas"?

    Flying Lab put on a show for folks at PAX, and judging from the number of favorable "first impressions" articles that editors have been hungrily posting, it looks like the preview was a hit. The devs are now back in their cubicles, readying PotBS for alpha testing.

    I also mentioned in my last dev log that we’re going to start the alpha test program during this milestone. Alpha testing will initially start with a focus on combat scenario testing. Ships of different types, with different packages, captained by players of different skills, as well as different groupings (small scout ships with larger capital ships, a mix of frigates and merchantmen, etc.) all have to be balanced against one another. For that we need frequent combats with good analysis, so we’re going to be carefully evaluating the first testers who get into the game.

    Take a look at the Pirates of the Burning Sea Dev Log here.
    Flying lab has also posted 3 new PotBS screenshots.
    Don't know much about PotBS? Leaf through our PotBS news archive for a history lesson!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 08, 2005
    Ethec
  • Imagine being a cop in City of Villains
    EuroGamer has posted a preview of City of Villains, the upcoming NCSoft published title. The Penguin and Catwoman were unavailable for comment, but the following note was slipped under our door this morning:

    " He may be the cape-wearing father of the City of Heroes, but Jack Emmert's actually rather evil. Asked to tell us about his favourite moments in Paragon City, he thinks for a bit and then his eyes twinkle. He was playing late one evening, he says, banded up with a handful of other players and doing alright - only for them to turn on him and try and boot him out. Clearly riled and seeking vengeance, he used his admin-level access privileges to summon an enormous monster to slay them all. "HA! HA! HOW DO YOU LIKE THAT!" Fortunately for the rest of us, he wasn't allowed to do it again - but you can imagine how much fun he's having with City of Villains. "

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at EuroGamer.
    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • /sings "And that's the recipe for makin' sorrow!"

    How would you like to have your spirit shackled so you can be treated as a contemptible slave in a sweltering dungeon? We thought you would, and so did Arena.net! IGN is hot for Sorrow's Furnace, and we can see why...

    With the addition of Sorrow's Furnace, players will receive two new zones with a ton of new quests and content along with smaller additions to existing areas and new gameplay mechanics. These guys play the game a ton themselves and workers dedicated to looking through player feedback and compiling it for the team to see have found some obvious areas of improvement. One of the most glaring bits that many players have mentioned is the issue of progression and reward. As it is right now, players making their way through the story campaign will tromp along swimingly, growing in power and skill at a great pace, when they'll run smack into a wall that slows progression mingling frustration with the fun.

    Read the lengthy Guild Wars: Sorrow's Furnace preview at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Ethec
  • E3 was how long ago again?
    GameRifts has posted a preview of Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising based on their E3 visit. Russell Crowe claimed he was the only gladiator and cursed us as follows:

    " Our initial introduction to Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising took place at the E3Expo concourse hall on our first day where we walked past a group of Roman soldiers stationed to promote the game. These Roman soldiers were the actual historical re-enactors of the time period with actual hand crafted armor and weapons. A game company that wants to ensure that every detail, down to their "booth babes" is accurate already has a leg up on the competition. So, when our scheduled appoint arrived, we were already looking forward to seeing the game. "

    You can read the entire Gods and Heroes Preview at GameRifts.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net