Archive

Previews

  • Can we get an APB on APB?
    1UP has posted an All Points Bulletin preview. Davey Jones asked me to take the last train to Clarkson and he'd meet me at the station, but when I arrived the only thing there was this note:

    " How many times have you played a Grand Theft Auto game and envisioned how cool it would be if all those folks walking and driving around the streets of Vice City were actually other human players? Funny, the original creator of Grand Theft Auto, David Jones, wonders the exact same thing. That's why his new company, Real Time Worlds, is crafting exactly such a game, due for release on PC in 2007 and Xbox 360 in 2008. "

    You can read the entire APB Preview at 1UP.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Boomjack
  • DnD players, look up from your dice and handbooks a sec!

    Turbine's DDO team turned out at PAX in force, and has some spiffy pictures and captions to show for it. Luckily, Marut (today's profiled monster) didn't show up too; the pasty-white crowd was almost certainly ill-equipped to dispatch an extraplanar stone construct:

    A twelve foot tall statue of a hulking onyx man in golden armor stood before us for a moment before speaking in a mechanical voice.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE UNTIL THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Clearly we were not going to agree to this command. Maruts are inevitables that represent the inevitability of death, and are lawful extraplanar constructs from Dolurrh, the Realm of the Dead. They hunt those who use unnatural means to cheat death. It's likely that this inevitable was hunting a powerful giant, and was sealed away rather than simply destroyed for unknown reasons.

    I tried explaining to the inevitable that the giants of Xen'drik are likely dead, and its mission is complete.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE WHILE I ASCERTAIN THAT THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Sighing, I nodded assent to the marut while simultaneously giving the others the signal for attack. It would be a difficult fight, but I had faith in my comrades.

    Free forum registration is required for the rest of this entertaining Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach read, or just check out DDO's Pax pics here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • Meet up with Captain Morgan, without the nasty after-effects!

    Pirates of the Burning Sea (PotBS) has garnered a number of previews since the Penny Arcade Expo (PAX); excitement appears to be building for this age of sail-themed MMORPG. The latest early look comes from Gamecloud:

    We were shown and got to play the two main aspects of the game during PAX. One of them is your chosen character (which can be either male or female with a lot of customisation planned) walking around one of the game's island towns. These towns are where you can get various missions from the NPCs. While it won't be in the first public release of Pirates Of The Burning Sea we were told that plans are to give your avatars more to do in town in later releases, including sword combat with other characters and players.

    Then we got to play the other major aspect of the title; sailing ship travel and combat. You will start out with a small ship at first and then as you move onto various missions you can gain loot and have access to buy and/or board and steal other bigger ships. You can even have acccess to AI driven escort ships in higher levels of the game. And yes Player vs Player features are planned. During our PAX demo we got a lesson in the game's ship sailing and combat. Combat is handled in real time and having the biggest ship with the most guns is, as we soon found out, not a lock on winning battles.

    The rest of the Gamecloud Pirates of the Burning Sea preview right here, buddy.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • A busy day in Auto Assault...

    NetDevil's newest "prologue" feature on the Auto Assault site comes in the from of an fragmented event log from "Day 189."

    I appreciate the art involved, but these logs gives me a headache. Parsing through these things brings back bad memories of long nights in Tijuana involving lots of tequila, nightmarish fletching sessions in EQLive, an female NPC named Aryclauwynn, and... well, you know too much already!

    02.28.22 Disturbance reported at Enhancement Facility 5.
    02.42.41 Second disturbance reported at Enhancement Facility 5 (Designated: PEC5). Camp Security Terminator Detachment A/11/51 to investigate.
    02.43.10 Mastermind Agrellex Minor posits that if the disturbance is similar to disturbances on 188.02.55.10, 187.01.23.09 and 186.01.45.21 this would account for normal Pike behavior.
    02.43.15 CSTD cautioned.
    02.43.55 Consensus taken by Agrellex, Cantor, and Optimus order use of force to stop disruptive Pike behavior in PEC5.

    08.00.85 Viewer visits the Auto Assault "Recon: Chapter 7" page.
    08.00.86 Ethec moves on to the next news piece.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
  • SWG producer Grant McDaniel brought back gamers' questions from Leipzig on the upcoming "Trials of Obi-Wan" expansion.

    He won't be confronting sticky issues like why the Death Star had to circle Yavin to blow up its 4th moon. Dood, it blows up planets, and if Yavin is a gas giant, couldn't the DS just fire through it to bring enough widespread destruction on Yavin 4 to undermine the rebel cause. Don't get me started! Nothing like good Hollywood, though.

    1. Is this a Jedi expansion?
    Absolutely not. This expansion has content and adventures for all types of Star Wars Galaxies players.
    2. I'm not a Jedi...so is there any reason for me to obtain the Trials of Obi-Wan Expansion?
    Of course. All players will be able to converse with Obi-Wan and help him on his quests. Additionally, there will be many other quests as well as other reasons to explore the planet of Mustafar. And, the planet itself is so completely unique when compared to the rest of the planets in our game, that I think many people will just enjoy exploring and adventuring anywhere they can. (A lot more than Anakin!)
    3. Trials of Obi-Wan: Will there be a new playable species? How about new NPC species?
    We did not add any new playable species. However, Mustafar is home to two new native NPC species that you will find in the expansion (more on them later).

    More Q&A from Lucas Arts on the Trials of Obi-Wan: Star Wars Galaxies expansion here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
  • Neither pot, nor BS... it's a pirate & privateer MMOG!

    Idle Thumbs probes (heh) the upcoming Flying Labs title "Pirates of the Burning Sea." Their expert twiddlers came back from PAX with some positive impressions.

    Because combat is between large ships rather than light mobile units, the pace of battles is much slower than normal. Reloading a cannon takes time, and sailing ships definitely do not turn on a dime. The pacing means that battles have plenty of time for planning strategy. You're perfectly welcome to try to fire our port cannons, then come about for a shot from the starboard, but while you're turning you also expose yourself for a broadside shot from another enemy ship. It is, in fact, one of the very few games I've seen where the physical shape of your combat unit comes into play during the battle. Larger ships present more surface area to hit, but are also better armed and better armored. Light ships are hard to hit, but lack the stronger firepower.

    See what all the pirate's parrots are squawking about: take a look at the Idle Thumbs preview of Pirates of the Burning Sea!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
  • Yugos with Flamethrowers

    Gamer girl entertainment mag KillerBetties.com previews Auto Assault, the sci-fi action MMO with a vehicular destruction flair. No mention is made anywhere about what made these Betties resort to violence in the first place.

    I also learned that it's possible (not to mention fun!) to plunge headfirst off a cliff without sustaining damage (or, at least, I didn't take any damage). My car landed upside-down, but righted itself after a second or so. While the car was cumbersome to maneuver at first, once I got the hang of it I could do nifty little tricks like 360's and sliding stops. It's rather fun to come skidding up to an NPC sideways. It would be even more fun if the NPCs reacted by jumping back in alarm or scolding drivers for their antics, but alas, they just stand there.

    Take a look at the newest Auto Assault preview, and get some bonus new screenshots with your click.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 31, 2005
    Ethec
  • I have to put "Huxley" in quotes...
    For some reason it conjures up images of "The Cosby Show" rather than the fast paced Massively Multiplayer first-person-shooter due out in Q3 2006 that it is. If all goes as planned, "Huxley" might just be a perfect storm of FPS and RPG elements, set inside perhaps the most dynamic environment we've seen. Though, of course, we haven't seen Auto Assault yet!

    " The game itself takes place in a massive world that is always changing and evolving. Right now, there are two massive cities that allow players of the two races to communicate and socialize with each other in a camp-like area before going into battle. Once in battle, Huxley will feature both player-vs.-player and player-vs.-non-player character fights that have the high intensity of other online FPS, but they will also feature RPG elements that will provide for a rich gaming experience. That is one of the key areas that WEBZEN wanted to address. Instead of just doing a FPS on a larger scale, they wanted to combine the fast-paced action of an online FPS with the interactions of an RPG. This mixture of gameplay genres makes for a very satisfying and deep experience. Everything a player does in Huxley not only has an effect on himself (or herself), but also on his/her group, the race, and the world itself. The interactions of the players are linked to the survival of their entire race. "

    More fun than a Puddin' Pop: the "Huxley" preview at Worthplaying!

    Features, Previews
    Sun, Aug 28, 2005
    Ethec
  • Gamer Girlies Walk Us Through Their AA Experience
    For a bare-bones, no-acronym approach to what AA is all about, check out Game-Vixens AA preview (**Sort-of Pseudo Disclaimer: Ethec by no means wishes to say that girls can't use acronyms or write complex reviews, and he wishes to thank Game-Vixen for writing a review for simpletons like him... aaagh don't hurt me, please! ::curls into a ball::)

    "Auto Assault is set in a futuristic world contaminated by radiation released when humans attempted to wipe the surface clean in order to rid themselves of alien invaders. Only after resurfacing from hundreds of years living underground did they realize what a mistake they had made. This radiation created mutated forms of all life including a portion of humanity who are now called mutants. There were other humans who adapted to this contamination by fusing nano technology and flesh together; these humanoids are known as biomeks."

    More from the Auto Assault preview at Game-vixens.com!

    Features, Previews
    Sun, Aug 28, 2005
    Ethec
  • If the name means "blank slate," you know it has to have a good backstory!Actually, we know it has an immersive storyline because Richard "the father of MMOGs" Garriott is involved! Since TR is still a long ways out, this preview focuses on what Destination Games / NC Soft developers are concentrating on: namely a pure PvE, soloer-friendly, story-stuffed sci-fi high-octane MMOG with an accent on open-ended, class role-defying gameplay (whoa, there's a lot of adjectives there!).

    "With Tabula Rasa, Destination Games is trying to do something a little bit different with the genre, taking certain elements from the first person shooter, and fusing them with role-playing. This isn’t to say that the game is going to be highly twitch-oriented, where dexterity rules the roost, as this simply isn’t the case. The game will still be focused on stats and character advancement like one would expect to find in an RPG, but the developers want to find a way to include some of the visceral, psychological elements of the FPS to include in the game. By doing this, they hope to provide a more intense, fast-paced experience for players."

    Sit back and enjoy Armchair Empire's Tabula Rasa preview!

    Features, Previews
    Sat, Aug 27, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net