Previews

  • The little known NKGN (North Korea Goes Nuclear) factor in modern MMOG development...

    What's it like to enter the big-time MMOG industry as a small independent developer? How will a vehicle-based futuristic game fair in a genre primarily geared to the wonts of fantasy fans? Will Kim Jong Il influence AA's development? How many cuss words will a dev have to have visi-bleeped in a formal interview?

    Answers to these burning questions and more in a candid interview with Design Director Ryan Seabury at UK's Prodigious Gaming website:

    Pro-G: Was there ever a point where you felt you had undertaken a job that was slightly beyond you?

    Ryan: NetDevil has a pretty can-do attitude - obvious by the hours that we work. We bend over backwards to do what we say we're going to do. There's always uncertainty as an independent developer. Until you have a consistent revenue stream coming in from some hit game, or at least a couple of OK games, it's pretty scary, because all of our money is coming in from one publisher at this point. JumpGate is still active but it's not by any means a commercial success.

    North Korea could just blow the sh*t out of Seoul someday which would destabilise NCsoft because they're a Korean company. We think about those things. We have to. That would destroy their cash flow and then our project's gone all of a sudden. Those are the kinds of things that have to enter your mind as part of the cognitive process for an independent developer.

    I don't know if there's ever been any 'oh sh*t' moments. There's never been a point when we were like, 'man this sucks, like what have we been doing?'

    Ryan recounts more indy-dev highs and lows here!

    Features, Previews
    Sat, Aug 06, 2005
    Ethec
  • FFXI + XBox 360 = Mutant MMOG.
    Computer and Video Games has posted a preview of Final Fantasy XI on the XBox 360. Coming soon to every platform even remotely near you:

    "Xbox 360 Final Fantasy XI is unique. When the game arrives, you will play alongside people that have been living, breathing and attempting to breed in its online world for three years. This is thanks to the Xbox 360 game being compatible with the PlayStation 2 and PC versions of the huge role-play epic. It's going to be like walking into a small village pub where everyone knows each other. You'll be the weird outsider wearing the pink T-shirt and yellow wristband that's going to worry about getting beaten up on the way home."

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy XI for XBox 360 Preview at CVG.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Ferraris with Flame Throwers.
    Gamebiz has posted a preview of Auto Assault. Where every mutant knows your name:

    "Auto Assault is a massively multiplayer game where you explore a post-apocalyptic world in customized cars, motorcycles, and semis. Humans, mutants, and biomeks battle each other for control of the world, using tricked out vehicles as their primary weapons."

    You can read the Auto Assault Preview at Gamebiz.
    The #1 Auto Assault Information site on the Interweb is.....AutoAssault.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Free MMOG Updates
    ArenaNet has posted new Guild Wars game update notes. It's been a few weeks since the last update notes and the players were getting restless for information:

    "Because it has been a few weeks since we've posted a major update, we wanted to let everyone know what's in the works. Typically, a few weeks is a short amount of time in the development cycle of a game, but we know there are many people who play Guild Wars with such dedication and intensity that a few weeks without an update seems more like an eternity. Here's what's on the way..."

    You can read the Guild Wars Game Update Notes at The Official Site.
    More Guild Wars information than Planter's has peanuts at GuildWars.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Out there, you really won't want to stop for directions.
    Another news snippet from the folks at NCSoft / NetDevil teaches us how not to lose our way in the Wasteland. AA's map system looks a little different than the "fogged-or-full map" approach that we all love and hate:

    "The Central Wastelands is a very dangerous place to get lost. Hundreds of square miles are filled with Contaminated ecology, teeming with all sorts of dangerous creatures... Thankfully enough, all drivers are equipped with an interactive global map system, which is provided to the three races as a part of INC's services. These aren't full maps in the sense that one can see everything that is out there – while the general locations of areas and sectors of interest are shown, detailed maps are only available for the terrain surrounding the regions drivers have already visited."

    Learn more about post-apocolyptic travel here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Ethec
  • Foolish Biomek, You Shall Not Ensconce My Pinto in Flames!
    Auto Assault begins its series of beta diaries: "Transmissions from the Central Wasteland." Real stories from real people just like you and me, except that they're driving around trying to blow each other up.

    "Don't you listen to those that talk about the "lost technology" of the Old World , young Mutant. We Shamans know that the only tech that's lost is what we haven't gone out and dug out of the wastelands yet. No, we won't be needing a shovel. I'll show you how to get what you need to fix this heap with just a Vindicator, some fancy driving, and an unwitting pack o' Scavs. Hop in!"

    Read other peoples' (beta) diaries here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Ethec
  • Finally, we'll see it on XBox 360. Finally.
    Game Informer has an interview with Hiromichi Tanaka discussing Final Fantasy XI on the XBox 360. Going into my local EBGames store and asking for Final Fantasy XI (I pronounced it Final Fantasy Zi) over and over was fun yesterday. Small joys:

    "As part of our Japan Extravaganza V 1.0, we talked to Hiroichi Tanaka, senior vice president of software development at Square Enix, about Final Fantasy XI for the Xbox 360. Find out why we should buy the game all over again, what’s new with the Xbox 360 version, and how FFXI is going to accomplish something that’s never been done before in the history of video games."

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy Preview at Game Informer.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Oh Tanaka, we stand on guard for thee...
    1UP has an interview with Hiromichi Tanaka on the future of Final Fantasy XI. Strangely a game with Final in the name has a future, go figure:

    "At Square's recent Square Enix Party 2005 event in Tokyo this past weekend, 1UP had the pleasure of sitting down with Final Fantasy XI producer Hiromichi Tanaka to ask him about the popular MMO's most recent patch update, as well as the game's future on Xbox 360. While Tanaka and his team worked the crowd with team-based competitions for members of the audience, they also had a working Xbox 360 on display, running Final Fantasy XI. There wasn't much happening on the widescreen TV showcasing the 360 version, but the textures were exceptionally detailed, and the characters benefited from a richer color palette (as opposed to the occasionally washed-out look on the PC and PS2 versions) and enhanced lighting effects, which resulted in high-contrast shadows for a more solid look than ever before. We have a handful of new 360 screenshots for you to examine for yourself, but before you do, take a look at what Tanaka-san had to say about FFXI's current state of affairs."

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy XI Preview at 1UP.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Fanguard - What Braid McQuaid wears at E3.
    Vanguard Crafters has posted a Vanguard preview based on conversations at the recent Sigil Online Games Fanguard. Fanguard, strong enough for a construction worker, but made for a game developer. :

    "Sigil is an amazing team with so much excitement about their product that they love talking about what they can. We tried to get more out of them but they were good about keeping things secret when need be!"

    You can read the entire Vanguard Preview at Vanguard Crafters.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • I have super powers, and I've decided to wear tights.
    IGN has posted a hands-on preview of City of Villains. Dr. Evil had this to say about the new City game:

    "One of the nice things about this latest incarnation of character creation are the amount of sliders available to players. Now heads can be adjusted in quite a few ways along with the body. Wide or narrow shoulders, hips, waist, can make two villains look pretty different along with the sallow or bulky chest, long or short legs, and basic physique. Villains can also be about a foot taller than heroes at this point as well ranging up to 8' for some gargantuan sized baddies. Even better is that all of these slides can be used now within the costume creator so it's easy to see immediately what the costume will look like on a different sized body."

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 03, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net