Archive

Previews

  • More Guild Wars Goodness.
    ArenaNet has posted the latest Guild Wars update notes on the Official Site. Vin Diesel can play six Guild Wars characters at once and never lose an arena battle:

    "Update – Wednesday, August 10

    • Fixed a bug that was making some desert teleporters unresponsive.

       
    • Corrected flaw in Price of Failure skill that was causing missile attacks to miss their targets more than 25% of the time.

       
    • Corrected Hundred Blades skill to deal damage accurately; previously it was dealing only 75% of its intended damage.

       
    • Corrected Mind Freeze skill so that damage is dealt regardless of whether the caster's energy is lower than the target's energy.

       
    • Corrected flaw in Mist Form skill that was preventing it from reducing damage from elemental damage attacks.

       
    • Corrected "The Price of Steel" quest so that so that White Mantle always drop Ruined Armor for players on the quest.

       
    • Fixed a bug that was preventing the skill-swap dialog from disappearing after talking to Captain Greywind.

       
    • Fixed several rare client and server crash bugs."

    You can read the Guild Wars Update Notes at the Official Site.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 11, 2005
    Boomjack
  • You take the high road and I'll take the low road and may the beasties be on the high road.
    RPGVault has posted the fourth preview in their Hero's Journey series. Vin Diesel, the original hero, had this to say about Hero's Journey and RPGVault's coverage specifically:

    "Three Simutronics team members join forces to inform us about Human settlements in their fantasy-themed project."

    You can read the entire Hero's Journey Preview at RPGVault.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 11, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Issue #5 - 95 More Until The Cool 100.
    Gamespy has posted a preview of City of Heroes: Issue #5. Vin Diesel arrived for some City of Heroes villain arse kicking, but before he started he said:

    "The good news for everybody who still fights on the side of law and order is that NCSoft isn't resting on their heroic laurels when it comes to their incredibly fun superhero MMO. Since its release in April of 2004, the game has undergone a steady stream of large-scale content upgrades. Dubbed "issues" in honor of the game's comic book roots, these content upgrades have changed the world of Paragon City, adding limited Player vs. Player in the Arena, new Epic-level powers, the chance to play as the alien Kheldians, and, of course, capes. The latest upgrade prepping for release is "Issue 5 -- Forest of Dread.""

    You can read the entire City of Heroes: Issue #5 Preview at GameSpy.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 11, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Nine out of ten beta testers prefer Dark & Light!
    Dark and Light's official site now sports a testamonial from a beta tester, commenting on a recent build. Apparently this MMORPG is going to have more GM involvement in the way of lots of intelligently controlled quests and events. We won't hold our breath, but it is a cool idea.

    "The most exiting part though is the events that AD does with us. A recent one I participated in started for a dieing man calling for a long lost love, and ended with us bringing her back from the dead to see him. Little events like this happen throughout the tests with AD controlling the characters. Big ones that involve all the beta testers in big battles have happened too. Another one I recently did had several Darkies trying to cheat a man (A character played by a GM) out of his fortress, and almost succeeded until the lights came to rescue him. After a big battle the light ended victorious, but the man we were guarding didn’t. Poor Dotarius."

    Read the rest of this beta tester's testamonial at Dark & Light's Official Site.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 10, 2005
    Ethec
  • Dwarves and Giants... Fair Fight or Dev Megalomania?

    The latest in a series detailing the various mobs you'll run into in DDO has hit the official site, this time recounting a duel between a few good-guy dwarves and a bad-guy Fire Giant. The only other story we could find about a dwarf and a giant involved Bridget the Midget, and parents will want to prevent their kids from google-ing that one!

    Note that you'll need to register for full official forums access to get the full article (it's free!), but here's a teaser:

    Watching a dwarf fight a giant is an interesting sight - the dwarves are trained to combat larger foes and dodge about the blows of their larger cousins with surprising ease. Zarn brought his greataxe down, sundering the giant's armor, giving Khovis the opportunity to deal a grievous blow to his opponent with his holy warhammer.

    Meet a Fire Giant here!

    Features, Previews
    Sat, Aug 06, 2005
    Ethec
  • The Space Shuttle isn't the only thing getting a bird's eye view of Irth...

    Magic Hat Software's "Irth Online" gets an honest look from MMORPG.com. With the planned release less than 10 days away, it looks like Magic Hat might need to pull some magic out of their... hat (sorry).

    "Combat procedure is pretty standard for an MMO, with a few good original tweaks — and a few bad ones. For instance, whenever the player is hit their screen flashes red. This effect is pretty cool as long as you are not hit very often, but if you have two or three monsters attacking you it becomes a real eyesore. One solution to this (and to the loss of hit points in general) is to use spells such as Nuke or Divine Touch to kite monsters. Cast a spell on your target, turn around and run a bit, then turn and cast another spell. Most of the monsters in the game are your speed or a tiny bit slower."

    Find out what else this alternate-reality MMOG (set roughly in medieval times) has to offer you here!

    Features, Previews
    Sat, Aug 06, 2005
    Ethec
  • The little known NKGN (North Korea Goes Nuclear) factor in modern MMOG development...

    What's it like to enter the big-time MMOG industry as a small independent developer? How will a vehicle-based futuristic game fair in a genre primarily geared to the wonts of fantasy fans? Will Kim Jong Il influence AA's development? How many cuss words will a dev have to have visi-bleeped in a formal interview?

    Answers to these burning questions and more in a candid interview with Design Director Ryan Seabury at UK's Prodigious Gaming website:

    Pro-G: Was there ever a point where you felt you had undertaken a job that was slightly beyond you?

    Ryan: NetDevil has a pretty can-do attitude - obvious by the hours that we work. We bend over backwards to do what we say we're going to do. There's always uncertainty as an independent developer. Until you have a consistent revenue stream coming in from some hit game, or at least a couple of OK games, it's pretty scary, because all of our money is coming in from one publisher at this point. JumpGate is still active but it's not by any means a commercial success.

    North Korea could just blow the sh*t out of Seoul someday which would destabilise NCsoft because they're a Korean company. We think about those things. We have to. That would destroy their cash flow and then our project's gone all of a sudden. Those are the kinds of things that have to enter your mind as part of the cognitive process for an independent developer.

    I don't know if there's ever been any 'oh sh*t' moments. There's never been a point when we were like, 'man this sucks, like what have we been doing?'

    Ryan recounts more indy-dev highs and lows here!

    Features, Previews
    Sat, Aug 06, 2005
    Ethec
  • FFXI + XBox 360 = Mutant MMOG.
    Computer and Video Games has posted a preview of Final Fantasy XI on the XBox 360. Coming soon to every platform even remotely near you:

    "Xbox 360 Final Fantasy XI is unique. When the game arrives, you will play alongside people that have been living, breathing and attempting to breed in its online world for three years. This is thanks to the Xbox 360 game being compatible with the PlayStation 2 and PC versions of the huge role-play epic. It's going to be like walking into a small village pub where everyone knows each other. You'll be the weird outsider wearing the pink T-shirt and yellow wristband that's going to worry about getting beaten up on the way home."

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy XI for XBox 360 Preview at CVG.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Ferraris with Flame Throwers.
    Gamebiz has posted a preview of Auto Assault. Where every mutant knows your name:

    "Auto Assault is a massively multiplayer game where you explore a post-apocalyptic world in customized cars, motorcycles, and semis. Humans, mutants, and biomeks battle each other for control of the world, using tricked out vehicles as their primary weapons."

    You can read the Auto Assault Preview at Gamebiz.
    The #1 Auto Assault Information site on the Interweb is.....AutoAssault.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Free MMOG Updates
    ArenaNet has posted new Guild Wars game update notes. It's been a few weeks since the last update notes and the players were getting restless for information:

    "Because it has been a few weeks since we've posted a major update, we wanted to let everyone know what's in the works. Typically, a few weeks is a short amount of time in the development cycle of a game, but we know there are many people who play Guild Wars with such dedication and intensity that a few weeks without an update seems more like an eternity. Here's what's on the way..."

    You can read the Guild Wars Game Update Notes at The Official Site.
    More Guild Wars information than Planter's has peanuts at GuildWars.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net