Archive

Previews

  • Out there, you really won't want to stop for directions.
    Another news snippet from the folks at NCSoft / NetDevil teaches us how not to lose our way in the Wasteland. AA's map system looks a little different than the "fogged-or-full map" approach that we all love and hate:

    "The Central Wastelands is a very dangerous place to get lost. Hundreds of square miles are filled with Contaminated ecology, teeming with all sorts of dangerous creatures... Thankfully enough, all drivers are equipped with an interactive global map system, which is provided to the three races as a part of INC's services. These aren't full maps in the sense that one can see everything that is out there – while the general locations of areas and sectors of interest are shown, detailed maps are only available for the terrain surrounding the regions drivers have already visited."

    Learn more about post-apocolyptic travel here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Ethec
  • Foolish Biomek, You Shall Not Ensconce My Pinto in Flames!
    Auto Assault begins its series of beta diaries: "Transmissions from the Central Wasteland." Real stories from real people just like you and me, except that they're driving around trying to blow each other up.

    "Don't you listen to those that talk about the "lost technology" of the Old World , young Mutant. We Shamans know that the only tech that's lost is what we haven't gone out and dug out of the wastelands yet. No, we won't be needing a shovel. I'll show you how to get what you need to fix this heap with just a Vindicator, some fancy driving, and an unwitting pack o' Scavs. Hop in!"

    Read other peoples' (beta) diaries here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Ethec
  • Finally, we'll see it on XBox 360. Finally.
    Game Informer has an interview with Hiromichi Tanaka discussing Final Fantasy XI on the XBox 360. Going into my local EBGames store and asking for Final Fantasy XI (I pronounced it Final Fantasy Zi) over and over was fun yesterday. Small joys:

    "As part of our Japan Extravaganza V 1.0, we talked to Hiroichi Tanaka, senior vice president of software development at Square Enix, about Final Fantasy XI for the Xbox 360. Find out why we should buy the game all over again, what’s new with the Xbox 360 version, and how FFXI is going to accomplish something that’s never been done before in the history of video games."

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy Preview at Game Informer.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Oh Tanaka, we stand on guard for thee...
    1UP has an interview with Hiromichi Tanaka on the future of Final Fantasy XI. Strangely a game with Final in the name has a future, go figure:

    "At Square's recent Square Enix Party 2005 event in Tokyo this past weekend, 1UP had the pleasure of sitting down with Final Fantasy XI producer Hiromichi Tanaka to ask him about the popular MMO's most recent patch update, as well as the game's future on Xbox 360. While Tanaka and his team worked the crowd with team-based competitions for members of the audience, they also had a working Xbox 360 on display, running Final Fantasy XI. There wasn't much happening on the widescreen TV showcasing the 360 version, but the textures were exceptionally detailed, and the characters benefited from a richer color palette (as opposed to the occasionally washed-out look on the PC and PS2 versions) and enhanced lighting effects, which resulted in high-contrast shadows for a more solid look than ever before. We have a handful of new 360 screenshots for you to examine for yourself, but before you do, take a look at what Tanaka-san had to say about FFXI's current state of affairs."

    You can read the entire Final Fantasy XI Preview at 1UP.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Fanguard - What Braid McQuaid wears at E3.
    Vanguard Crafters has posted a Vanguard preview based on conversations at the recent Sigil Online Games Fanguard. Fanguard, strong enough for a construction worker, but made for a game developer. :

    "Sigil is an amazing team with so much excitement about their product that they love talking about what they can. We tried to get more out of them but they were good about keeping things secret when need be!"

    You can read the entire Vanguard Preview at Vanguard Crafters.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • I have super powers, and I've decided to wear tights.
    IGN has posted a hands-on preview of City of Villains. Dr. Evil had this to say about the new City game:

    "One of the nice things about this latest incarnation of character creation are the amount of sliders available to players. Now heads can be adjusted in quite a few ways along with the body. Wide or narrow shoulders, hips, waist, can make two villains look pretty different along with the sallow or bulky chest, long or short legs, and basic physique. Villains can also be about a foot taller than heroes at this point as well ranging up to 8' for some gargantuan sized baddies. Even better is that all of these slides can be used now within the costume creator so it's easy to see immediately what the costume will look like on a different sized body."

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 03, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Why is is spelled "Bestiary" when it's all about beasts?
    The Dark and Light team have posted Bestiary #11. Neither the Kratz Brothers or that crazy Australian guy that says "Crikey" all the time were available for comment, but we did find this:

    "Tyrial was moaning as he reached up towards Khanid, but suddenly stopped and was silenced, eyes wide open..."

    You can read the entire Dark and Light Bestiary #11 at the Official Site.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 02, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Dance Party Bree!
    Turbine has released an MP3 to be used in-game for the Prancing Pony. You know, the one in Bree just east of the Chetwood Forest. Okay, so I spent hours of my socially-ostracized youth studying the Tolkien maps, what's it to ya? :)

    " Download Prancing_Pony.mp3 to hear in-game music from LOTRO! "

    Link to the download on the LotRO front page!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 29, 2005
    Ethec
  • Lower your dice. We have you covered.
    GameDaily has posted a preview of Dungeons and Dragons Online. Dice fell silent in basements across the nation as they read the following:

    "D&D Online is aiming to bring the traditional nerd-fabulous pen and paper experience to the Internet age. We take a close look."

    You can read the entire Dungeons and Dragons Online Preview at GameDaily.
    Our own Dungeons and Dragons Online community is getting rolling at DDO.TenTonHammer.com

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jul 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Super Villain seeks waterfront home.
    GameDaily has posted a preview of City of Villains based on their viewing at Comic-Con. They wore tights and a cape, but that didn't keep them from writing this:

    "You've been good, now it's time to be bad. After gandering the latest on City of Villains at Comic-Con, we've got some more tidbits to report."

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at GameDaily.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jul 28, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net