Archive

Previews

  • Let me tell you the story of a man named Xandeluth, a poor mountaineer couldn't keep the Suwari fed...
    RPGVault has a preview of Hero's Journey posted. A Suwari, not to be confused with a Swahili once might have said something like this:

    "When I began conceptualizing a look for the Suwari, I had in mind the quintessential rogue - a race that could be sly and lithe as easily as it could be nonchalant, haughty, or even a little exotic. It seemed almost natural, then, to draw inspiration from the feline mien in crafting these characters.



    Having an admiration for the athletic ability inherent to the feline family, and having found much enjoyment in watching the seemingly effortless acrobatic feats performed by my own cats, I opted to design the Suwari with the leaner, more agile frames of the genus Felis cats rather than with the large-boned muscular bulk of the genus Panthera "big cats." As a result, the Suwari are somewhat diminutive in comparison to some of the other races in Hero's Journey, but when animated, this design allows for a sort of fluid strength, a natural spryness, and grace of movement. These aren't intimidating towers of muscle, but fleet-footed gymnasts."

    You can read the entire Hero's Journey Preview at RPGVault.
     

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • When In Doubt, Hazard Out.
    GameSpot has posted an Auto Assault Preview focused on Hazard Mode. While taking the road less travelled we figured, why not turn into a giant ground smashing mech when some weenie said:

    "While biomeks can turn their cars into giant robots (which tend to wreak havoc in the game's almost completely destructible environments), the humans have a very different hazard mode. The humans of Auto Assault have apparently spent many years underground in fear of nuclear fallout, and they've spent the time researching, among other things, a high-tech energy-shield technology that comes to the fore in hazard mode. The humans' hazard mode creates an inversion shield that makes the vehicle impervious to damage and also zaps nearby enemies with electromagnetic pulses, causing them to slow down. In hazard mode, humans can also call down satellite strikes to their location and redirect the blast to nearby targets, which also causes devastating results."

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Preview at GameSpot.
    Looks cool doesn't it? Hit the #1 Auto Assault Site on the entire Interweb.
     

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jul 14, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Notice how there is never a "Blow In", but a lot of Blow outs?
    IGN has posted an EverQuest 2 "Blowout". A Ratonga once wrote:

    "For better or worse, many people think of EverQuest II as a game that World of Warcraft is not. There was a lot of anticipation leading up to Blizzard's first MMO, while EQ2 was another EverQuest. So while the original enjoyed a long, successful run (and is still going strong as I write this), EQ2's home invasion was blunted by a surprisingly good competitor, which was followed up by Guild Wars, which is also selling pretty well. Since launch, however, the EQ2 team has been soldiering mightily to add content on a regular basis and implement an update every couple weeks, a level of support that Blizzard does not seem to have met, despite initial promises. While WoW could arguably be the better game, it might not stay that way for long, judging by how large a head of steam the Sony folks have developed."

    You can read the entire EverQuest 2 Blowout at IGN.
    The #1 EverQuest 2 site on the Interweb is so close you can feel it. Visit our own EQ2 community site.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jul 13, 2005
    Boomjack
  • How long until somebody calls it Dessert of Flames?
    GameSpot has posted a preview of the next EverQuest 2 expansion, Desert of Flames. A guy dressed as Elvis came up to me in Vegas, but he didn't say this:

    "Earlier today, during a meeting with Sony Online Entertainment, we got our first good look at EverQuest II: Desert of Flames. Currently scheduled for release on September 12, Desert of Flames is the first full-fledged expansion pack for EverQuest II, which has attracted more than 300,000 players since it launched in November of last year."

    You can read the entire EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames Preview at GameSpot.
    If you love EverQuest 2, then you will love our EQ2 community site. We have more information and more guides than any other site on the Interweb. Go have a look-see for yourself.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jul 13, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Ladies and gentleman, start your criticism...
    Gamespy has posted crafting, races, classes, landscapes,
    and video previews of Auto Assault.  Just before their biomek
    content editors' minds went into overload with catastrophic results,
    they posted this:

    "We kick the tires, look under the hood, fiddle with the
    radio dial, and
    get behind the wheel of "The fastest MMORPG" to take the game for an
    exclusive unrestricted test drive."

    Go browse the entire Gamespy Preview,
    then drive yourself on over to the TTH Auto Assault site.

    Features, Previews
    Sun, Jul 10, 2005
    Ethec
  • An Earth shattering Kaboom!
    RPGVault has their version of the Auto Assault Roadhouse #3 session posted. They unloaded a round into the nearest building and then probably wrote something like this:

    "Our latest long-distance get-together focuses on the item system in NetDevil's project plus the thinking behind it."

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Preview at RPGVault.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jul 06, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Crafting and Gadgets and Cannons, oh my!
    GameSpy has posted another Auto Assault Preview. The focus this time is on crafting. A Human told a Biomek who told a Mutant that they might have written this:

    "There's a whole lot of really valuable junk out there, and the Auto Assault crafting system is how you're gonna get your hands on it!"

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Preview at GameSpy.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jul 06, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Detroit Red Wings, nah...it's the year of the Black Wing.
    WoW Guru has posted a preview of Blackwing Lair for World of Warcraft fans to drool over. A little bird with black wings told us that they wrote this:

    "Below is a preview of some items as well as the layout of the new Blackwing Lair. The content has not yet been released and could be changed before it is."

    You can read the entire Blackwing Lair Preview at WoW Guru.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jul 06, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Greasy food and mechanical bulls.
    MMORPG.com has posted their look at the Auto Assault Roadhouse #2 session. We are certain that two pounds of chicken wings may not have been ordered while writing this:

    "For the last two Fridays I’ve had the pleasure of joining NCSoft’s Richard Iggo (Auto Assault Product Marketing Manager), Richard Weil (OCR Manager), Steven Snow (Auto Assault Producer), Todd Keister (Auto Assault Assistant Producer) and NetDevil’s Ryan Seabury (Design Director), and Brian Booker (Lead System Designer) for the first two of four teleconferences about their upcoming game Auto Assault. Both conferences have been fun and enlightening and I have enjoyed learning more about the game and the genre. This last Friday our focus was on skills, which may sound like a very narrow topic, but for a game as diverse and complicated as Auto Assault … let’s just say we ran over."

    RPGVault also gives us their take on the vehicular mayhem. It's a given, though not for sure that they fell off the mechanical bull just before writing:

    "As reported a week ago, NetDevil and NCsoft have started a series of telephone sessions designed to focus on a particular aspect of the game at a time. Carrying forward from the first one, which looked at various aspects of a character creation and advancement, the topic for last Friday was skills. It wasn't always possible to discern who was speaking at any given moment, but it did seem that the three participants representing the developer, Technical Director Scott Brown, Design Director Ryan Seabury and Lead System Designer Brian Booker, did most of the talking and answering, with intermittent help from a few team members on the publisher side."

    Of course, we have our own coverage as well.
    You can read the entire Auto Assault Roadhouse #2 Session Coverage at TenTonHammer.com, MMORPG.com and RPGVault.com
    For even more Auto Assault information stop by: AutoAssault.TenTonHammer.com

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Jun 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Bar fights and mechanical bulls.
    Our coverage of the Auto Assault Roadhouse #2 session is now online. It is not likely that Patrick Swayze wrote this:

    "Even after the Patrick Swayze joke and having apparently read my first article the folks at NCSoft invited me back for round #2 of the Auto Assault Roadhouse Sessions. Skills were the advertised special of the day and the skill system smorgasbord drew quite a crowd..."

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Roadhouse 2 session coverage at AutoAssault.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jun 27, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net