Archive

Previews

  • Hobbits kicking rump and taking names. GamersInfo shares their impression of Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar as seen at E3.
    We're almost positive that they said this:

    "Turbine is looking to release several titles in this series, with the first being set during the period of The Fellowship of the Ring, within the geographical boundaries of Eriador (roughly, the area between the Hobbit's Shire and the Misty Mountains). At E3, I watched a demo of the game, and spoke to Turbine's Harry Teasley, a Senior Artist on the project."

    Read the entire Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar Preview at GamersInfo.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, May 31, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's like Car Wars, on the Interweb.
    Worthplaying takes a look at Auto Assault. Almost, possibly, maybe, they wrote:

    "I must admit, Auto Assault was one of the coolest new games I saw at E3 this year. NCSoft's new action MMORPG is some pretty slick stuff. I also have to admit that I was surprised by the game, which was being touted as the "fastest, most destructive MMORPG" in advertisements, which automatically set off warning bells in my head from the moment I saw the first ad. Fortunately, it really does live up to the claims by combining some of the best elements of action games with a strong MMORPG backbone."

    View the entire Auto Assault Preview at Worthplaying.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 30, 2005
    Boomjack
  • I'm not a bad guy. I just play one in City of Villains. Cryptic Studios gave WorthPlaying a look into the world of City of Villains. It went something like this:

    "The first big difference between City of Heroes and City of Villains is the distinctive look of the villains. The character creation in City of Heroes was one of the best aspects of that game, and the developers of City of Villains wanted to keep that, but also to ensure that villains would be distinctive from heroes. With all the black, skulls, metal, and leather on the villains, I think the S&M crowd will be happy at the very least. Quite frankly, though, the villains look much better than the heroes ever did, mostly thanks to advancements in graphics technology between the two game which allows for reflections and refractions on pieces of armor and clothing."

    Read more of the City Villains Preview at WorthPlaying.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 30, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Big world. Big plans.Gamers Info took a look at Dark and Light, the title in development by Farlan Entertainment. Snippet incoming:

    "In Dark and Light you aren't confined to the usual hack-and-slash methods to progress through the game. You have two experience bars: social and combat, and your social EXP can matter just as much as your combat EXP. Social EXP affects/is affected by trade skills and
    politics, and can also grant helpful combat abilities such as commands or skills for special situations. Both social and combat EXP can help you gain a title in Dark and Light: cities and forts can be taken over by guile and intellect, by a public vote, by sieging a fortress, or by cutting off its supply line."

    All this and mroe if you read the entire article.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 30, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Another look at Romans in space. E3 previews continue from Gamers Info. Imperator, the MMOG being developed by Mythic Entertainment is the title of choice today. As always, a snippet from the article:

    "Even though you are only a cadet, belonging to the Academy has plenty of benefits. Only the best and brightest can attend the Academy, and upon graduation you will become a member of the Viritori, the ruling class of the Roman Republic. So, when you show up on Terra Nova and the local guard is freaking out, they turn to you for guidance. You are welcomed with open arms because they expect you to save the day."

    Yearning for more read the entire article.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 30, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Blowing things up real good. RPGVault got a look at Auto Assault, the vehicular MMORPG being developed by NetDevil. Here is brief snippet from the article:"Currently in closed beta, Auto Assault is projected to ship in the second half of this year. Developer NetDevil and publisher NCsoft had it on display in the latter's sizable booth, and were also showing it in a suite where small groups of invited guests were able to sit in on 15-minute presentations by various members of the team." The five paragraph article can be read here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, May 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Rome with a fun factor. MMORPG.com took some time to check out Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising being developed by Perpetual Entertainment. Here is brief snippet from the article: "In the weeks leading up to E3, we brought you a great deal of information and coverage on Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising, the debut MMORPG from Perpetual Entertainment and Steig Hedlund – the Lead Designer of Diablo II. Despite the scoop heading into the show, there was still a lot to be learned at the show. So, we sat down with the team at E3 and got a first hand look at the game in action. Gods and Heroes looks to be the real deal, and may well change the way we think about MMORPGs in the years to come." The two page article can be read here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, May 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A different approach to the MMORPG genre. Dana Massey of MMORPG.com gives us some impressions of Irth Online. Here is a brief snipped from the article:"Tucked into the Kentia Hall, we found Irth Online. This game, along with Dark & Light, aims to create a large world, and no instanced content, which flies in the face of most other games in development. Due to launch in July and be available via digital download, Magic Hat Software will face some stiff competition, but luckily launch generally alone for a good few months on either side." You can view the one page article right here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, May 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Hobbits and more Hobbits! Dana Massey is at it again for MMORPG.com, this time covering Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar. Here is brief snippet from the article:"Lord of the Rings Online – the holy grail franchise for RPG gamers all over the world is going massive and Turbine Entertainment showed it off for the first time since the name change (from Middle Earth Online) at E3 2005. The focus was squarely on D&D Online, which we previewed yesterday, but from what we saw of Lord of the Rings Online it looks like it will be the flagship product for Turbine once it launches in 2006. Visually, thematically, and what little game play we did learn all left this game poised to pounce as a potential game of the show candidate in one year’s time." The one page article can be read here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, May 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Romans in space.Tim Cotten of Stratics serves up a one page look at the upcoming title from Mythic Entertainment, Imperator. Here is brief snippet from the article:"Imperator promises a rich and varied world in which you are more than just a soldier struggling to survive: you’re a member of the Roman Republic, proud, dignified, and wanted. Whether you’re new to MMORPGs or old hat, the potential is staggering, and the scope of your playability is almost unreal." The one page long article can be read here.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, May 26, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net