Archive

Reviews

  • IGN gives Auto Assault 7.5 out of 10

    Among the perceived low points was Auto Assault's handling of the class system:

    The character classes are functionally identical across all three factions. You get different descriptions and titles tailored to the style of the faction, but class behavior is different only so far as racial abilities are different. For example, the Biomek vehicles have more hitpoints, the Humans get small energy shields, and the Mutants have some regeneration. Now, I don't necessarily expect one faction to operate differently from another. But if a fighter class is a fighter class is a fighter class, I think the game should be honest about that.

    Now, far be it from me to argue (/cough) but in Auto Assault, there are significant differences between fighter classes. For one, the Biomek martial class (Terminators) are far more group oriented than Mutant Champions (which are more defensively-oriented), which are likewise different than Human Commandoes (whose focus is high damage output). Of course they look relatively similar in the early game, in the levels before their ability choices are fully fleshed out.

    Reviewers love to paint a game in broad strokes after only playing the low-end game and listening to the embittered, self-proclaimed "experts". I've written some lousy reviews in my day, but I've (hopefully) learned that it's irresponsible to write a review without having something like a full picture. Granted, MMOs are notoriously tough to get your hands around - there's little that's truly objective about the gameplay, which is why concrete (if unfair) little generalizations like "the classes are all the same" tend to flourish.

    But see for yourself if you agree. Check out the full review at IGN.

    Reviews
    Tue, May 02, 2006
    Ethec
  • Auto Assault gets a chron job

    Chron.com reviews Auto Assault. They love the core of the game; the vehicularly destructive dash around a post-apocalyptic world, but disliked the in-town "out of the car" perspective. Personally, after playing Eve Online and never seeing my little spaceman, I think it was better than nothing. What were we talking about? Oh, Dwight Odelus' opinions, sorry :)

    The game play is relatively straightforward on paper: drive fast, kill stuff.

    But in practice, it's a frenzy. Smash through a squad of enemies with flamethrowers, send a rocket up the tailpipe of a van spewing radioactive goo.

    This isn't the whole of the game, but it's easily the best part.

    Check out TheChron.com's review of Auto Assault.

    Reviews
    Tue, Apr 25, 2006
    Ethec
  • An Auto Assault test drive...

    GamersInfo.net weighs in on Auto Assault with a "first glimpse" of the MMO that's making our imaginations run wild during the morning commute to work.

    Is the game perfect? No. There are still bugs-a-plenty, including with NPCs and missions, but NetDevil is working hard on fixing them. The clan interface can still use some work, and NetDevil has already said they plan on adding in at least a mail system, and other tools to help player merchants sell their goods. There is housing in the game - which you get via a mission. The graphics in the "pedestrian" city are good, though the animations on the players is a bit stiff - but that's not the focus of the game. The missions, on the other hand, often have GREAT storylines and funny lines - it's great to read them a lot of the time. Some can be funny, others touching, while still others disturbing.

    Read Auto Assault first impressions at GamersInfo.net. And afterward, if you're still hankering for more AA opinion, check out our homegrown TenTonHammer First Glimpse / review of Auto Assault.

    Reviews
    Thu, Apr 20, 2006
    Ethec
  • TenTonHammer's "First Glimpse" at Auto Assault

    Vehicular destruction MMO Auto Assault hit retailers last week, and countless gamers running and gunning their way through a post-apocalyptic earth as you read this. But can "the fastest, most destructive MMORPG ever" live up to the hype?

    At least in the low level areas I've been motoring though, Auto Assault has the absolute, dyed-in-the-wool look and feel of a post-apocalyptic game world. Disconnected overpasses, half-collapsed highrises, mutated wildlife and malfunctioning robots run amok, even the rain seems laced with fallout, and if it looks remotely destructible, it is. Sure there's things that don't quite make sense, the brake lights o­n my lieutenant's Artemis M for o­ne- but if civilization collapsed, I wouldn't draw a bead pulling those fuses (unless it was a matter of survival). But in the Thunderdome-ish attitude of the day, life is cheap and showmanship is at least as important as survival. I could get into this.

    Our first impression? 4.8 out of 5 hammers! Why did we give Auto Assault such a high horsepower rating?

    Find out here: the TenTonHammer "First Glimpse" Review of Auto Assault.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 17, 2006
    Ethec
  • DDO - Stormreach: For the "truly casual gamer"?

    GamersInfo.net has published first month's impressions of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Cronus gave the game a pretty good shake, but mystified me with this comment:

    DDO is aimed at the truly casual gamer: the now 40something gamer, with a spouse, 2.5 kids, a dog, and only an hour or three a night to spare for gaming. Most of the quests in the game can be completed in a short amount of time, although there are a few ‘epic’ quests that can take 4 hours or more to get through.

    Granted, the quests are fairly short in duration. But any game that requires you to group will require you to spend a lot of time getting organized away from the action - not a very casual thing. Just my take! Read Cronus' at GemersInfo.net.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 10, 2006
    Ethec
  • RF Online gets a physical, courtesy of Boomtown.
    Iain Lowson of Boomtown took time away from stroking his cat to review RF Online.

    "Doc, the cat in question, likes me playing RF Online because she gets to sit on my lap and get stroked. This is because I have nothing better to do than stroke the cat when playing RF Online – the only game I’ve ever played where I died regularly because I kept forgetting I was playing. "

    You can read the entire RF Online Review at Boomtown.

    Reviews
    Wed, Apr 05, 2006
    Boomjack
  • From the land that "the" forgot, we bring you Kingdom of Sky.
    GameSpot strapped on their balsa wings, flapped their arms and entered Kingdom of Sky. While they were there they even reviewed the latest expansion to the EverQuest 2 universe.

    "The monsters that live at these altitudes take advantage of the new level range all the way to 70, so only the most advanced characters and groups can ply their skills here. For all the challenging creatures and quests awaiting you on the floating isles, though, it's still possible to take on monsters and other content solo, if you're careful about where and when you pick your fights. While adventuring in Norrath will likely always put an emphasis on group play (and raiding, to a certain extent), it's nice to see that you can still hoof around on your own without too much trouble. In addition to higher levels and better gear, the new achievement system helps make this a little easier, as well."

    You can read the entire review of EverQuest 2: Kingdom of Sky at GameSpot.

    Reviews
    Thu, Mar 23, 2006
    Boomjack
  • A New Hope?

    In a move dubbed NGE or "New Game Enhancements" SOE / LucasArts re-launched its ailing MMORPG Star Wars Galaxies (SWG) for the second time last November. Despite a wave of angry criticism from the alternately hopeful and disillusioned subscriber community, both licensor and licensee maintain that subscription numbers have steadily risen since the change.

    We tell the somber story of the MMORPG that was supposed to bring our brand of gaming into the mainstream two years ago, then lighten things up a bit with a review of the game as it stands today.

    When we arrived at the neutral station, the nastiest surprise was lag, lots of lag. My rig handles today's graphics-intensive games with ease, but for SWG I had to viciously scale back settings before the frame rate got above a barely playable 10 / sec. Even afterwards, the game seemed to move faster than it could load. The elevators jerk you down or up a level in a split-second (literally - they put the "hyper" in hyperlift), but you'll go tear-assing into the cantina (characters seem to move at something like 200% movement speed all the time) and you'll have to wait a few seconds for the NPCs to appear.

    After trying out several character models I've noticed an unsettling "slippery floor" quirk, resulting from the character's gait being unnaturally faster than the actual movement rate. Another painful tendancy: the dialog boxes which appear when you converse with NPCs actually move with their (sometimes spasmodic) gestures. When I talk to an NPC, I sometimes feel like I'm trying to shoot Bin Laden in one of those "Win a PS3!" banner ads.

    In the end, SWG received a doleful 2 out of 5 hammers. But have a look for yourself: the Star Wars Galaxies "New Game Enhancements" review at TenTonHammer!

    Reviews
    Fri, Feb 03, 2006
    Ethec
  • "A gentler type of MMO"
    MMORPGDot.com
    reports that GameZone
    has a review over a different type of MMO, R.O.S.E. Online:

    The name itself is a bit of a mystery, likely losing something in the translation.
    It supposedly stands for Rush On Seven Episodes, and what exactly that means
    … well, that might be something only the developers truly know.
    But shorten it to ROSE (or R.O.S.E.) Online and you get an image of a fragrant
    flower blossoming in the landscape of MMOs (massively multiplayer online games).
    Now that is an image that befits this title. ROSE has been billed as a much
    gentler game and that is apparent from the onset. The characters have that
    Japanese anime feel, but are lush and colorful – just like the environments.

    The game begins with picking an avatar and alignment. Then you venture off,
    as a Visitor, to the fairy in the newcomer area. Your first task involves
    learning the barter system (trading, buying and selling) as well as the combat
    system. You are out there killing jelly beans and bugs that look like caterpillars
    (called choropies) but don’t worry, the challenge soon ramps up and
    you will be, before long, killing flowers, pumpkins, bees, ant-like critters
    and then wolves that wear chef’s hats and carry carving knives. But
    at the start you are sort of like an anti-candy psycho gardener – which
    can be a good thing, especially in the context of this game.

    Sounds interesting to me...

    Reviews
    Wed, Dec 21, 2005
    LadySirse
  • Game Chronicles
    has a review of Ever Quest: Depths of Darkhollow by Megan Dyer. Thanks to
    MMORPGDot.com for finding
    this one:

    Sony’s EverQuest is one of the first and by far one of the most successful
    MMOs out there. With a deeply devoted fan base, EverQuest has been going strong
    for six years and ten expansions; the latest being, EverQuest:Depths of Darkhollow.


    With new areas to explore, improved graphics, and new missions and abilities,
    Depths of Darkhollow has a lot to offer its die hard fan base, and though
    EverQuest isn’t the most visible of MMOs out there today for the newer
    generation of gamers, there’s something in it for the newbies as well.

    Reviews
    Fri, Dec 16, 2005
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net