Archive

Reviews

  • We are men! We're men in tights, tight tights!
    MMORPG.com
    has a new review of City of Villians.

    As expected, there are numerous similarities between City of Heroes and City
    of Villains — in many instances this is a good thing, but in some ways
    the game is disappointing. To their credit, though, Cryptic did a marvelous
    job utilizing the same tools to create a different effect.

    For example, most of the graphics and animations in CoV are the same as the
    graphics and animations in CoH. But with the clever usage of lighting, placement,
    and a few new additions, the Rogue Isles are militaristic instead of pristine.
    Skills, at first glance, are a major disappointment; there are very few new
    powersets, and most of the new ones belong to the Masterminds. Once I started
    to play, though, I realized how different the CoV Archetypes are from their
    CoH counterparts; the mix of powersets creates truly different characters
    that require an entirely different game play style. Corrupters don’t
    play like Blasters, but they also don’t play like Controllers; even
    Stalkers are a far cry from their Scrapper brethren.
    Unfortunately, there is still a lot of balance work to be done with the CoV
    classes. Some archetypes are just way more powerful than another. For example,
    a Mastermind with six robots or ninjas can clear an entire mission on the
    highest difficulty setting, relentless, while a Corrupter might have a hard
    time on the easiest setting, villainous.

    Be wary of those Heroes!

    Reviews
    Fri, Dec 16, 2005
    LadySirse
  • You know this game really NEEDED a new review. I tried playing it again recently and what I experienced went beyond confusion. *whisper* It was easier the other way *end whisper*

    Anyhoo, IGN does a marvelous job of explaining, critiquing and whatnot. They end up giving the game a 7.7/ 10. Not too shabby although nothing of supersonic stardom. For a game that's over it's prime it's a good score.

    Feel The Force This Way For SWG Info and News

    Reviews
    Wed, Dec 14, 2005
    Awenyddion
  • Yes, I'm bitter!
    Eurogamer gives EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames a 7/10 for lack of low-to-mid-level content. This is like the 15th review I've read that's all about how great DoF is, then, bam! it hits the "too high level" concrete bridge abutment. Every MMO expansion is going to be geared to the top tier of the playerbase, folks. If you can point out one expansion that's absolutely chock full of lowbie content, email me and I'll eat my hat or something!

    Like the Trials of Obi-Wan expansion for Star Wars Galaxies, Desert of Flames falls down slightly not because it's not entertaining, not because it lacks content, not because it doesn't play well, but because its scope is too narrow to include everyone. If you're a high level character who's done everything in EQ2, then this expansion is a must, but hey, next time guys, release something that all your players can enjoy.

    By this logic, "The Burning Crusade" ought to get a 7/10 too, but I betcha it won't; it's WoWftw. Blah. /rant off Eurogamer scorches EverQuest 2's "Desert of Flames" expansion.
    Other links I won't rant so much about!

    Reviews
    Wed, Dec 07, 2005
    Ethec
  • CoV Was Definitely the Game to Review This Week!
    Gameplay Monthly and Hooked on Games each posted reviews of Cryptic Studios's City of Villains, bringing the 7-day total up to six, by my count.
    From Gameplay Monthly:

    So, should you buy it? I personally did not enjoy the game. There is nothing to do except for run missions or PvP. The missions get extremely tedious after 30 levels, even if you increase their difficulty. The experience just did not scale right. You gain a small boost when you level up (say you get 3000 instead of 2800 for finishing a mission when you level up), but the amount you need to level up will dramatically increase (say you used to need 30500, now you'll need 36000). I just can't stand doing missions after missions. They are the only way to gain experience, there is no other way. Grouping with other people would take just as long.

    And from Hooked Gamers:

    City of Villains is solid as a stand alone title or as a City of Heroes expansion. Despite its weak points or flaws, the title has restored life to City of Heroes and has already caused scores of players, new and old, to repopulate the game servers, reuniting old alliances and challenging new rivals. If you are a veteran MMO player looking for something enjoyable but laid back to play or new to MMOs and looking to get into it for the first time, City of Villains will deliver countless hours of entertainment and player interaction. There is no doubt at all that City of Villains will follow the City of Heroes tradition of success and remain as a big player in the MMO genre.

    Other links of interest:

    Reviews
    Mon, Dec 05, 2005
    Ethec
  • I have super powers! I can fly! I choose to wear tights?
    WorthPlaying has posted their City of Villains review, taking a look at the recently released NCSoft title.

    " ...there are some conclusions that I can draw, based on extensive experience in the Massively Multiplayer genre, and on previous experience with City of Heroes (also somewhat limited). I think it unfortunate that many gamers who may have played City of Heroes will judge CoV unfairly based upon the reputation of it predecessor. I played CoH for several weeks and came away with what seemed to be a common opinion of the experience; it is a terrific, appealing idea, with beautifully crafted environments. The title had perhaps the single best character-generation system that was practically a game in itself, and the product as a whole was easy to learn and fun to play. However, CoH seriously lacked any significant content with little or no end game; in short, the game was boring. You can only put the beat-down on so many bad guys before it gets tedious. "

     

    Reviews
    Mon, Dec 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's "Criminal Minds," MMORPG-style
    GamerGod and Strategy Informer are giving City of Villains some pretty some pretty positive reviews. It's undeniable that CoV has that holy grail of just-launched MMOGs: polish. But the franchise's weakness remains its lasting appeal.
    From Strategy Informer:

    City of Villains is easy to understand and can be grasped quickly by any player. The interface is user-friendly and extremely flexible. Your target keys are easy to set up and windows can be resized whenever you feel like it. It can definitely be classified as an “easy” game.

    And from GamerGod:

    In addition to the gameplay aspects, the City of Villains engine is much improved from the original City of Heroes. It now supports ragdoll physics, bloom effects, depths of field effects, and other nifty new graphic card tricks. Consequently, many players may want to turn down the details a bit, as things can get pretty choppy on even a reasonably up-to-date computer. Regardless, all players should enjoy the new possibility to change graphical settings and key bindings without having to change to a different screen. Strangely, the enhancement and id editing screens have not benefited from this technology. The ID editor in particular still has weird quirks that result in difficult description editing.

    Other links of interest:

    Reviews
    Fri, Dec 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • Darkness is rising over the dark age.
    MMORPG has posted their review of Dark Age of Camelot: Darkness Rising.

    "Darkness Rising has added player driven mounts, a Champion level system of quests and rewards, and my personal favorite – Subclassing.
    The mounts are all horses, regardless of race and realm from what I have seen, but you get to ride them at a pleasant pace. They are faster than running which is good for any class that does not have a movement speed buff and not too shabby for those that do. You can get the basic horse at level 35. At higher levels, you can upgrade your horse so that you can add barding to it. A really cool feature is that you can cover your horse in your guild colors. Who would you not want to? All in all, I have to say that this is a much needed and overdue addition, but they did it as well as any other game that has player driven mounts, and it is arguably much better looking. The horses look great. Best of all, you can’t fall off if you accidentally hit the spacebar."

    More, older, pre-enjoyed DAoC News.

    Reviews
    Tue, Nov 29, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's deja vu all over again. .
    MMORPG.com has posted a review of Star Wars: Galaxies- New Game Experience, the "revamped" (new gameplay mechanics) SWG.

    " Due to the massive changes recently implemented within the Star Wars Galaxies (SWG) Mmorpg, we felt it was necessary to update our review to reflect the changes brought out by the New Game Experience (NGE). We do hope that this review will provide you with the information needed. Also, I will refer to the combat upgrade (CU) along with the NGE. In the last 6 months, SWG has done multiple changes to the game and we’ll try to be as clear as we can. "

    We also have some Pre-Enjoyed Star Wars: Galaxies News.
     

    Reviews
    Thu, Nov 24, 2005
    Boomjack
  • If you looked like a bat and had super powers you would be a villain too.
    About.com has posted their review of City of Villains. .

    " Ever since the release of City of Heroes last year, people have been leaping tall buildings in a single bound, outpowering locomotives, taking the law into their own hands, and exploring their alter egos as virtual superheroes. With the launch of City of Villains, NCSoft and Cryptic have made good on their promise to let you play the anti-hero. No more coming to the rescue of purse-snatching victims, this time around you will be robbing banks, carrying out hits for the mob, and pummeling everyone that gets in your way with a disregard befitting a criminal. "

    We also have some Pre-Enjoyed City of Villains News.
     

    Reviews
    Thu, Nov 24, 2005
    Boomjack
  • I'd love to see the Desert of Flames travel brochure.
    IGN has posted a review of EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames. Steve Butts does an exemplary job of describing the highs and lows of tthe first EverQuest 2 expansion.

    " Ever since launch, the developers of EverQuest II have been hard at work bringing more and more content online. It seems like the game grows a little every week with new areas, new quests, new playable races and new...well, everything. But as if to say that they can't give everything away for free, they've recently released the first official retail expansion pack. Like the old original EQ expansions, the first EverQuest II expansion introduces several large zones and tons of new content. "

    Stop by the TenTonHammer EQ2 Community for class guides, quick answers in the forums and more EQ2 information than you can shake a sand viper at.
    If you still can't get enough....check out the Archived EQ2 News.

    Reviews
    Thu, Nov 24, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net