Archive

Reviews

  • One million copies sold and one more review written.
    ReWiredMind has posted their review of Guild Wars. Martha Stewart asked to call her back at a more convenient time, but we prefer to pretend that she said this:

    "
    My quest for a free and quality MUD or MMORPG has been long and, so I
    thought, fruitless. A couple of years ago I was able to find Achaea, a text-based MUD populated by people that not only wanted to roleplay, but who were also more than happy to indulge in gratuitous (but relevant) PVP on continental scales. To become skilled in this game required a knowledge of programming for the various MUD programs used, plus there were no graphics which proved to be a big downer for me towards the end. " 

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at ReWiredMind.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Mon, Oct 03, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The subscriber numbers alone are enough to WoW you!

    Blizzard took its renowned Warcraft franchise into the MMO fold in late 2004 and hasn't looked back since. With over 4 million subscribers around the world and a number of new and old MMOs targetting Blizzard's success, how long will World of Warcraft (WoW) retain its title as the new crown prince of MMOs? We don't know, but we can tell you what all the fuss is about! Check out the TTH profile of genre juggernaut "World of Warcraft"!

    "Spurning EverQuest 2's emphasis on established MMO formulas (in short- an emphasis on player cooperation and groups / raids instead of competition and soloing, a zoned rather than continuously loading environment, complex and involved quests within a strong storyline, and a lengthy character progression), World of Warcraft (WoW) focused moreso on heightening the individual experience.

    After the typically shaky, premature launch often associated with MMOs, new players discovered that WoW always delivered something accessible, and markedly fun, to do. Like a breath of fresh air, many casual gamers found in WoW's quest systems (and adventuring experience, in general) something reasonably commensurate with the time invested. And WoW has been gobbling up market share ever since."

    Take a look at the Ten Ton Hammer profile of "World of Warcraft"!

    Reviews
    Thu, Sep 29, 2005
    Ethec
  • It's an adventure, not an expansion.
    MMORPG.com has reviewed the second adventure pack of EverQuest 2, The Splitpaw Saga. Our calls to Anna Nicole Smith were met first with confusion as she thought we were the local Burger King calling her back about her order, to outright hostility. We are confident that had she not ordered the four-dozen whoppers she would have said this:

    " Released nearly three months ago, The Splitpaw Saga is Sony Online Entertainment's second adventure pack for EverQuest II. Since that initial launch, several nasty bugs have been sorted – including one particularly nasty bug that would cause an entire 'zone' to crash – to go along with some minor general changes. "

    You can read the entire EverQuest 2: Splitpaw Saga Review at MMORPG.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Wed, Sep 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Because you only get one chance to make a first impresson.
    GameSpy has posted a first impressions look at EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames. When asked if he had read the article, Christian Slater looked hard and long at us, pursed his lips and stated:

    " SOE has been pretty aggressive when it comes to updating EverQuest II: two adventure packs, a busload of patches, and dozens of gameplay updates and refinements. At this point, a full-on expansion pack almost seems like overkill, but lo and behold, it's Desert of Flames! The first expansion to EverQuest II, from where we're standing, seems like it's jam-packed. It ups the level cap, introduces the first real PvP elements to game, and adds a whole new continent for players to adventure in. EQ veterans will know it well: the Isle of Ro, the desert region that served as a central hub for much of the original game's life. EQII finds a changed place, to be sure, but fans of the first game will find much to stir up the nostalgia. "

    You can read the entire EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames First Impressions Article at GameSpy.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Wed, Sep 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A flying carpet ride.
    GameZone has reviewed EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames. In other news, 99% of SoE customers complained about the changes, but continued to play after reading::

    " Now it should be noted that while DoF adds content tailored specifically for upper level players (which anyone who has a lower level toon can access if they have the expansion and a bit of a death wish), the upgrade also affects those without the expansion.  "

    You can read the entire EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames Review at GameZone.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Mon, Sep 26, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's a Desert of Fun.
    GamerGod has reviewed the recent EverQuest 2 expansion, Desert of Flames. We called Richard Pryor to ask if he was still afraid of flames, but his agent told us to:

    "On September 13, 2005, all hell broke loose at Sony Online
    Entertainment as half a million people logged on to the EQ2 servers.
    Having just installed the Desert of Flames expansion released that day,
    everyone was salivating at the mouth, ready to dig into the new
    content. But alas, first, a patch."

    You can read the entire EverQuest 2: Desert of Flames Review at GamerGod.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Mon, Sep 26, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Late to the dance, but high on the list.
    Strategy Informer got around to reviewing Guild Wars and it comes as no surprise that they liked it. We asked Ray Romano of Everybody Loves Raymond if he would consider an Everyone Loves Guild Wars T.V. sitcom and he replied:

    " Lately we've seen allot of MMORPG-s hitting the market, in the franchise caused by World of Warcraft. Many of those games went completely unnoticed, or have even been shut down (as we've seen with The Matrix Online and Asheron's Call 2). Guild Wars is not one of them. What the crew at Arenanet has to offer was fresh, and not just "another game in the line", but something quite different... read on, you'll find out what. "

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Strategy Informer.
    Related Links:

     

    Reviews
    Mon, Sep 26, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A golf MMO? Those krazy Koreans!
    Broken English and hole-in-one hackers! Korean developer OnNet's "Shot Online" puts players inside a world populated by golfes and lets them golf together. A lot.. How exactly does this work out? I could tell you, but I'd rather quote something funny.

    "A sample description [for one of the playable characters], this for Wotan: “Reticent and sincere. With a great sweat, he ranks one of the tops even though he lost his one eye in an accident. His nick name, Odin becomes him.” If you’re anything like me, first off, your wondering what is up with the names? Then you get hit with the broken-English translations, (which is a recurring theme). I had to laugh at this description numerous times. If he has a “great sweat”, it does not sound like much fun playing 18 holes with him. Kind of like that underarm deodorant commercial where the golfer sinks a putt, raises his arms in victory, and the entire crowd, wildlife included, fall over from the apparent stench. Also, if he “lost his one eye in an accident”, would not that make him partly blind? I would be pretty impressed if he still ranked as “one of the tops” then! "

    The article does a good job of detailing how a golf MMO works, or doesn't work. You decide! The Shot Online review at MMORPG.com.

    Reviews
    Thu, Sep 22, 2005
    Ethec
  • Safe sets!

    Expansion sets, that is! MMORPG.com gives their take on the 2002 Dark Age of Camelot expansion: "Shrouded Isles" expansion. What struck me: just as Ralphie said in this week's Op/Ed, one MMO (in this case, EverQuest) sets the standard, and then 6 months later you see the other MMOs catching up when they see what "works." Why not let your competitors do your gameplay testing for you, after all?

    Creating expansions for MMORPGs has become an art form, it would seem. As the genre begins to settle somewhat, and starts to take on standards learned from aging veterans like Ultima Online and EverQuest, it becomes at once easier to craft an expansion, and tougher to craft a great expansion. A great expansion can keep current players happy for another year, or even bring in new players; a bad expansion can ruin the experience for veterans, and possibly scare off recruits. Mythic, the creators of Dark Age of Camelot, offered up Shrouded Isles in late 2002, a year after the original game’s release. At the time, it seemed like a very thorough expansion, and kept me playing for another year. In hindsight, it seems more like a very safe expansion.

    Take a look at the "Dark Age of Camelot: Shrouded Isles" review at MMORPG.com.

    Reviews
    Tue, Sep 20, 2005
    Ethec
  • A long-time MMO that's "dragon" itself back into the big time!

    The notion of playable dragons is enough to make any fantasy gamer drool, and this stalwart MMO in the vein of EverQuest Live delivers that, a enwizened concept of tradeskills, and more. But is it innovative enough to recover from past financial woes and a 2005 developer change-of-hands, recapturing market share from big-name games like World of Warcraft and EverQuest 2?

    "Horizons: Empire of Istaria" is a charming fantasy MMORPG that, for much of its life, has led a troubled existance. Originally the 1999 brainchild of now-defunct Artifact Entertainment, the game launched in December 2003 but ostensibly could not defray its titanic accrued development costs. As the rumor mill has it, the game was originally intended to include sublime MMO concepts like "character aging," but could not carry many of its markedly innovative ideas to implementation.

    What Horizons does offer, aside from a solid fantasy MMO experience in the vein of EverQuest, is a heady multiclassing system, playable dragons(!), and most of all, the most robust crafting system the genre has ever seen.

    See the full Horizons: Empire of Istaria profile as the latest addition to our "History of MMO Gaming" series.

    Reviews
    Fri, Sep 16, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net