Archive

Miscellaneous Previews

  • Hellgate: London Updated Hands-On - Multiplayer, Cabalists, and Hunters

    Gamespot has also added their voice to the round of Hellgate: London previews today.

    The same creative talent that put together the insanely addictive hack-and-slash game Diablo is now hard at work on a new game that's all about blasting through waves of evil demons who have invaded a near-future version of our world. Unlike other action role-playing games, Hellgate: London plays from a first-person perspective, and the recently revealed hunter class actually plays a lot like a first-person shooter character. We recently got our hands dirty with the hunter class, and the spell-slinging cabalist, in both single- and multiplayer play.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Sun, Dec 10, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Still In Beta But Holds Promise...

    Silkroad Online is a recently translated Asian MMO that is currently in beta. GameZone posted their preview of this interesting title.

    The Silkroad was the major cultural and economic trading route connecting ancient China with Islamic and European civilizations. It was a hazardous byway, often haunted by thieves, merchants and those who would protect the merchants from the thieves.

    In an increasing trend, yet another Asian massively multiplayer online game has been translated over to English and is in the testing phase. Silkroad Online does carry some Asian influences, and some of the combat styling could be likened to KOEI’s Dynasty Warriors franchise (in a tiny way), but the game also carries some of the influences of other Asian-generated MMOs, like Lineage II.

    Read the full preview at GameZone.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jun 22, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Thurston "Ratboy" Hillman met up with Stieg Hedlund, the Executive Producer of Gods & Heroes,the first big release of Perpertual Entertainment. The demo was held in the Sony Online Entertainment booth, and must have been pretty entertaining since it kept "Ratboy" distracted from the booth babes!

    Normally when I walk around E3 I am distracted from the shiny booths and my eyes wander over to the nearest booth babe, with Gods & Heroes I completely lost sight of the booth babes (SoE had some pretty fantastic ones too) and centered all my attention on the demo of the game. For the next forty-five minutes my eyes were glued to the giant LCD screen above me; this game was stunning.

    Read the rest on God and Heroes and all thier Minions at E3 in thefull review

    Features, Previews
    Sat, May 13, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Tony “Radar” Jones put on his eye patch and swaggered on over to demo Disney’s new pirate MMO “Pirates of the Caribbean.”

    The character ran from town into the bay, and a menacing powerful ship appeared from the fog. As they climbed aboard I cried “Whar be ye crew?” Apparently, you will be able to have small groups who will travel to instanced zones for adventure and treasure! My eye squinted at the prospect of treasure, this developer was a sly one.

    Tony got right into character with Pirates of the Caribbean Online at E3 and even threatened to make one developer "walk the plank".....Avast Ye Swabbies!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, May 12, 2006
    LadySirse
  • A preview of 9 Dragons is presented over at MMORPG.com based upon the interview Dana Massey had with Howard Marks.

    With 9 Dragons, Marks wants to marry the familiar things people want in an MMORPG and its story with the unique twist of being a Ming Dynasty era martial arts game.

    Read the entire preview here

    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 08, 2006
    LadySirse
  • A chronicle of The Chronicle.
    MMORPG has posted a The Chronicle developer's diary featuring an unmentioned developer and focusing on the races available in the game.

    " An important feature we have incorporated with The Chronicle is a diversity of playable races and avatar customization. We believe that it is a vital part of a player experience to truly feel unique and diverse in the game world, where players can be recognized by appearance rather than the text floating above their heads. Although the text floating above your head feature would be really cool in real life, we believe that players want more diversity than that in their gaming experience. Our attempt at this diversity comes through our expansive list of playable avatars and the distinct customization of each unique avatar. In The Chronicle, we are featuring nine playable base races with a total of 27 sub-races. That is 27 different avatars which each have distinct and unique customization options. We will discuss customization in a future developer journal and will focus on introducing our future explorers, warriors, heroes, empire rulers and evil nemeses. "

    You can read the entire The Chronicle Developer's Diary at MMORPG.
    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 17, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A rose by any other name is a hacking, slashing massively multiplayer online game.
    MMORPG.com has posted a preview of ROSE Online based on their chat with David Kim at the Austin Game Conference.

    " While at the Austin Gaming Conference I got to meet with David Kim of Gravity Interactive’s ROSE Online, a new Korean MMO that is currently in open beta. This kid-friendly MMO takes place in a huge world, or rather, universe — players can travel between seven different planets, three of which are already in the game, to fight monsters, do quests, and make friends. "

    You can read the ROSE Online Preview at MMORPG.com.
    Other Interesting Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Because women are all over this virtual sex thing.
    Next Generation has posted a preview of Spend The Night, billed as an erotic MMO that targets the female audience. I'm going to go out on a limb and guess that Hello Kitty Online or ToonTown Online are going to have a larger female population than a pixel-sex game. Pornography and virtual sex expert Peewee Herman was contacted for comment, but was too busy watching Japanese escalator movies to say anything more than this:

    "
    Republik's Spend The Night is about sex. It's an online multiplayer
    game in which adults can meet other adults and act out their fantasies
    through graphically rich avatars. Next Generation spoke to company CEO
    Robert Coshland.

    You can read the entire Spend The Night Preview at Next Generation.
     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A chronicle of the The Chronicle.
    MMORPG.com has posted a developer written preview of The Chronicle. The preview focuses on the battle system and specifically on the opportunity subsystem of combat. Vin Diesel, the master of combat and of opportunity flexed the muscles in his eyelids and roared:

    " I attack you and hit for 22 damage. You attack me and hit for 17 damage. I attack you and miss. You attack me and critically hit for 34 damage. I attack you…
    Does the above exchange sound familiar? It probably does, because that’s the way combat works in just about every MMORPG on the market today. In reality, combat is a complex dance of subtle maneuvers, split-second perceptions, and exploiting opportunities, which is why most RPG battles seem so sterile and monotonous by contrast. It’s tough to get excited about a match of dueling calculators, but one of the things The Chronicle is attempting to do is add a new dimension to RPG style combat, putting more emphasis on strategy and timing than just clicking auto attack to find out who has the best damage per second and hit points."

    You can read the The Chronicle Preview at MMORPG.com.
    Other Links You Might Enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 22, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Can we get an APB on APB?
    1UP has posted an All Points Bulletin preview. Davey Jones asked me to take the last train to Clarkson and he'd meet me at the station, but when I arrived the only thing there was this note:

    " How many times have you played a Grand Theft Auto game and envisioned how cool it would be if all those folks walking and driving around the streets of Vice City were actually other human players? Funny, the original creator of Grand Theft Auto, David Jones, wonders the exact same thing. That's why his new company, Real Time Worlds, is crafting exactly such a game, due for release on PC in 2007 and Xbox 360 in 2008. "

    You can read the entire APB Preview at 1UP.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 07, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net