Archive

Dungeons & Dragons Online: Eberron Unlimited + John Scott Tynes Previews

  • How about a zone that isn't sewers?

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jan 17, 2008
    Aelryn
  • Module 4 Preview of Gianthold Tor

    WarCry posted this preview of the upcoming Module 4 for Dungeons and Dragons.

    After the quick tour of the new massive wilderness area we entered the grand entrance to Gianthold Tor. The DM instructed us to activate the great portals in the large room ahead of us in our attempt to locate the dragons. Once we activated the portals, an ambush of massive magnitude was upon us. Did I mention massive? Yes, enormous giants were swinging their clubs and great axes at us from all angles.

    More is just click away.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Mar 14, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Gamespy's Delsyn goes hands-on with DDO's Module 3, where he learns to hate sand, jackal-men and women with six arms.

    Gampspy has posted a preview of the upcoming Module 3 for Dungeons and Dragons Online. Keep reading to see what they have to say...

    Turbine is walking a pretty fine line these days. Its high profile MMO, Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach, has gotten great praise for its fidelity to the paper-and-pencil experience but equally harsh criticism for the absence of many of the most common features of MMOs, such as broad, open areas and PvP combat. It's to Turbine's credit that the DDO development team is attempting to address these criticisms, adding in more "MMO-style features" without compromising the vision of an authentic online D&D game. I recently had the opportunity to visit Turbine's Cambridge, Massachusetts, studio to go hands-on with some of the upcoming content from Module 3: The Demon Sands and see how it's coming along.

    Get clicking to read more. Have you visited our DDO Ten Ton Hammer Community site yet? Let us know what your think about this and all your favorite MMOs in our brand new Ten Ton Hammer Forums!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 09, 2006
    LadySirse
  • GameSpy rolls for initiative.
    DDO is still in the "hands on" phase of previewing (followed by the "OMG roxxz0rz!" preview phase, which is followed by the "preview" preview phase... something like that), and GameSpy doesn't disappoint.

    After all, what better genre than the massively multiplayer online role-playing game to bring the "role" back into what usually becomes merely an endless treadmill of players searching for the bigger, better magical doodad? Having been lost in the D&D Online beta for about three days now, I'm seriously impressed at how well Turbine is translating not just the mechanics, but the very "feel" of classic D&D gameplay to the MMO format.

    No dice bag needed to view GameSpy's "hands on" preview of Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach.
    Other links of interest:

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 22, 2005
    Ethec
  • How do the dragons fit down those tiny tunnels to get into the dungeon in the first place?
    Dungeons and Dragons Online received twice the loving today with previews posted on both GameDaily and MMORPG

    " Recently, I had the opportunity to attend a press event for Turbine’s Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Before I even left, I knew what to expect. I was told that the game’s lead designer, Ken Troop was going to give us a brief overview of the game before we ourselves would have a chance to sit down in front of it. "

    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's all hands-on, without the usual harassment suits that follow.
    We were there. They were there. It was written about everywhere. Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach hands-on information is stamping your way faster than a Bugbear with a burr on its rump. TenTonHammer, GameSpot and IGN all have their impressions online for your dice rolling, dungeon crawling pleasure.

    " Turbine cleared out Dragon Bar, a fine establishment in San Francisco's North Beach district, and brought all the necessary hardware to provide core community members, pen-and-paper (PnP) gamers, and fansite reps a "hands on" tour of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach (or DDO, for short) . The atmosphere was charged with excitement as the alcohol and gourmet vittles flowed freely, and I'd be remiss not to thank the Turbine crew for pulling off a fitting introduction for this party-intensive game. "

    Who's da man? You're da man! Now get to it!

    Still craving more? Even more Dungeons and Dragons Online News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 10, 2005
    Boomjack
  • DnD players, look up from your dice and handbooks a sec!

    Turbine's DDO team turned out at PAX in force, and has some spiffy pictures and captions to show for it. Luckily, Marut (today's profiled monster) didn't show up too; the pasty-white crowd was almost certainly ill-equipped to dispatch an extraplanar stone construct:

    A twelve foot tall statue of a hulking onyx man in golden armor stood before us for a moment before speaking in a mechanical voice.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE UNTIL THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Clearly we were not going to agree to this command. Maruts are inevitables that represent the inevitability of death, and are lawful extraplanar constructs from Dolurrh, the Realm of the Dead. They hunt those who use unnatural means to cheat death. It's likely that this inevitable was hunting a powerful giant, and was sealed away rather than simply destroyed for unknown reasons.

    I tried explaining to the inevitable that the giants of Xen'drik are likely dead, and its mission is complete.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE WHILE I ASCERTAIN THAT THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Sighing, I nodded assent to the marut while simultaneously giving the others the signal for attack. It would be a difficult fight, but I had faith in my comrades.

    Free forum registration is required for the rest of this entertaining Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach read, or just check out DDO's Pax pics here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • SWDP (Single White Dwarf Priest) seeks Elven paladin level 10-12 for long walks in a dungeon.
    GameSpy has posted a Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach preview based on their experience with the title at GenCon in Indianapolis. Samuel L. Jackson rolled the dice and exlaimed:

    " I came to the 2005 GenCon Game Faire in Indianapolis with only a small
    list of "must-do" items. Sitting somewhere in the top five roughly between "get 'Geek version 2.0' t-shirts for my kids" and "finally buy that plush Cthulhu toy" was "get in some hands-on time with Dungeons & Dragons Online." Okay, I'll admit it, I was a big ol' D&D geek back in the day, and while I haven't had the time to play in many years, I still have a lot of affection for the game. Add to that the idea of building a whole MMO around it and I'm in. Rather than just dive in, though, I decided to wait until after my extended conversation with Dave Eckleberry. I'd wait to see what he had to say about what makes the product distinct and then judge for myself by actually playing the game.
    "

    You can read the Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach Preview at GameSpy.
    More DDO than you can shake a bugbear at: DDO.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Aug 22, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Dungeons and Dragons. Does that mean that every dungeon has a dragon in it?
    IGN has posted a preview of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Lord Nagafen and Lady Vox have created a dragon support group. The inscription over the lair looks absolutely nothing like this:

    "It's tough being an MMO these days. Or at least, an MMO that isn't
    World of Warcraft. On the fantasy side, they seem to have everything
    sewn up. So what's the appeal of yet another persistent online sword
    and sorcery game? Well, how about one that takes out crafting,
    grinding, auction houses, and focuses on pure Dungeons & Dragons modules? How about one where you don't need to play for weeks just to earn the privilege of spending all your money on a horse? In DDO, slated for early next year, it's the dungeons and the city, and you're whipped from one to the other quickly and cleanly, with the focus on venturing with a party. "

    You can read the entire Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach Preview at IGN.
    More Dungeons and definately a lot more Dragons at DDO.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 16, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's ironic that both the original pen and paper Dungeons and Dragons and the new computerized virtual Dungeons and Dragons will be played in basements.
    GameSpot has posted a preview of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Basements across the nation went quiet for a few minutes while Dungeons and Dragons fans read the following:

    " We recently had a chance to catch up with Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach, the upcoming online game from developer Turbine Entertainment and publisher Atari. The new game will be based out of the massive town of Stormreach which exists on Eberron, a new world created for the game's recently revised 3.5 Edition rules. The town will be broken up into seven different districts, or wards, from which you can find many, many different quests and adventures from various characters in town. The game has been in development for some time and has entered a closed alpha testing state; beta will begin, according to Turbine president Jeff Anderson, "soonish." "

    You can read the entire Dungeons and Dragons Preview at GameSpot.
    The undisputed #1 Dungeons and Dragons Online Site is waiting for you at DDO.TenTonHammer.com

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 16, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net