Archive

Dungeons & Dragons Online: Eberron Unlimited + Lord of the Rings Online + RF Online + ArchLord + Jumpgate Evolution Previews

  • Turbine grinds away on their Tolkien-set MMO

    GameDaily.com has posted their first impressions of Lord of the Rings Online. Did they enjoy it or find it a chore to look at? Keep reading to find out.

    Turbine is hard at work on Lord of the Rings Online, and they're proud to show it off. From the very first glance it's obvious that the team has made huge strides, bringing the visuals far up from last year's showing and improving the overall experience through control and gameplay by magnitudes.

    Read the full article and then head over to the forums at LOTRO Ten Ton Hammer and let us know what you think!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 14, 2006
    LadySirse
  • 1Up has a pretty good preview of RF Online up today.

    There's a bit of something-for-everyone from a design that blends fantasy and magic with sci-fi action. The story goes that three factions are locked in battle for this planet. The Holy Alliance Cora takes the classic high fantasy route. Its lithe elfin warriors look the part, capped off with their Final Fantasy styled summoning ability. Mech fans will probably like the Bellatio Union. Their more human-like appearance and reliance on technology includes their carrying a mech with them that they can pull out and mount to fight from. And finally, there's the Accretia Empire that counters the other two organic lifeforms with cyborgs. Their heavy frames allow them to mount a tremendous weapon known as the launcher.

    Read it in it's entirety here

    A little piece inside of me still wishes that they had published Dragon Empires

    More RF Online News and Info

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Dec 29, 2005
    Awenyddion
  • GameSpy rolls for initiative.
    DDO is still in the "hands on" phase of previewing (followed by the "OMG roxxz0rz!" preview phase, which is followed by the "preview" preview phase... something like that), and GameSpy doesn't disappoint.

    After all, what better genre than the massively multiplayer online role-playing game to bring the "role" back into what usually becomes merely an endless treadmill of players searching for the bigger, better magical doodad? Having been lost in the D&D Online beta for about three days now, I'm seriously impressed at how well Turbine is translating not just the mechanics, but the very "feel" of classic D&D gameplay to the MMO format.

    No dice bag needed to view GameSpy's "hands on" preview of Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach.
    Other links of interest:

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 22, 2005
    Ethec
  • How do the dragons fit down those tiny tunnels to get into the dungeon in the first place?
    Dungeons and Dragons Online received twice the loving today with previews posted on both GameDaily and MMORPG

    " Recently, I had the opportunity to attend a press event for Turbine’s Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Before I even left, I knew what to expect. I was told that the game’s lead designer, Ken Troop was going to give us a brief overview of the game before we ourselves would have a chance to sit down in front of it. "

    Still yearning for more?

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • It's all hands-on, without the usual harassment suits that follow.
    We were there. They were there. It was written about everywhere. Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach hands-on information is stamping your way faster than a Bugbear with a burr on its rump. TenTonHammer, GameSpot and IGN all have their impressions online for your dice rolling, dungeon crawling pleasure.

    " Turbine cleared out Dragon Bar, a fine establishment in San Francisco's North Beach district, and brought all the necessary hardware to provide core community members, pen-and-paper (PnP) gamers, and fansite reps a "hands on" tour of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach (or DDO, for short) . The atmosphere was charged with excitement as the alcohol and gourmet vittles flowed freely, and I'd be remiss not to thank the Turbine crew for pulling off a fitting introduction for this party-intensive game. "

    Who's da man? You're da man! Now get to it!

    Still craving more? Even more Dungeons and Dragons Online News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Nov 10, 2005
    Boomjack
  • RF Online ...we need RC Online! Teeny, tiny cars being driven by virtual remote control versus other virtual people in a teeny, tiny world.
    RPGVault has posted a RF Online Preview, where else...online.

    " Although the title will be new in the West, it has already established itself as a success in the Far East, with a player base reportedly numbering over a million. Accordingly, it seems reasonable to expect the game and the servers will be stable, and that many possible issues related to balance, load et al will already have been addressed. The mix of fantasy and science fiction elements may help to foster both awareness and a sense of product differentiation among members of the target audience. While the visuals are attractive, with some of the female character models and their outfits drawing particular attention, it appears that the minimum system requirements will be quite reasonable. "

    You can read the entire RF Online Preview at RPGVault.
    Not enough? More RF Online News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • We have a scratch in race #4 at the Barrow-downs. Frodo's Fancy will not run today.
    Turbine has posted a preview of the Barrow-downs area in Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar.

    "Known in the Elvish language as Tyrn Gorthad ("Hills of Tombs"), the Barrow-downs, located east of the Old Forest in the Bree-land region of Eriador, is a place of mystery best avoided by unwary adventurers.  By day, the area seems harmless enough – a quiet region of gently rolling plains and grassy mounds topped by ancient standing stones, marking the final resting place of great warriors from ages past.  But the spells which lay across the Barrow-downs are deceiving, and the mists that roll in as the day wanes can disorient and entrap even the bravest souls, turning the once-pleasant hills into dark shapes crowned with sharp teeth of stone.  In the dreadful gloom, evil spirits from Angmar dwell amongst the standing stones and within the burial mounds, inhabiting the bodies of the long-dead warriors and raising them as terrifying Wights driven to collect the living and bring them forever into this land of the dead. "

    You can read the entire Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar Preview at the Official Site.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • RF Online. Soon game names will just be one letter long.
    RPGVault has posted a preview of RF Online by Codemasters, featuring the races that you will be able to play. Russell Crowe threw the phone when we called him about this story, but we heard the following as it soared through the air:

    " A report on the races you'll be able to play when Codemasters launches CCR's science fantasy persistent state game "

    You can read the entire RF Online Preview at RPGVault.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • DnD players, look up from your dice and handbooks a sec!

    Turbine's DDO team turned out at PAX in force, and has some spiffy pictures and captions to show for it. Luckily, Marut (today's profiled monster) didn't show up too; the pasty-white crowd was almost certainly ill-equipped to dispatch an extraplanar stone construct:

    A twelve foot tall statue of a hulking onyx man in golden armor stood before us for a moment before speaking in a mechanical voice.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE UNTIL THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Clearly we were not going to agree to this command. Maruts are inevitables that represent the inevitability of death, and are lawful extraplanar constructs from Dolurrh, the Realm of the Dead. They hunt those who use unnatural means to cheat death. It's likely that this inevitable was hunting a powerful giant, and was sealed away rather than simply destroyed for unknown reasons.

    I tried explaining to the inevitable that the giants of Xen'drik are likely dead, and its mission is complete.

    "YOU WILL GIVE ME THE STATUE AND REMAIN HERE WHILE I ASCERTAIN THAT THE MISSION IS COMPLETE."

    Sighing, I nodded assent to the marut while simultaneously giving the others the signal for attack. It would be a difficult fight, but I had faith in my comrades.

    Free forum registration is required for the rest of this entertaining Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach read, or just check out DDO's Pax pics here.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • SWDP (Single White Dwarf Priest) seeks Elven paladin level 10-12 for long walks in a dungeon.
    GameSpy has posted a Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach preview based on their experience with the title at GenCon in Indianapolis. Samuel L. Jackson rolled the dice and exlaimed:

    " I came to the 2005 GenCon Game Faire in Indianapolis with only a small
    list of "must-do" items. Sitting somewhere in the top five roughly between "get 'Geek version 2.0' t-shirts for my kids" and "finally buy that plush Cthulhu toy" was "get in some hands-on time with Dungeons & Dragons Online." Okay, I'll admit it, I was a big ol' D&D geek back in the day, and while I haven't had the time to play in many years, I still have a lot of affection for the game. Add to that the idea of building a whole MMO around it and I'm in. Rather than just dive in, though, I decided to wait until after my extended conversation with Dave Eckleberry. I'd wait to see what he had to say about what makes the product distinct and then judge for myself by actually playing the game.
    "

    You can read the Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach Preview at GameSpy.
    More DDO than you can shake a bugbear at: DDO.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Aug 22, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net