Archive

Dungeons & Dragons Online: Eberron Unlimited + Lord of the Rings Online + RF Online + ArchLord + Jumpgate Evolution Reviews

  • The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar Final Hands-On: The First Week

    Gamespot has posted this look at the first week of Lord of the Rings Online.

    The action starts from the moment you begin. The elven starting area introduced us to the basics of online role-playing gameplay while surrounding us with intense battle. A chain of quests introduces you to combat as well as to minor Middle-earth characters, and we had a chance to use our starting abilities against some goblins. You can strike opponents with standard attacks, as well as use special abilities that can deal out more damage.

    Read more to find out more.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 30, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look at Middle-earth

    YouGamers has posted a review of the newly released Lord of the Rings Online. Keep reading to see what their thoughts are.

    To avoid being burned at the stake for heresy by the true fans, Turbine had to do some careful tweaking and re-branding of the normal fantasy MMO formula due to the established canon - magic is rare in Middle-Earth, so there are no mages tossing fireballs or priests healing wounds. In fact, LOTRO ditches the whole cycle of dying and resurrecting over and over again. Instead of hit points characters have morale - run out of morale, and you are "defeated" and flee from the fight.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 30, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Lord of the Rings Online Reviewed

    Yahoo! Games has posted their thoughts of the newly released Lord of the Rings Online.

    Although Tolkien fans will enjoy exploring Middle Earth, they may be disappointed to find the lore of the world is not as deep as they might like. Many of the ruins are just scenery, and the histories and cultures of the various areas don't live up to the rich tales Tolkien wound through all of the locations in the novels. But even with these omissions, the world still feels right.

    Read more with a click.

    Reviews
    Fri, Apr 27, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look At Lord of the Rings Online

    Hookedgamers has posted their review of the newly released Lord of the Rings Online. Keep reading to see what their thoughts are.

    The real surprise came not in the form of how many hair styles or face templates were available to the player, but instead how the character's origin background played a part in the character's physical appearance. The humans for example, can have a choice in origin of hailing from Breeland, Gondor, Rohan, and the Dale-lands. In each case, the physical appearance will shift slightly and certain customization options no longer become available.

    Get clicking to learn more.

    Reviews
    Thu, Apr 26, 2007
    LadySirse
  • The Lord of the Rings Online: One Game to Rule Them All?

    This review of the newly released Lord of the Rings Online has been posted on Darke Counsel.

    Well folks, even though I can be considered a Tolkien fanboy, I’m also a fair critic of MMO games. When I did my closed and open beta stint, I went in there looking for the shallow money making design that dared couch itself in Tolkien’s clothing. I didn’t find it. What I did find was a loving attempt to bring the magic and majesty of Middle Earth to the legion of fans and MMO gamers out there.

    Learn more with just a click.

    Reviews
    Wed, Apr 25, 2007
    LadySirse
  • It Is...Promising To Me.
    Gamespy has dolled out their "Out of the Box" initial verdict of LotRO and so far so good! Their initial verdict is "Promising" and I'm sure Turbine is looking forward to the full review.

    That, naturally, is going to cheese off those power-gamers who pride themselves on never reading quest-text, always sporting the epic loot and being the first on the server to hit the level cap. The Lord of the Rings is less about loot and more about experience.

    Read the rest of the synopsis here.

    Reviews
    Wed, Apr 25, 2007
    Cody Bye
  • There's Nothing But Joy in Turbineville
    Lord of the Rings Online seems to be gaining momentum as sites continue to praise the storytelling and atmosphere of the game. MMORPG.com has the most recent review and they have give LotRO one of their highest scores!

    Overall Lord of the Rings Online is a very good game in its current incarnation. There is much to do and plenty to explore. The game itself can be run on a very large variety of computers with specifications varying from basic to the most advanced.

    Check it out by clicking here!

    Reviews
    Wed, Apr 25, 2007
    Cody Bye
  • Lord of the Rings Online: Review

    MMORPG.com has posted their look at today's launch of Lord of the Rings Online. Keep reading to see what their thoughts are.

    From the first moment you step a digital foot into the lands of Middle Earth, your eye will be drawn to the detail around you. The architecture, the flora, the people: it all floods you visually as you explore the world around you. The interpretation of the world from the books has been looked at in detail and translated into an electronic world. As you travel you will come across many a location that is in the book and a few you may not have known existed.

    More is just a click away.

    Reviews
    Tue, Apr 24, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look At Middle-earth

    Eurogamer has posted their thoughts of the newly released Lord of the Rings Online today.

    That much is certainly undeniable - LOTRO is very, very pretty. It's far and away the most graphically accomplished MMOG we've played to date, and playing with the high definition client for the game offers lighting, models and environments which really tick all the boxes for this kind of experience. Detailed? Check. Varied? Check. Dramatic? Check and double-check.

    More is just a click away.

    Reviews
    Tue, Apr 24, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Ten Ton Hammer Reviews ArchLord!

    The Ten Ton Hammer team was recently given the opportunity to review ArchLord, a fantasy-based MMO by Codemasters. In ArchLord, players focus on one goal: becoming the ruler of their world. Cody "Micajah" Bye takes a look at what it takes to become the Archlord and more in his review!

    ArchLord, like most Korean imports, is all about "The Grind". Created in a culture where CPM (clicks-per-minute) training is commonly practiced and real-life gaming deaths account for more kills than lightning strikes, it didn't come as any surprise to me when I found that getting my character to level five took approximately four hours to accomplish.

    Don't miss out! Get clicking to learn more.

    Reviews
    Thu, Mar 29, 2007
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net