Archive

Dungeons & Dragons Online: Eberron Unlimited + Lord of the Rings Online + RF Online + ArchLord + Jumpgate Evolution Reviews

  • Rule The World...

    GameZone has posted a review of the recently released ArchLord. See if they think it deserves top marks or not...

    The chance to rule the world – that is the premise behind Archlord, Codemasters' massively multiplayer online title for the PC. Players can fight other players, take control of castles and, through the guild structure, the leader of the top guild can be known as the Archlord – enabled with a special mount and powers … well, until someone else comes along and dethrones him or her.

    Keep reading with just a click. Give us your review of ArchLord in our Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Reviews
    Wed, Dec 06, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Flipping the visor on the MMORPG in which you can rule the world. Mwahahahaha

    CVG posted a review of ArchLord on Friday. Keep reading to see what their thoughts on ArchLord are...

    Many people will attack ArchLord for one thing before they even look at it - mainly, that it's not World Of Warcraft. While it's weaker but with similar ideas, it's also fun, rewarding and not half pretty for a game that's been out for more than a year overseas.

    Like RF Online, ArchLord is a Korean MMO localised for our fair seas, entering a rich canon of inaccessible grindfests built to steal your waking hours and push you to malnutrition and social isolation. Plus, what you actually get for your money has a somewhat milder learning curve mixed with newbie-friendly quests that will ease in even the most unseasoned of gamers.

    Read the rest of the review with just a click. Give us your review of ArchLord in our Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Reviews
    Mon, Dec 04, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Is ArchLord a Flop?

    Game Nexus has posted a review of the recently released ArchLord.

    You know it is not a good sign when picking up a new game if you have to schedule time to force yourself to sit down and play it. Such is the case with Codemaster's latest MMO, Archlord. Nothing in the manual, or the box art, or the online forums immediately inspired me to install the game and play to my heart's content. Later on, I would come to find that nothing in the actual game would please my heart, either.

    Read the rest of this review with just a click. Do you play ArchLord? Give us your review in our Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Reviews
    Thu, Nov 30, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Failing Marks This Thanksgiving

    Gamespot has a harsh review of ArchLord posted. Give it a read and see what you think...

    ArchLord can be summed up with two words: "dull" and "repetitive." Unfortunately, this game doesn't have anything to offer massively multiplayer veterans, and if you've been playing these games for a while, there's a good chance you've already found something better than this.

    The rest of the review is a click away. Argee or Disagree? Give us your review in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums today.

    Reviews
    Fri, Nov 24, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Harsh Words For Newly Released ArchLord

    Fragland.net has posted a review of the newly released ArchLord. You might want to don your flame resistant gear for this one...

    Sensitive readers are best not to continue reading. What follows is a deep crushing of a game that had good ideas but never succeeded to in any way explain why you should pay for it. Let alone why you would give money for it on a monthly basis. I personally found it a disgrace that I was NOT paid to play it.

    The full review is a click away. Have you played ArchLord? Do you agree with this review or think the author is out of his rocker? Let us know in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums today.

    Reviews
    Fri, Nov 17, 2006
    LadySirse
  • How Does Archlord Stack Up?

    1Up.com has taken time to review the recently released Archlord to let you know what to expect...

    By their nature MMOs ask a lot of the player, and we expect a lot in return. We're not just making a one-time purchase and losing ourselves for a few hours. We're moving into that world. We're creating imaginary lives, setting up shop, making friends, spending weeks, months, or years of our time in the place, and paying every month for the privilege of doing so.

    Keep reading to find out more! Have you played Archlord? Give us your review in our Ten Ton Hammer Forums today!

    Reviews
    Thu, Nov 02, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Belated First Impressions

    Gaming-age.com has finally gotten around to their review of Dungeons and Dragons Online. Though it is quite belated, they also take a look at how the game has progressed since launch.

    So yeah, Dungeons and Dragons Online has been out since February, and we’re just now getting around to doing a proper review of it. We are horrible, horrible people, I know. But, due to this lapse in time, we also have an opportunity to review how the game has progressed from launch, in addition to the modules that have been put out since its release.

    Keep reading to learn more. Do you agree with their feelings on the game? Let us know in the forums at DDO Ten Ton Hammer.

    Reviews
    Wed, Sep 13, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Hit or Miss?

    GamingGroove has taken time to review Dungeon and Dragons Online. See if they think that this is a hit or miss int he world of MMOs...

    As stated before, it was only a matter of time before Dungeons and Dragons followed suit. At the beginning of 2006 came the arrival of Dungeons & Dragons Online: Stormreach. Developed by Turbine, this game would offer players a virtual world governed by the official 3rd Edition rules (actually 3.5) while keeping in tune with most other MMOG services. We waited patiently for the game's release, assuming it would topple the likes of EverQuest II and the overwhelmingly popular World of Warcraft. However, Turbine's offering gathered mixed reviews, so we waited to see how the game would pan out after a few months. Remember how Anarchy Online floundered in its beginning, driving off players with numerous bugs and intolerable latency? We wanted to make sure that didn't happen with DDO.

    Keep reading to see what they thought. What do you think about DDO? Do you think it lives up to the hype? Head over to DDO Ten Ton Hammer and let us know!

    Reviews
    Mon, Jul 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Gameplay Reviews DDO

    How does the parent of all MMOs translate into an it's own online adventure? Keep reading to find out what Gameplay thinks...

    Turbine really got itself into a bit of a challenge this time. How do you translate the direct ancestor of every video game RPG into an MMORPG? One original game which was a social experience to begin with, and thus a very direct father of the MMORPG genre? Simple, they throw away pretty much -every- preconceived notion of what an MMORPG is supposed to be and start from scratch, using the D&D rules as a framework to bolster its design.

    So let's get a few points set first: there is no endless kill-grinding, there is no crafting, and there aren't even any cohesive outdoor regions that you will travel to get from territory to territory. Just like playing D&D with friends, this is about getting together in a tavern, plotting the adventure to undertake and go for it. No experience gained unless the adventure is completed. It's a bit of a shock in this genre which is overpopulated with games that consist of killing rats, pigs, and small birds so you can proceed to kill bigger rats, bigger pigs, and bigger birds until you can kill a meaner, bigger rat, a bigger, meaner pig, and hopefully raid a dragon in a month or two. Oh yea, don't expect to craft either. It's a surprising omission, since even if D&D isn't big on it, there ARE rules for crafting in the DM guide and players could take advantage of them. Maybe they'll add them later, but so far I do not fault DDO for not including them as the experience, as is right now, is quite focused, and works as a tremendous asset of the game.

    Learn more and see if the author thinks this is a hit or a miss! Don't forget to head over to DDO Ten Ton Hammer and get all the latest news, interviews, and information related to DDO!

    Reviews
    Fri, Jul 21, 2006
    LadySirse
  • DDO - Stormreach: For the "truly casual gamer"?

    GamersInfo.net has published first month's impressions of Dungeons and Dragons Online: Stormreach. Cronus gave the game a pretty good shake, but mystified me with this comment:

    DDO is aimed at the truly casual gamer: the now 40something gamer, with a spouse, 2.5 kids, a dog, and only an hour or three a night to spare for gaming. Most of the quests in the game can be completed in a short amount of time, although there are a few ‘epic’ quests that can take 4 hours or more to get through.

    Granted, the quests are fairly short in duration. But any game that requires you to group will require you to spend a lot of time getting organized away from the action - not a very casual thing. Just my take! Read Cronus' at GemersInfo.net.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 10, 2006
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net