Archive

Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising Previews

  • gods&heroes_combatscreenshot07
    I’ll be the first to admit that when Heatwave Interactive announced they had bought the rights and assets to the Roman Mythological themed Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising MMOG, I was cautiously optimistic. I enjoyed the game years ago for the brief amount of time I had spent in beta when it was being developed by Perpetual Entertainment. However, with all of the events surrounding its closure back then I had to wonder how Heatwave could bring the game back to life and have it stand on its own two feet—particularly given that the client was already a little dated before Heatwave even got a chance to start working on it.

    Shortly after the acquisition announcement the game entered into a playable beta stage. At this point some of our Ten Ton Hammer Premium members were on our Elite Testers list and began their job of providing feedback and bug reports for the game. I have been a part of countless beta tests for a myriad of games, but Heatwave presented Gods & Heroes in its new and evolving state at GDC this year and I couldn’t help but be thoroughly impressed.
    Features, Previews
    Tue, Mar 15, 2011
    B. de la Durantaye
  • Juno, Hera, potato, potato. Hm. That's more effective when spoken.

    Darkgolem brings another in-depth look at one of the Gods and Goddesses of Perpetual Entertainment's Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising. Find out about the aspects, symbols and mythology of Juno, Queen of the Gods!

    "When Hercules was birthed, Hera sent snakes to kill the Hercules in his crib, though Hercules strangled his attackers. "

    Click here to read all about it!

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Sep 25, 2007
    Aelryn
  • Chief among these strange beasts was the wily Senator.

    The ancient Romans (and Greeks, and Etruscans) had a regular zoo of mythical beasts and creatures they spoke of. Sure, you might know what they look like, but find out where they came from and what they are about with Darkgolem's newest Gods and Heroes preview, the Beasts of Rome!

    Snippet: "Later their (Daemons) nature was considered differently, more
    malevolent, and being thought to be masters of divination (more accurate
    in their understanding of flights of birds and such).. but able to

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Sep 10, 2007
    Aelryn
  • Goddess of luck is behind me? Screw adventuring for gold. It's time to hit the casino.

    Read all about the historical goddess seen by the ancient Romans and what this might mean for Gods and Heroes Gladiators in Darkgolem's new guide to Fortuna!

    "Regarding the goddess of luck, no one more than a scion of
    this goddess would realize how fickle their predecessor could be toward
    them."

    Read more at Ten Ton Hammer's Gods and Heroes site.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 06, 2007
    Aelryn
  • I Miss My Minions...

    I used to be in charge of a few minions at our Vanguard community site. I miss bossing them around. Maybe Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising, with its myth minions, is the game for me.

    RPG Vault offers a look at three types of minions (the GnH type), complete with exclusive screenshots:
    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 28, 2007
    Shayalyn
  • This is one preview of the future you don't need a mystic to see.

    Charabis has overhauled his Gods and Heroes: Rome Rising class preview of the Mystic for us! There's more information now than ever, including the special minions Trevia and
    Bacchus grant their followers. While you're there, don't forget to drool
    over the pictures that have been added throughout the article. You won't
    be sorry.

    Within the article, Perpetual has confirmed that the Mystics

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 14, 2007
    Aelryn
  • A little bit of info, a little bit of fun.

    One of the more interesting aspects of Gods and Heroes is Perpetual's adherence to historical lore and geography. MMORPG.com has also caught on to this observation and has received a preview of one of G&H's cities for individuals to view.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 08, 2007
    Cody Bye
  • Resolvo! Resolve!

    We've found a few more tidbits for you about the Soldiers! Check
    out the latest and greatest information about the Soldiers.

    One other thing worth noting did come out of the Game Radar
    article. With the Signum of Heroism description, mention was made of a
    feat called Resolvo. While it's still unclear what this does, it makes
    mention that using it with the Signum's energy will taunt the target.

    Read more at the

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 03, 2007
    Aelryn
  • We like to keep scouts in the dark.

    With the recent mention of Scouts in beta journal 8, as well as
    recent information from Games Radar, the Scout class was begging for an
    update! Fortunately for them, and you, we listened!

    The mysterious beta tester revealed some feat information for
    us. He mentions a feat called Incapacitating Telum, which seems to be a
    crowd control feat. It puts your target to sleep for 30 seconds, unless
    they take damage, which will break the sleep.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 03, 2007
    Aelryn
  • Well, of course we are. I mean, have you seen the cool clothes? And they had swords! SWORDS!

    Our culture is fixated on past cultures. If you don't believe me merely take a look at the number of movies that have been released that are based in the Roman / Medieval eras. Perpetual Entertainment and the folks at SOE have taken this a step further and have created a game based entirely upon the ancient Roman pantheon, Gods and Heroes. Garrett Fuller had the opportunity to play G&H at Comic-Con '07, and he's relayed back his thoughts on the game in this preview!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 02, 2007
    Aelryn
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net