Archive

City of Villains Previews

  • coh_going_rogue_dual_pistols_04
    City of Heroes: Going Rogue eases players over the first 20 levels into their chosen role of hero, villain, or something in between – the vigilante.
    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jul 28, 2010
    Ethec
  • Over thirteen free expansions, City of Heroes and City of Villains have become a breath of plastic-sleeved four-color air to a market far too accustomed to orcs and elves, and with Issue 14, CoH...

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Mar 02, 2009
    Ethec
  • Help Wanted: Apply Inside
    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 13, 2008
    Ralsu
  • Every so often, a game development company needs to take a calculated risk and step out of their normal comfort zone to create a batch of content that is beyond their normal scope.
    Features, Previews
    Mon, May 19, 2008
    Cody Bye
  • The Villians get epic.

    With Issue 12 on it's way, it's obvious that there are some epic things in store. One of those things is Epic Archetypes for Villians.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Apr 24, 2008
    Morvelaira
  • Beta is over, here come the villains.
    GameCloud have posted their final impressions of the City of Villains beta. The game is scheduled to release on October 31st, with pre-order customers jumping in two days early.

    " Last month we got our first chance to play the beta version of City of Villains, the stand alone expansion to the hit super hero themed MMORPG from developer Cryptic Studios and publisher NCSoft. At the time we wondered how the two separate games would co-exist and if players of the original would leave for the sequel. Since that time NCSoft announced that players would be able to play both games for the same $14.95 a month fee, something that Sony Online pioneered with their $21.95 a month fee for access to all of their MMORPG titles. "

    You can read the entire City of Villains Beta Impressions article at GameCloud.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • At look ahead, at villains and the city they call home.
    GameSpy has posted a preview of City of Villains taking a look at character creation and the gameplay as it stands pre-release. The game should be in a store near you starting on Halloween. Dress up as your favourite villain and head down the mall to get a copy. I might leave the bellaclava at home though.

    " When I was a kid, my Dad and I would spend hours discussing our favorite sci-fi movies, old episodes of Star Trek, or the intricate nuances of comic books. It was during one of those conversations that I noticed something odd. For all the time we spent discussing Batman, or Luke Skywalker or Captain Kirk, we spent much more time discussing the Joker, Darth Vader, or picking apart the political structures of the Romulan Empire (OK, my Dad's a geek, too). When I asked him why we seemed to gravitate toward the villains far more than the heroes of these stories, I remember his answer as if it were yesterday:



    "Villains are more fun.""

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at GameSpy.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Oct 21, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Avault in Alcatraz.
    The Adrenaline Vault have posted their impressions of City of Villains based on their experience at the Alcatraz event held recently. Sean Connery did not feel obliged to comment on this story, or on the movie "The Rock". He did point right at us, yell, "You're the man now dog!" and then uttered this:

    " Outside of the icy grip of death itself, there isn’t much else in this world that can unnerve a man more than being faced with a life sentence inside of the confines of a prison cell. Especially having to spend the rest of your time on Earth locked up and situated on the most infamous island in the United States, Alcatraz. No one ever said that being one of the world’s most wanted criminals was easy, but life on The Rock proved to be more disparate than most of its occupants ever imagined. It was so bad in fact these vile men coined Alcatraz with a new name, “Hellcatraz”. " 

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at AVault.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 17, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The Bad-man of Alcatraz
    No Clint Eastwood, but some big names in MMO gaming (and a few schmoes dressed up as comic book supervillains) were in San Francisco bay to showcase "City of Villains" - next-to-release MMO (late October) and stand-alone sequel to the immensely popular City of Heroes.

    "NCsoft recently held an event in San Francisco, or rather, in the San Francisco Bay, to showcase some of the new features being implemented in their upcoming title, City of Villains – particularly base building and base raids. Held within the confines of Alcatraz Island, Lord Recluse and his right-hand woman, Ghost Widow, were on hand to interest the attendees into joining their league of evil, Arachnos.
    Not to be outdone by these villains, our hero Robert Garriott, CEO NCsoft North America, presented his plan for subscriber domination: Two games, one fee - $14.95."

    Read up on many of CoV's cool features in GameHelper's wrap-up of the City of Villains Alcatraz release party.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 13, 2005
    Ethec
  • The title says "Preview - City of Heroes". The masthead says "City of Heroes". The tab on the page says "Reviews" What you get is a preview of City of Villains. Go Go Gadget!
    MMOGInfo has posted a preview of City of Villains. Jack Nicholson sneered at us before yelling:

    "This is the feeling that many heroes of  Paragon City will have experimented and finally, with the next launching of City of Villains will be able to give loose rein and experience the other side of justice, the side of the evildoers and villains who every day threaten the existence of the innocents to obtain their desires: the complete domination of the free world. Although it's clear that all the players will not think equal, and many will follow faithfuls their defense of the Good, for that reason the true war between the Chaos and the Order is going to start in Paragon City very soon. " 

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at MMOGInfo.
    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Oct 12, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net