Archive

World of Warcraft + Wurm Online + Wrath of the Lich King Reviews

  • The first expansion for Blizzard's uber-selling online RPG launches.

    Yahoo Games has weighed in with their impressions of day one of the Burning Crusade...

    First up, Burning Crusade tackles three problems that have faced Warcraft's character range ever since its launch. Specifically, the Horde can't play paladins, the Alliance can't play shamans, and all the Horde races are an ugly bunch (which is, admittedly, aligned with the faction's nature). Now the full set of character classes is open to both Horde and Alliance players, plus, perhaps more importantly for Alliance-skewed PvP servers, the Horde has a race with cute-looking female models.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jan 17, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A one-year anniversary review.
    GamePlay Monthly has posted a World of Warcraft review just days before the one-year anniversary of the game.

    " It’s November and World of Warcraft has already been out for nearly a year. Although it had a launch that was unstable at best, World of Warcraft has been hailed as one of the greatest Massively Multiplayer Online Games ever created. This may be true, but World of Warcraft stills suffer from many of the same issues that plague the other games of this genre. "

    You can read the World of Warcraft Review at GamePlay Monthly.
    Bagloads of guides, tips and more at the World of Warcraft Community Site at TenTonHammer.com.
    Tired of searching through a dozen sites to find the WoW information you are looking for? Let our World of Warcraft Meta-Search do the work for you.

    Reviews
    Mon, Nov 07, 2005
    Boomjack
  • IGN Reviews WoW "RP-PvP" Ruleset Servers
    Consider it a "no tresspassing" sign for brats, morons, and their ilk.
    IGN takes a look at what makes a WoW roleplaying server a nice alternative to the gank-a-rific flame-fest that gave WoW PvP servers a skanky reputation. Arnold Schwarzenegger, after being terminated one too many times in Molten Core (and using his gubernatorial powers to have the perpetrators summarily executed), recently made the big switch. He quoted this excerpt from the article in a press conference:

    "When it comes down to it, "RP" is more of a special tag that keeps out the jokers, letting those who play well with others do their thing without much hassle. In general, it seems to be a more mature crowd full of people who genuinely enjoy the game and enjoy socializing within it. I've been playing the game since closed beta in April last year (with a few gaps, mind you), and I've experienced my share of hair-pulling aggravation that only a dedicated asstard can generate, so it's nice to come across what looks like a fresh change of pace."

    View the "review" on RP / PvP play in World of Warcraft at IGN.com.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Reviews
    Thu, Oct 06, 2005
    Ethec
  • The subscriber numbers alone are enough to WoW you!

    Blizzard took its renowned Warcraft franchise into the MMO fold in late 2004 and hasn't looked back since. With over 4 million subscribers around the world and a number of new and old MMOs targetting Blizzard's success, how long will World of Warcraft (WoW) retain its title as the new crown prince of MMOs? We don't know, but we can tell you what all the fuss is about! Check out the TTH profile of genre juggernaut "World of Warcraft"!

    "Spurning EverQuest 2's emphasis on established MMO formulas (in short- an emphasis on player cooperation and groups / raids instead of competition and soloing, a zoned rather than continuously loading environment, complex and involved quests within a strong storyline, and a lengthy character progression), World of Warcraft (WoW) focused moreso on heightening the individual experience.

    After the typically shaky, premature launch often associated with MMOs, new players discovered that WoW always delivered something accessible, and markedly fun, to do. Like a breath of fresh air, many casual gamers found in WoW's quest systems (and adventuring experience, in general) something reasonably commensurate with the time invested. And WoW has been gobbling up market share ever since."

    Take a look at the Ten Ton Hammer profile of "World of Warcraft"!

    Reviews
    Thu, Sep 29, 2005
    Ethec
  • Because, let's face it, nobody has heard of World of Warcraft.
    Computer Gaming World has reviewed World of Warcraft. Both people who have not yet played WoW read the following:

    " Rather than focus on a bunch of explicit, boring tutorials, WoW teaches you the ropes and eases you into the game so slyly that you'll barely even notice you're in school. Instead of pitched battles against rabbits, cats, rats, and other tiny animals that you could kill in real life without much effort, the game immediately pits you against actual monsters. Garden-variety animals exist--you're just not expected to fight them. They merely hop around and occasionally get devoured by a passing predator. Since there aren't any artificial zone boundaries, you're free to wander wherever you want to right from the start, which removes the penned-in feeling common to low-level characters in most other MMORPGs. "

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft Review at Computer Gaming World.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Thu, Aug 25, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Patch Reviews. Next, twinkle in their eye reviews.
    GamersInfo.net has posted a review of World of Warcraft after the 1.6 patch. Vin Diesel is able to patch his own injuries in seconds, making him invulnerable:

    "World of Warcraft (or WoW for short) is a Massively Multiplayer Online RolePlaying Game or MMORPG. This means that you play on one (at a time, at least) of a number of servers with thousands of people on at the same time. That's the first choice you have in WoW: what type of server you want to play on."

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft 1.6 Review at GamersInfo.net.

    Reviews
    Thu, Aug 11, 2005
    Boomjack
  • How many Night Elf rogues does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
    World of Warcraft Battlegrounds has been given the once, twice, three times the charm treatment at GameSpy. They might have even written this:

    "We've been to Warsong and Alterac and lived to tell the tale, now two of GameSpy's WoW PvP veterans relate their war stories."

     

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft - Battlegrounds After- Action Report at GameSpy.

    Reviews
    Thu, Jun 16, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Battlegrounds is here.
    IGN has posted an impressions article covering World of Warcraft Battlegrounds. It goes something like this:

    "You'll be entering an instance and will have to wait in a queue, and today it was a fairly long one, averaging 30-45 minutes before you could actually get in on the action. On the bright side, you don't have to stand there in the tunnel like a doofus--you can travel anywhere in the world, even another instance, and basically do whatever it is you would do, were you not waiting to get into the Valley. A small icon will be placed on your compass in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, telling you how long you've been waiting and when Blizzard estimates you'll be inside. You can also pop up a menu here that will allow you to leave the queue or enter another."

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft Battlegrounds Impressions Article at IGN.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Please, if the sun rises tomorrow take a few minutes and get a World of Warcraft review out there so folks can tell if it's good or not.
    Quandary has written a review of World of Warcraft. They might have written this:

    "So before I start this review I have to say that I can't compare WOW with any other MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game), and please excuse me if I get any of the jargon wrong. What I intend to do is call on my long experience of CRPGs. I should also point out that I am playing on a pve (player vs. environment) as opposed to a pvp (player vs. player) server, so not once have I been attacked by another player outside of duelling which I've tried a couple of times. So life is easy in this respect."

    Read the entire World of Warcraft Review at Quandary.

    Reviews
    Mon, Jun 06, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net