Archive

World of Warcraft + Wurm Online + Wrath of the Lich King Previews

  • TrustedReviews Offers a Preview

    World of Warcraft's upcoming expansion, The Burning Crusade is the subject of the latest update on TrustedReviews site. They offer a preview today that gives their view of the expansion.

    Unless you’ve been living in a gaming vacuum for the past couple of years, you will have heard of World of Warcraft. To call WoW a phenomenon is an understatement of epic proportions, and to be honest I don’t think that anyone, Blizzard included, realised just how massive this game was going to be. There are always stories in the media about obsessive gamers that lose whole weekends, or even weeks to their favourite game, but WoW took this sickness to another level!

    Get clicking to find out how they scored this preview! Do you agree with their postion? Let us know in the WoW Ten Ton Hammer forums today.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Sep 19, 2006
    LadySirse
  • New Details and Video Interviews

    UGO has posted this preview and video selection after a look at the upcoming WoW expansion, The Burning Crusade.

    So you quit a couple months ago. You were so done with World of Warcraft. You thought you saw everything there was to see, from Blackrock Spire to the Eastern Plague Lands. But here comes Blizzard, ready to steal your life away yet again. World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade will introduce two new races, ten new levels and a boatload of new quests that are sure to keep you inside until 2009.

    Get clicking and read the full preview. When you're done don't forget to stop by WoW Ten Ton Hammer and let us know your thoughts on The Burning Crusade in the forums!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Aug 14, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Hooked on WoW?

    Hooked on Games has posted a preview of WoW's soon to be released expansion The Burning Crusade. Keep reading to see how they think this expansion is shaping up.

    The first new race being introduced to the Horde by the expansion is the Blood Elves. The Blood Elves are outcasts of there native homelands, driven out and stripped of their eternal life after they became corrupted by the very magic in which they sought out to possess. Currently the class selection available for the Blood elves will be Rogue, Mage, Warlock, Priest, and Warrior. Their racial traits will be centered around using magic. These traits will include Mana Tap, which gives the Blood Elf the power to drain mana from an opponent, and Arcane Torrent, which silences an opponent for two seconds.

    Check out the rest of this preview and don't forget to head over to WoW Ten Ton Hammer for all the latest news, information and interviews. Stop by the forums and share your thoughts with us about this upcoming expansion.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jul 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Actiontrip Takes a Look at The Burning Crusades

    Actiontrip.com posted a preview of WoW's forthcoming expansion, The Burning Crusades. Did they like what they saw or think that it needs to head back to the drawing board? Keep reading to find out.

    It goes without saying, but yes, World of Warcraft is the most successful MMORPG of all time. It is the 800-lb gorilla of MMORPGs, but what’s striking is that WoW is the first game to truly bridge the gap between hardcore gamers and the mainstream crowds. Blizzard’s giant cash cow is becoming a part of popular culture, supplanting The Sims as the “it” game of choice for both gamers and non-gamers alike.

    Head over to Actiontrip.com to read the rest of the preview. Don't forget to visit WoW Ten Ton Hammer for all your latest WoW news and information!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jul 10, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Burning for more info on the WoW expansion?

    GamingExcellence offers its take on the late 2006 expansion to the ridiculously popular fantasy MMO World of Warcraft. Included is a more detailed look at the "world event" that will open the "Dark Portal" from Azeroth to Outland than I've seen anywhere.

    So what is offered to devoted players in The Burning Crusade? First and foremost on anyone's list would be the hundreds of hours of new gameplay in a completely new area for high-level characters. This begins with the opening of the Dark Portal from Azeroth to Outland, which will be similar to a world-event, but will not require that all players be in the same area to experience it. Although the details were sketchy at this point, Blizzard has stated that regardless of where you may happen to be on the world map when this occurs on your server, and regardless of your level, you will experience something akin to hell freezing over. Or the gates to hell opening up and unleashing monsters like you have never seen before. Or the announcement of Starcraft 2 followed by a server crash. Okay, so the last one was a stretch, but I assure you that whatever does happen, you will want to be online for it, even if your character is still only level 25 or so.

    The server crash scenario seems most likely. Anyway, check out "The Burning Crusade" preview at GamingExcellence, then saunter on over to the WoW @ Ten Ton Hammer community site for all your other WoW information needs.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, May 31, 2006
    Ethec
  • You will accept my God or I will kill you, because he is a kind and caring God. And so begins the crusade.
    ComputerAndVideoGames, the site with the longest name in MMOG circles has posted a preview of World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusades.

    "
    There is a life beyond the world as you know it. I know because I've just been there. But right now I'm sitting in an office in Irvine, California, and sitting opposite me is Blizzard's creative director Chris Metzen, the man whose mind provides the motivation every time an orc raises an axe in anger. Every major nugget of Warcraft lore has passed through his hands - Frozen Thrones, Dark Portals, you name it. He's the man who gives meaning to your daily grind. He's also a full-on rock star: wide grin, muscular build, dazzling necklace, chunky rings and Bono sunglasses. He's the closest man to Henry Rollins the games industry has. And I'm here to hear him talk Orc. "

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusades Preview at ComputerAndVideoGames.
    And there's more!

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Nov 14, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Blizzard's Redux of "Timecop"
    Jean Cluade Van Damme kind of looks like a Tauren, hmm... but you'll see what I mean about "Timecop" in a second. On another note, our British friends at CVG just posted the nuttiest preview I've ever read. I'll stand back and let a one of the tamer snippets fly:

    "That's right, your character is about to make an amazing journey through time and space to some of the most pivotal moments in Warcraft history - all thanks to a handy dungeon managed by a Flight of Bronze Dragons whose humdrum task is to police the timestream. Although they're clearly not very good at it, seeing as anyone of sufficient level (and owning the expansion pack) will be able to wander into their Tanaris lair, speed up to 88mph and hurtle through history. You'll be there on the Black Morass the day the Black Portal was opened, before the land was blighted and split between the Blasted Land and the Swamp of Sorrows, with an environment being made pixel for pixel just as it was in Warcraft II. You'll be one of a party who rescue future orc leader Thrall from a distinctly non-ruined and highly turreted Durnhold keep. You'll even be present atop Mount Hyjal on the fateful day in Reign of Chaos when all the races joined together to put the boot into the wicked bad Archimonde."

    Sounds like fun. More English enthusiasm from the CVG Preview of Burning Crusade here.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Nov 11, 2005
    Ethec
  • The crusades, the crusades, the crusades are on Fire.... we don't need no water, we need more gameplay.
    ActionTrip has posted a World of Warcraft: Burning Crusades preview. .

    " In my long years of being a game junkie I have never encountered an ethereal substance as potent as whatever it is that's trickling from my monitor screen when I'm playing World of Warcraft. Still, I take solace in the fact that I'm just one of the four and something million souls feeding off the mysterious trickling substance. We need it to trickle as we need the air we breathe and the food we ingest. And if someone asks you, I'm not addicted. Nope. I deny the existence of the word 'denial' and that's that. I'm fine. (The first step in breaking an addiction is to admit you have a problem -Mo.)"

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft: Burning Crusades Preview at Action Trip.
    Not enough? Hit our World of Warcraft Community Site or the Meta-Search Tool, or heck, more WoW News.
     

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The Burning Crusade, everywhere and anywhere.
    Jolt has posted a preview of World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade.

    "

    For such a successful game in the genre, the announcement of a
    commercial add-on is as surprising as waking up to find that you
    haven’t changed into a female Night Elf after all [What!? – Ed], and it’s with an equal level of astonishment that we learn it will contain new lands, dungeons, items, quests and playable races, as well as offer an increased level cap. "

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade Preview at Jolt.
    Other Interesting Links:

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 02, 2005
    Boomjack
  • What's a crusade without some burning?

    GamePro weighs in on the World of Warcraft expansion madness in the first BlizzCon article that doesn't look like it was written on a cold expo hall cafeteria floor. Flyable mounts, new spells for everyone level 40+, and a new tradeskill class- Jewelcrafting- made an impression on GamePro.

    The new Blood Elf race is based in a new region of Quel'Thalas with areas for level 1-10 and 11-20 characters. Although originally the noble High Elves, the Blood Elves became corrupt in their insatiable hunger for arcane power. This is reflected in their racial attributes, which gives the race two exclusive abilities: Mana Tap and Arcane Torrent. Mana Tap (20 yard range, 10 second cooldown) is a stackable ability similar to Rogue's combo points that drains 50 mana from the target, which is then converted into arcane energy. Stackable three times, the power then can be unleashed with Arcane Torrent (8 yard range, 2 minute cooldown), which converts the energy into 5 Rage per "combo point," or 140 mana per point. The known class choices so far for Blood Elves are Warriors, Warlocks, Mages and Priests. Will there be Blood Elf Rogues that can convert mana into energy? Blizzard has yet to finalize the class choices, so that remains to be seen.

    GamePro's BlizzCon coverage of the World of Warcraft expansion, here!

    Related links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 31, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net