Archive

World of Warcraft + EVE Online + Star Wars: The Old Republic Reviews

  • IGN Reviews WoW "RP-PvP" Ruleset Servers
    Consider it a "no tresspassing" sign for brats, morons, and their ilk.
    IGN takes a look at what makes a WoW roleplaying server a nice alternative to the gank-a-rific flame-fest that gave WoW PvP servers a skanky reputation. Arnold Schwarzenegger, after being terminated one too many times in Molten Core (and using his gubernatorial powers to have the perpetrators summarily executed), recently made the big switch. He quoted this excerpt from the article in a press conference:

    "When it comes down to it, "RP" is more of a special tag that keeps out the jokers, letting those who play well with others do their thing without much hassle. In general, it seems to be a more mature crowd full of people who genuinely enjoy the game and enjoy socializing within it. I've been playing the game since closed beta in April last year (with a few gaps, mind you), and I've experienced my share of hair-pulling aggravation that only a dedicated asstard can generate, so it's nice to come across what looks like a fresh change of pace."

    View the "review" on RP / PvP play in World of Warcraft at IGN.com.
    Other links you might enjoy:

    Reviews
    Thu, Oct 06, 2005
    Ethec
  • The subscriber numbers alone are enough to WoW you!

    Blizzard took its renowned Warcraft franchise into the MMO fold in late 2004 and hasn't looked back since. With over 4 million subscribers around the world and a number of new and old MMOs targetting Blizzard's success, how long will World of Warcraft (WoW) retain its title as the new crown prince of MMOs? We don't know, but we can tell you what all the fuss is about! Check out the TTH profile of genre juggernaut "World of Warcraft"!

    "Spurning EverQuest 2's emphasis on established MMO formulas (in short- an emphasis on player cooperation and groups / raids instead of competition and soloing, a zoned rather than continuously loading environment, complex and involved quests within a strong storyline, and a lengthy character progression), World of Warcraft (WoW) focused moreso on heightening the individual experience.

    After the typically shaky, premature launch often associated with MMOs, new players discovered that WoW always delivered something accessible, and markedly fun, to do. Like a breath of fresh air, many casual gamers found in WoW's quest systems (and adventuring experience, in general) something reasonably commensurate with the time invested. And WoW has been gobbling up market share ever since."

    Take a look at the Ten Ton Hammer profile of "World of Warcraft"!

    Reviews
    Thu, Sep 29, 2005
    Ethec
  • EVE defies the trends...

    Eurogamer ponders why, in a crowded genre rife with games undergoing a full-fledged identity crisis, EVE seems to have just the right balance between giving players what they want while not cheapening the experience- it seems you have to have something to do and something to lose!

    As if by way of illustrating what a cruel game Eve can be, I just lost a fight in my most expensive, well-to-do battleship only minutes before opening up this page to write these words. The ship is dust and I'm royally pissed off. Way more pissed off than I would be at dying in almost any other game. While other MMOs might have coddled me with just a bit of money lost, or a few XP as punishment for my pitiful death, Eve has created several hours of concerted work. It's a bitch.

    This might not sound like a good start for an upbeat analysis of Elite's (remarkably pretty) online cousin, but it's losses like this one that give the game its raw edge. Like the thrill of gambling, player vs. player combat in Eve is exciting because you could lose something palpable: the time it took to make the game-money that paid for that ship, along with all the shiny gizmos I kitted it out with. You feel that loss in your guts. And there are few games that can boast that.

    I don't think you'll be disappointed if you read the rest of this nifty Eurogamer review of EVE Online.

    Reviews
    Thu, Sep 15, 2005
    Ethec
  • On the EVE of the 2005 holiday season...

    We take a look at the surprise upstart EVE Online. Not familiar? Neither was I until this two year old space-based tactical MMO (with enough of a hyper-capitalistic flavor to make Donald Trump wet his pants!) started making headlines again.

    Humans, curious buggers that we are, began colonizing the uncharted environs on the other side of a recently discovered wormhole called "Eve." Five races (4 of which are playable) evolved into rival nations of varying strength, bound together by a fragile peace. When "Eve" catastrophically exploded, bringing widespread ruin to the fledgling "New Eden" settlements, the colonists began a scramble to consolidate power into organizations and corporate entities. Their restless search of resources to ensure their continued survival and prosperity brought the settlers ever closer to greater threats, the greatest of which just might be... themselves (cue the dramatic music)!!

    Join TTH as we see just what all the fuss is about: EVE Online: The Second Genesis, profiled by Ten Ton Hammer!

    Reviews
    Thu, Sep 08, 2005
    Ethec
  • Because, let's face it, nobody has heard of World of Warcraft.
    Computer Gaming World has reviewed World of Warcraft. Both people who have not yet played WoW read the following:

    " Rather than focus on a bunch of explicit, boring tutorials, WoW teaches you the ropes and eases you into the game so slyly that you'll barely even notice you're in school. Instead of pitched battles against rabbits, cats, rats, and other tiny animals that you could kill in real life without much effort, the game immediately pits you against actual monsters. Garden-variety animals exist--you're just not expected to fight them. They merely hop around and occasionally get devoured by a passing predator. Since there aren't any artificial zone boundaries, you're free to wander wherever you want to right from the start, which removes the penned-in feeling common to low-level characters in most other MMORPGs. "

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft Review at Computer Gaming World.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Thu, Aug 25, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Patch Reviews. Next, twinkle in their eye reviews.
    GamersInfo.net has posted a review of World of Warcraft after the 1.6 patch. Vin Diesel is able to patch his own injuries in seconds, making him invulnerable:

    "World of Warcraft (or WoW for short) is a Massively Multiplayer Online RolePlaying Game or MMORPG. This means that you play on one (at a time, at least) of a number of servers with thousands of people on at the same time. That's the first choice you have in WoW: what type of server you want to play on."

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft 1.6 Review at GamersInfo.net.

    Reviews
    Thu, Aug 11, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Adam Online still in production.
    GameIndustryNews has reviewed EVE Online. They mined and enjoyed the beauties of space and maybe even wrote this:

    "But all of that is something you will probably notice later. The first thing that will grip you is the fact that this is one of the most beautiful titles ever created. Space here looks completely real, or I should say, it looks like everyone thinks the ideal version of space should appear. There are gorgeous nebulae clouds, colorful planets made of rock and ice, space stations glittering with light and glowing suns that cast their rays out across the darkness. You look at the amazing frontier all around you and just ache to explore it."

    You can read the entire EVE Online Review at GameIndustryNews.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jul 13, 2005
    Boomjack
  • How many Night Elf rogues does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
    World of Warcraft Battlegrounds has been given the once, twice, three times the charm treatment at GameSpy. They might have even written this:

    "We've been to Warsong and Alterac and lived to tell the tale, now two of GameSpy's WoW PvP veterans relate their war stories."

     

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft - Battlegrounds After- Action Report at GameSpy.

    Reviews
    Thu, Jun 16, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Battlegrounds is here.
    IGN has posted an impressions article covering World of Warcraft Battlegrounds. It goes something like this:

    "You'll be entering an instance and will have to wait in a queue, and today it was a fairly long one, averaging 30-45 minutes before you could actually get in on the action. On the bright side, you don't have to stand there in the tunnel like a doofus--you can travel anywhere in the world, even another instance, and basically do whatever it is you would do, were you not waiting to get into the Valley. A small icon will be placed on your compass in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, telling you how long you've been waiting and when Blizzard estimates you'll be inside. You can also pop up a menu here that will allow you to leave the queue or enter another."

    You can read the entire World of Warcraft Battlegrounds Impressions Article at IGN.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Please, if the sun rises tomorrow take a few minutes and get a World of Warcraft review out there so folks can tell if it's good or not.
    Quandary has written a review of World of Warcraft. They might have written this:

    "So before I start this review I have to say that I can't compare WOW with any other MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game), and please excuse me if I get any of the jargon wrong. What I intend to do is call on my long experience of CRPGs. I should also point out that I am playing on a pve (player vs. environment) as opposed to a pvp (player vs. player) server, so not once have I been attacked by another player outside of duelling which I've tried a couple of times. So life is easy in this respect."

    Read the entire World of Warcraft Review at Quandary.

    Reviews
    Mon, Jun 06, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net