Archive

Guild Wars + Guild Wars 2 Reviews

  • A Guild Wars review, can you believe it?
    Guild Wars has been reviewed at Computer Games Online. We are relatively certain that Microsoft has not decided to call their next edition of Windows OS:

    "One resemblance between the above mentioned titles and Guild Wars is the ability to support simultaneously hundreds of thousands of players, but the main difference here is that Guild Wars is made up entirely of two types of instances. Cities act as meeting locations for the players. Each city is divided into districts, which can accommodate a maximum of 150 players. If this number is topped, a new district will be created and vice-versa. As you can see, the limited number of players in an area negates the “massively” characteristic, which is specific to other MMORPG’s, making the cities act like instances. On the other hand, you can meet your friends by joining the same district, and if they are on a different server - North America, Asia (South Korea) or Europe - you can choose one of the international districts."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Computer Games Online.

    Reviews
    Mon, Jun 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Guild Wars, reviewed yet again, but with a twist.
    Firing Squad has reviewed Guild Wars. Legal theorists are at a complete loss to explain as to why Jay Leno would
    have to testify as to the following:

    "Rushing to pick the game up, complete with the little EB special weapon, I logged in, created a few characters, wandered around, read about the introduction and how the real gameplay doesn’t begin until after the searing (typically level 3-6). After that, I could group with 4 or more people on missions and quests as I leveled my way to 20, which was only the first half of the game – then I could continue gathering skills, defend my guild hall or attack others’. Those times when my guild wasn’t on, I could adventure with AI compatriots.



    By the end of my first night, I was bored to tears."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Firing Squad.

    Reviews
    Fri, Jun 24, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Guild Wars, reviewed yet again, but with a twist.
    Firing Squad has reviewed Guild Wars. Legal theorists are at a complete loss to explain as to why Jay Leno would
    have to testify as to the following:

    "Rushing to pick the game up, complete with the little EB special weapon, I logged in, created a few characters, wandered around, read about the introduction and how the real gameplay doesn’t begin until after the searing (typically level 3-6). After that, I could group with 4 or more people on missions and quests as I leveled my way to 20, which was only the first half of the game – then I could continue gathering skills, defend my guild hall or attack others’. Those times when my guild wasn’t on, I could adventure with AI compatriots.



    By the end of my first night, I was bored to tears."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Firing Squad.

    Reviews
    Fri, Jun 24, 2005
    Boomjack
  • MMORPG - No Fee.
    Bit-tech has joined the flood and reviewed Guild Wars. They wrote this, maybe:

    "Forget what you know about MMORPGs, because Guild Wars takes the concepts and throws them out of the window. Number One: there are no fees to pay each month. You pay for the game upfront, like any other game, then you play it online as much as you want. Number Two: forget spending ages on mundane tasks like sleeping, or healing, or crafting. In Guild Wars, you spend more of your time questing and less of your time fiddling. Number Three: don't worry about queuing to take on big quests. You won't be sharing them with others."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Bit-Tech.
    The best Guild Wars community on the InterWeb is only a click away at GuildWars.TenTonHammer.com.

    Reviews
    Thu, Jun 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • MMORPG - No Fee.
    Bit-tech has joined the flood and reviewed Guild Wars. They wrote this, maybe:

    "Forget what you know about MMORPGs, because Guild Wars takes the concepts and throws them out of the window. Number One: there are no fees to pay each month. You pay for the game upfront, like any other game, then you play it online as much as you want. Number Two: forget spending ages on mundane tasks like sleeping, or healing, or crafting. In Guild Wars, you spend more of your time questing and less of your time fiddling. Number Three: don't worry about queuing to take on big quests. You won't be sharing them with others."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Bit-Tech.
    The best Guild Wars community on the InterWeb is only a click away at GuildWars.TenTonHammer.com.

    Reviews
    Thu, Jun 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The love-in continues.
    MMORPG.com has posted their review of Guild Wars. It's probable that they wrote this:

    "Led by a development team of industry veterans (many of whom hail from the hallowed halls of Blizzard) Guild Wars has had high expectations laid upon it by both its creators and many in the player community. Close scrutiny has been given the game throughout its long development and beta periods, with the Devs responding quickly and decisively to rectify game bugs and address player concerns."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at MMORPG.com.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The love-in continues.
    MMORPG.com has posted their review of Guild Wars. It's probable that they wrote this:

    "Led by a development team of industry veterans (many of whom hail from the hallowed halls of Blizzard) Guild Wars has had high expectations laid upon it by both its creators and many in the player community. Close scrutiny has been given the game throughout its long development and beta periods, with the Devs responding quickly and decisively to rectify game bugs and address player concerns."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at MMORPG.com.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Another Guild Wars review spills onto the Interweb.
    Business Week Online has posted a review of Guild Wars. We're almost positive that they might have written this:

    "It's definitely not your typical online role-playing game. Best of all: You only have to pay for "Guild Wars" ($50, T-rated) once. There are no extra fees, unlike most similar games, which charge about $15 per month to keep playing."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Business Week Online.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Another Guild Wars review spills onto the Interweb.
    Business Week Online has posted a review of Guild Wars. We're almost positive that they might have written this:

    "It's definitely not your typical online role-playing game. Best of all: You only have to pay for "Guild Wars" ($50, T-rated) once. There are no extra fees, unlike most similar games, which charge about $15 per month to keep playing."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Business Week Online.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Someone removed their finger from the dyke and another Guild Wars review spilled out.
    BonusStage has posted a review of Guild Wars. We are nearly certain that they wrote this:

    "When it comes to Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games (MMORPG), gamers either love them or hate them, there’s rarely a middle ground. Something fans and non-fans alike would agree on hating however is the “pay as you play” monthly fee MMOs charge to play. Who with a sane mind actually likes paying 10 to 15 bucks a month after laying down a fifty-spot just to buy the game in the first place? As someone who absolutely loves a great MMORPG, even I have grown sick and tired of the fees. That’s why when NCsoft announced Guild Wars, a quasi-MMORPG with completely free online play, I gave up any care I had for the rash of upcoming (and now released) high profile titles like World of Warcraft and EverQuest 2 and held out for its arrival. After a long wait and numerous squelched urges to give those “other” MMOs a try, Guild Wars has arrived at long last and I’m so thankful for its creation, and you most certainly should be too."

    You can read the entireGuild Wars review at BonusStage.com.

    Reviews
    Tue, Jun 07, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net