Archive

Guild Wars Reviews

  • Nightfall Review At Atomic Gamer

    AtomicGamer.com has posted an interesting review of the recently released expansion to Guild Wars.

    The most notable of the additions made in Nightfall are the Heroes. As you go through the story of the game, you’ll unlock various heroes. You can only ever have 3 in your party at once, but there’s a good reason for that. See, these heroes are totally customizable by you, the player. Want a Monk/Necromancer that never really has mana issues? How about an AE-focused elementalist? Go for it – you can decide how the character’s skill points are spent, alter said skill points just like you would with your character and will have access to any skills you’ve previously unlocked with your main character.

    Keep reading to learn more. Have you played Nightfall? Share your experiences with us in our Ten Ton Hammer Forums. Don't forget to head over to our Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer Community site to see all the latest news and information on all things Guild Wars!

    Reviews
    Tue, Nov 14, 2006
    LadySirse
  • A Look at Factions

    GotFrag EXE has posted a review of Guild Wars Factions this week. Keep reading to see how they rate it.

    As the rest of the world revels in its addiction to World of Warcraft (see the latest trends here: www.mmogchart.com) many people have migrated to the Guild Wars world of gaming. Even the VP at my day job once said, "You ought to join us on Guild Wars sometime". I was shocked, mainly because he travels so much that I could hardly imagine that he'd have the time.

    Read the full review and see if you agree with the folks at GotFang EXE. Think they hit the mark or did their opinion fall flat for you? Let us know at Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer.

    Reviews
    Thu, Aug 03, 2006
    LadySirse
  • How is Guild Wars Factions Shaping Up?

    ActionTrip.com has taken the time to give Guild Wars: Factions a spin and let us know what they think. Check out this review and the great screenshots as well...

    Given the rules of the cutthroat world of business, do you think that people at NCSoft like and respect the guys from Blizzard? Wait, let me rephrase that: I have to assume they surely do not *like* them, but do you think that feelings render into this equation at all, or is it all just politics devoid of any emotions? Guild Wars, unlike some other releases from NCSoft, doesn't follow the typical MMO model, but it still plays like a MMO game in many regards. So given the phenomenal success of WOW, and the relatively overlapping target audience of these two games, isn't it logical to assume that NCSoft management is thinking something along the lines of: "…if only we didn't have those bastards breathing down our necks every step of the way…" To be honest with you, that's exactly what I'd be thinking. But I'm a petty, petty soul.

    What are you waiting for? Get clicking and find out if the folks at ActionTrip.com think that this expansion of Guild Wars is a hit or miss! I know you're dying to tell us your thoughts about this so head over to Guild Wars Ten Ton Hammer and speak up!

    Reviews
    Thu, Jul 27, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Factions earns an 8.5 out of 10 from Cnet

    Citing well-balanced classes and pristine graphics, Cnet gives Guild Wars a must-play rating. This, despite complaints about the clunky chat interface, a frail storyline, and felt inability to smoothly team-up with other players.

    Having both the original game and Factions installed adds still more layers of complexity, by letting you experience the content from the respective continents in new ways, with characters who originated on the other side. Like in the first game, just the sheer number of things to see and do in Guild Wars Factions is quite amazing, and there are enough different styles of gameplay available that you'll more than likely find aspects you really enjoy and get hooked on. In some ways this is an imposing, complicated game, but since it doesn't punish you for experimenting (apart from the possibility of a tongue-lashing from fellow players), and since it doesn't saddle you with monthly fees, it's really quite hard to resist.

    Read the rest of this Guild Wars Factions review at Cnet, then consult our Guild Wars @ Ten Ton Hammer community site for all the GuW news and info you'll need!

    Reviews
    Fri, Jul 07, 2006
    Ethec
  • Revenge of the nerds...

    The folks at PC Advisor put on their horn-rimmed glasses to scope out the standalone Factions expansion to last year's popular subscription-free MMO, Guild Wars. Turns out they liked everything except the interface and ineffective AI henchmen.

    For most quests you'll need to recruit other players to assist you. Unfortunately, the interface and chat system makes it difficult to make meaningful contact with fellow gamers, with the result that you'll spend a lot of time standing around just trying to form a group. You can recruit computer-controlled characters, but groups formed in this way are dull and not terribly effective.

    For more commentary on Guild Wars Factions, head over to the Guild Wars Factions review at PC Advisor. If you're left wanting more, check out our very own geeky Guild Wars news and info you can use at Ten Ton Hammer Guild Wars community site.

    Reviews
    Fri, Jul 07, 2006
    Ethec
  • Prophecies about Factions

    AtomicGamer takes a look at Guild Wars Factions, giving the high-priced expansion to the original Guild Wars Prophecies a 92%.

    After you hit the cap, the game is far from over in PvE land. See, you'll still be able to do missions and will need those 20 levels under your belt to pull them off. These missions are not easy, either - you'll need your party to actually be playing up to its potential to have any sort of regular success. The missions and quests will take you all over the newly added continent of Cantha; an Asian-themed set of lands. You'll see samurai-style armor, katanas and obviously Asian-looking characters. This style definitely appeals to multiple crowds and might help to pull in others that are big fans of most anything Oriental - the game is quick and simple enough to pick up by most anyone and also doesn't cost anything from month to month.

    View the AtomicGamer review of Guild Wars Factions, then check out our E3 impressions of the expansion as well as our Guild Wars community site.

    Reviews
    Wed, May 17, 2006
    Ethec
  • Guild Wars, hammered.

    Part review, part synopsis, the TTH crew takes a candid look at a subscription-free success story. NCSoft re-entered the Massively Multiplayer scene in early 2005 via a young upstart developer called Arena.net, and Guild Wars was set to face off with two established persistant-world heavyweights.

    It turns out that Guild Wars was unique enough to carve a stable niche for itself, but are 20 levels enough to keep players from turning their attention to the next big thing?

    "New players notice a few things about Guild Wars right off the bat. First comes the choice of "player vs. environment" (PvE) or "player vs. player" (PvP) - a theme that pervades the game as Arena.net races to develop and balance the game for the heavily segmented player base. In any case, with PvE you'll start at level 1 and explore, equip, and adventure your way to level 20, choosing your own unique blend of primary and secondary subclass (more on this in a moment) along the way.

    Under the PvP ruleset, you'll start at level 20, with a decently-developed primary / secondary skillset and the ability to equip a baseline set of equipment (you can later utilize equipment and templates "unlocked" through previous PvP successes- unlocked equipment is tied to the account, so players don't lose it when they delete a PvP character). PvP and PvE both have the ability to change the size and a few of the appearance attributes of their character and color of their starter armor."

    Click here to see the TTH Guild Wars profile!

    Other links you might enjoy:

    Reviews
    Mon, Oct 24, 2005
    Ethec
  • Guild Wars, rated G for Good.
    GamersInfo has posted a review of Guild Wars with predictable results. Britney Spears was too busy eating to talk, but amid the spitting of crumbs and the slurping of cola we heard this:

    "
    There have been many MMORPGs released into the market as of late. ArenaNet's entry into this market, Guild Wars, attempts to change many of the elements that have become the standard in MMOs today, while at the same time keeping many of the most basic principles of what an MMORPG is. One of the changes to the traditional MMORPG is the lack of a monthly fee. ArenaNet has decided to make money solely by releasing expansions. The gameplay in this game is fun and easy to get the feel for. It looks as well as sounds great, and it runs well on most computers. " 

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at GamersInfo.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Wed, Oct 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • One million copies sold and one more review written.
    ReWiredMind has posted their review of Guild Wars. Martha Stewart asked to call her back at a more convenient time, but we prefer to pretend that she said this:

    "
    My quest for a free and quality MUD or MMORPG has been long and, so I
    thought, fruitless. A couple of years ago I was able to find Achaea, a text-based MUD populated by people that not only wanted to roleplay, but who were also more than happy to indulge in gratuitous (but relevant) PVP on continental scales. To become skilled in this game required a knowledge of programming for the various MUD programs used, plus there were no graphics which proved to be a big downer for me towards the end. " 

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at ReWiredMind.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Mon, Oct 03, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Late to the dance, but high on the list.
    Strategy Informer got around to reviewing Guild Wars and it comes as no surprise that they liked it. We asked Ray Romano of Everybody Loves Raymond if he would consider an Everyone Loves Guild Wars T.V. sitcom and he replied:

    " Lately we've seen allot of MMORPG-s hitting the market, in the franchise caused by World of Warcraft. Many of those games went completely unnoticed, or have even been shut down (as we've seen with The Matrix Online and Asheron's Call 2). Guild Wars is not one of them. What the crew at Arenanet has to offer was fresh, and not just "another game in the line", but something quite different... read on, you'll find out what. "

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Strategy Informer.
    Related Links:

     

    Reviews
    Mon, Sep 26, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net