Archive

Guild Wars Reviews

  • More PvP, man on man, woman on woman review goodness.
    The Junkyard has reviewed Guild Wars. Gary Coleman requested polited that we interview him. We politely refused, get it, refuse...Junkyard... bah..Here's what Coleman said:

    " When someone says, "RPG", what do you think of? I would come back with either rocket propelled grenade or a story-driven game involving leveling and lots of monsters/bad guys. Add the prefix "online" and I get monthly fees and other people to romp around with. Guild Wars is something new. While it obeys some old RPG laws, it has also broken or bent others and introduced a few new ones. The end result is something unique and, if I may, something pretty frickin' awesome. "

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at The Junkyard. [Thanks Shacknews]
    Related Links

    Reviews
    Fri, Sep 16, 2005
    Boomjack
  • PvP With No Monthly Fee Says Killer Betty.
    Killer Betties has posted a review of Guild Wars. Killer Veronica was unavailable for comment, as was Jughead, but we are confident had they responded they would not have said this:

    "When compared to the other Massive Multiplayer Online games around,
    Guild Wars is fairly unique. It has no subscription fees, and thus, no
    credit card. If all you want to do is purchase the game from your local
    game retailer…fine. That’s all you need to purchase. However, there are chapters released every six months with exciting new game content and skills, although NCSoft stresses that these are completely optional and players will not be barred from PVP (player vs. player) combat if they have not bought the latest chapter. "

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Killer Betties.
    Related Links:

    Reviews
    Mon, Sep 12, 2005
    Boomjack
  • For newcomers to MMOGs (and Guild Wars in particular)...

    Chris Pickering with UK's PC Review.com has published a fairly milktoast review on Guild Wars. It serves well, however, to acquaint newcomers to the game and its premise:

    Now Guild Wars is quite a different beast from the likes of World of Warcraft or Everquest. While these games rely on monthly subscriptions to cover all kinds of costs, with Guild Wars you never pay anything more than the initial purchase in your local gaming emporium. Again, where the other big hitters in the genre require incredible numbers of hours put in, in order to get to any kind of decent in game level, Guild Wars requires you to display your intelligence and skill. With the in game level cap set at 20, which is reachable in quite speedy time, your own skill is required if your going to ‘beat’ the game.

    Read on by clicking here!

    Reviews
    Sun, Aug 07, 2005
    Ethec
  • Please, please for the love of Pete, somebody tell us if Guild Wars is any good.
    Gaming Excellence has posted a review of Guild Wars. They made a warrior/monk and then wrote this:

    "While Guild Wars may have been a game that came out of nowhere for many of us, it in no way makes it lacking in quality. In fact, I am hard-pressed to find any PC game that has shipped recently that feels more solid and complete out of the box. From its quick installation (2 disc install that does not require any play disc afterwards) to its fantastic Guild Wars Manuscript; a 144-page book that painstakingly details the world of Guild Wars, you will find yourself wowed from the start. The first time you launch the game, you will also be taken aback by how quickly the login screen pops up and afterwards, how quickly it loads all the gaming worlds. Creating a character is painless and once you actually launch the game, it is truly amazing to behold. All of Guild Wars’ information is server side and the game automatically streams required updates and installs them transparently to the user in a matter of seconds. I have never seen a game load faster, on PC or console, than Guild Wars and it may not mean much to many, but waiting to play when you don’t have hours in front of you is important to me. The internet code is fast, lag-free and optimized brilliantly."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Gaming Excellence.

    Reviews
    Mon, Jul 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • A Guild Wars review, can you believe it?
    Guild Wars has been reviewed at Computer Games Online. We are relatively certain that Microsoft has not decided to call their next edition of Windows OS:

    "One resemblance between the above mentioned titles and Guild Wars is the ability to support simultaneously hundreds of thousands of players, but the main difference here is that Guild Wars is made up entirely of two types of instances. Cities act as meeting locations for the players. Each city is divided into districts, which can accommodate a maximum of 150 players. If this number is topped, a new district will be created and vice-versa. As you can see, the limited number of players in an area negates the “massively” characteristic, which is specific to other MMORPG’s, making the cities act like instances. On the other hand, you can meet your friends by joining the same district, and if they are on a different server - North America, Asia (South Korea) or Europe - you can choose one of the international districts."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Computer Games Online.

    Reviews
    Mon, Jun 27, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Guild Wars, reviewed yet again, but with a twist.
    Firing Squad has reviewed Guild Wars. Legal theorists are at a complete loss to explain as to why Jay Leno would
    have to testify as to the following:

    "Rushing to pick the game up, complete with the little EB special weapon, I logged in, created a few characters, wandered around, read about the introduction and how the real gameplay doesn’t begin until after the searing (typically level 3-6). After that, I could group with 4 or more people on missions and quests as I leveled my way to 20, which was only the first half of the game – then I could continue gathering skills, defend my guild hall or attack others’. Those times when my guild wasn’t on, I could adventure with AI compatriots.



    By the end of my first night, I was bored to tears."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Firing Squad.

    Reviews
    Fri, Jun 24, 2005
    Boomjack
  • MMORPG - No Fee.
    Bit-tech has joined the flood and reviewed Guild Wars. They wrote this, maybe:

    "Forget what you know about MMORPGs, because Guild Wars takes the concepts and throws them out of the window. Number One: there are no fees to pay each month. You pay for the game upfront, like any other game, then you play it online as much as you want. Number Two: forget spending ages on mundane tasks like sleeping, or healing, or crafting. In Guild Wars, you spend more of your time questing and less of your time fiddling. Number Three: don't worry about queuing to take on big quests. You won't be sharing them with others."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Bit-Tech.
    The best Guild Wars community on the InterWeb is only a click away at GuildWars.TenTonHammer.com.

    Reviews
    Thu, Jun 09, 2005
    Boomjack
  • The love-in continues.
    MMORPG.com has posted their review of Guild Wars. It's probable that they wrote this:

    "Led by a development team of industry veterans (many of whom hail from the hallowed halls of Blizzard) Guild Wars has had high expectations laid upon it by both its creators and many in the player community. Close scrutiny has been given the game throughout its long development and beta periods, with the Devs responding quickly and decisively to rectify game bugs and address player concerns."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at MMORPG.com.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Another Guild Wars review spills onto the Interweb.
    Business Week Online has posted a review of Guild Wars. We're almost positive that they might have written this:

    "It's definitely not your typical online role-playing game. Best of all: You only have to pay for "Guild Wars" ($50, T-rated) once. There are no extra fees, unlike most similar games, which charge about $15 per month to keep playing."

    You can read the entire Guild Wars Review at Business Week Online.

    Reviews
    Wed, Jun 08, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Someone removed their finger from the dyke and another Guild Wars review spilled out.
    BonusStage has posted a review of Guild Wars. We are nearly certain that they wrote this:

    "When it comes to Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games (MMORPG), gamers either love them or hate them, there’s rarely a middle ground. Something fans and non-fans alike would agree on hating however is the “pay as you play” monthly fee MMOs charge to play. Who with a sane mind actually likes paying 10 to 15 bucks a month after laying down a fifty-spot just to buy the game in the first place? As someone who absolutely loves a great MMORPG, even I have grown sick and tired of the fees. That’s why when NCsoft announced Guild Wars, a quasi-MMORPG with completely free online play, I gave up any care I had for the rash of upcoming (and now released) high profile titles like World of Warcraft and EverQuest 2 and held out for its arrival. After a long wait and numerous squelched urges to give those “other” MMOs a try, Guild Wars has arrived at long last and I’m so thankful for its creation, and you most certainly should be too."

    You can read the entireGuild Wars review at BonusStage.com.

    Reviews
    Tue, Jun 07, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net