Archive

Pirates of the Burning Sea Previews

  • GDC Hands-On Preview

    MMORPG.com has updated their site this morning with this preview of Pirates ofthe Burning Sea.

    Once I got into the game, I learned about combat. PotBS combat is similar to the combat in any MMO, but, like most of the new generation of MMOs, the combat has its own flare and style. There are four different kinds of attack that you can use in combat: preparatory attack, basic attack, finishing move and special move.

    More is just a click away.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Mar 19, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look at Pirates of the Burning Sea

    Gamespy has posted their hands on look at the upcoming Pirates of the Burning Sea. Keep reading to see what they think.

    There was something rather appropriate about showing up at Flying Lab's offices in Seattle looking like a drowned rat. The freezing cold rain was pouring down and the wind was howling under a gray end-of-the-world type sky when I rang the bell for my appointment to go hands-on with the developer's watery new MMO, Pirates of the Burning Sea. The good news was that I would be quite warm the rest of the day, as I'd be spending it under the warm 18th century Caribbean sun.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Mar 06, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Preview From Comic Con

    MMORPG.com has posted this preview based on what they were able to learn at the New York Comic Con.

    Players will also have available both epic and legendary quests. In epic questing you will have the standard get twenty five people together to tackle a very hard menace for rewards, recipes, and perhaps even rare ships! The emphasis on epic questing is working together to attain your ultimate goal.

    Keep reading to learn more.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Mar 01, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Grab Yer Blades And Get Ready to Fight!

    Thats right! In this preview at MMORPG.com we get a look at avatar combat. Don't miss a word!

    The big news out of PAX was that Pirates of the Burning Sea will launch in June of 2007 and that the feature list now includes avatar combat. We played the game and sat down with Producer John Scott Tynes at PAX to discuss exactly how avatar combat works.

    “[We] made the decision a few months ago that we were going to release in ’07,” explained Tynes as we sat in a Bellevue Subway. Once made, that decision allowed them to pursue something they’d always wanted, but never felt they had time to do correctly: avatar combat.

    Keep reading to learn more. Is Pirates of the Burning Sea on your must play list? Let us know why in the forums right here at Ten Ton Hammer.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 31, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Pirates live for PvP

    MMORPG.com's Pirates of the Burning Sea coverage focuses on how players battle on the high seas in this late 2005 maritime MMO.

    At the Austin Gaming Conference (AGC) I met with Russell Williams, Flying Lab Software Executive Producer; and Kevin Maginn, Flying Lab Designer to take about their upcoming game, Pirates of the Burning Sea. A naval MMO, PoTBS is set in the Caribbean and largely concentrates on PvPing with other players. There are three types of PvP in the game, allowing for ample combat between the English, Spanish, French, and Pirates.

    When Flying Lab set out to design PvP they wanted it to be meaningful, and thus the first type of PvP is a battle over territory. They also wanted PvP to be accessible but avoidable, so that those who want to participate know where to go while those who don’t can stay clear, and they wanted all of the boats to have an impact, even merchant ships.

    Read the Pirates of the Burning Sea PvP preview at MMORPG.com.

    Related Links:

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 31, 2005
    Ethec
  • Is that a parrot on your shoulder or are you just glad to see me?
    RPG Vault has posted Pirates of the Burning Sea Captain's Log #1, featuring producer, Russell Williams. We asked Johnny Depp to revisit his Pirates of the Caribbean character and he spouted:

    " Executive Producer Russell Williams discusses Flying Lab's plans for the beta of its online age of sail endeavor "

    You can read the entire Pirates of the Burning Sea Captain's Log #1 at RPGVault
    Related Links:

     

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 23, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Fly you very own black flag...

    "Strike and heave to if we give ya the gun, else we'll spare nary a one of ya. We ask no quarter and we give none!" That's what a pirate would say, but what would Gamespot say about a pirate MMO?

    Set in the raucous 18th century Caribbean, during the heyday of piracy, Pirates of the Burning Sea will let you sail for the major powers of the era (Britain, France, or Spain), as well as for yourself as a, well, pirate. The game will feature both player-versus-player combat and player-versus-environment missions, which will let you build a career as a dread captain on the high seas. The game itself seems to combine the town exploration of a traditional online role-playing game with the stylized world map and travel of Sid Meier's Pirates!, with a real-time ship-combat mode that's almost out of a historically based wargame. As such, it's certainly very different from the traditional online role-playing games, with their foci on fantasy worlds and races, not to mention swords and sorcery.

    That and more, you knock-kneed lubber, in the Gamespot preview of Pirates of the Burning Sea, due out end-of-year 2005.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Sep 14, 2005
    Ethec
  • Will HoratioHornblower be the new "Leggollaaaas"?

    Flying Lab put on a show for folks at PAX, and judging from the number of favorable "first impressions" articles that editors have been hungrily posting, it looks like the preview was a hit. The devs are now back in their cubicles, readying PotBS for alpha testing.

    I also mentioned in my last dev log that we’re going to start the alpha test program during this milestone. Alpha testing will initially start with a focus on combat scenario testing. Ships of different types, with different packages, captained by players of different skills, as well as different groupings (small scout ships with larger capital ships, a mix of frigates and merchantmen, etc.) all have to be balanced against one another. For that we need frequent combats with good analysis, so we’re going to be carefully evaluating the first testers who get into the game.

    Take a look at the Pirates of the Burning Sea Dev Log here.
    Flying lab has also posted 3 new PotBS screenshots.
    Don't know much about PotBS? Leaf through our PotBS news archive for a history lesson!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 08, 2005
    Ethec
  • Meet up with Captain Morgan, without the nasty after-effects!

    Pirates of the Burning Sea (PotBS) has garnered a number of previews since the Penny Arcade Expo (PAX); excitement appears to be building for this age of sail-themed MMORPG. The latest early look comes from Gamecloud:

    We were shown and got to play the two main aspects of the game during PAX. One of them is your chosen character (which can be either male or female with a lot of customisation planned) walking around one of the game's island towns. These towns are where you can get various missions from the NPCs. While it won't be in the first public release of Pirates Of The Burning Sea we were told that plans are to give your avatars more to do in town in later releases, including sword combat with other characters and players.

    Then we got to play the other major aspect of the title; sailing ship travel and combat. You will start out with a small ship at first and then as you move onto various missions you can gain loot and have access to buy and/or board and steal other bigger ships. You can even have acccess to AI driven escort ships in higher levels of the game. And yes Player vs Player features are planned. During our PAX demo we got a lesson in the game's ship sailing and combat. Combat is handled in real time and having the biggest ship with the most guns is, as we soon found out, not a lock on winning battles.

    The rest of the Gamecloud Pirates of the Burning Sea preview right here, buddy.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Sep 02, 2005
    Ethec
  • Neither pot, nor BS... it's a pirate & privateer MMOG!

    Idle Thumbs probes (heh) the upcoming Flying Labs title "Pirates of the Burning Sea." Their expert twiddlers came back from PAX with some positive impressions.

    Because combat is between large ships rather than light mobile units, the pace of battles is much slower than normal. Reloading a cannon takes time, and sailing ships definitely do not turn on a dime. The pacing means that battles have plenty of time for planning strategy. You're perfectly welcome to try to fire our port cannons, then come about for a shot from the starboard, but while you're turning you also expose yourself for a broadside shot from another enemy ship. It is, in fact, one of the very few games I've seen where the physical shape of your combat unit comes into play during the battle. Larger ships present more surface area to hit, but are also better armed and better armored. Light ships are hard to hit, but lack the stronger firepower.

    See what all the pirate's parrots are squawking about: take a look at the Idle Thumbs preview of Pirates of the Burning Sea!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 01, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net