Archive

Copernicus + Global Agenda + Star Wars: The Old Republic + Dungeons & Dragons Online: Eberron Unlimited + Auto Assault + Wheel of Time Online + Tabula Rasa + Alganon + City of Villains + EverQuest + Anarchy Online + World of Warcraft + Star Wars Galaxies + Guild Wars + Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning + Lord of the Rings Online + City of Heroes + Ultima Online + The Secret World Previews

  • Ferraris with Flame Throwers.
    Gamebiz has posted a preview of Auto Assault. Where every mutant knows your name:

    "Auto Assault is a massively multiplayer game where you explore a post-apocalyptic world in customized cars, motorcycles, and semis. Humans, mutants, and biomeks battle each other for control of the world, using tricked out vehicles as their primary weapons."

    You can read the Auto Assault Preview at Gamebiz.
    The #1 Auto Assault Information site on the Interweb is.....AutoAssault.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Free MMOG Updates
    ArenaNet has posted new Guild Wars game update notes. It's been a few weeks since the last update notes and the players were getting restless for information:

    "Because it has been a few weeks since we've posted a major update, we wanted to let everyone know what's in the works. Typically, a few weeks is a short amount of time in the development cycle of a game, but we know there are many people who play Guild Wars with such dedication and intensity that a few weeks without an update seems more like an eternity. Here's what's on the way..."

    You can read the Guild Wars Game Update Notes at The Official Site.
    More Guild Wars information than Planter's has peanuts at GuildWars.TenTonHammer.com.

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Aug 05, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Out there, you really won't want to stop for directions.
    Another news snippet from the folks at NCSoft / NetDevil teaches us how not to lose our way in the Wasteland. AA's map system looks a little different than the "fogged-or-full map" approach that we all love and hate:

    "The Central Wastelands is a very dangerous place to get lost. Hundreds of square miles are filled with Contaminated ecology, teeming with all sorts of dangerous creatures... Thankfully enough, all drivers are equipped with an interactive global map system, which is provided to the three races as a part of INC's services. These aren't full maps in the sense that one can see everything that is out there – while the general locations of areas and sectors of interest are shown, detailed maps are only available for the terrain surrounding the regions drivers have already visited."

    Learn more about post-apocolyptic travel here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Ethec
  • Foolish Biomek, You Shall Not Ensconce My Pinto in Flames!
    Auto Assault begins its series of beta diaries: "Transmissions from the Central Wasteland." Real stories from real people just like you and me, except that they're driving around trying to blow each other up.

    "Don't you listen to those that talk about the "lost technology" of the Old World , young Mutant. We Shamans know that the only tech that's lost is what we haven't gone out and dug out of the wastelands yet. No, we won't be needing a shovel. I'll show you how to get what you need to fix this heap with just a Vindicator, some fancy driving, and an unwitting pack o' Scavs. Hop in!"

    Read other peoples' (beta) diaries here!

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Ethec
  • I have super powers, and I've decided to wear tights.
    IGN has posted a hands-on preview of City of Villains. Dr. Evil had this to say about the new City game:

    "One of the nice things about this latest incarnation of character creation are the amount of sliders available to players. Now heads can be adjusted in quite a few ways along with the body. Wide or narrow shoulders, hips, waist, can make two villains look pretty different along with the sallow or bulky chest, long or short legs, and basic physique. Villains can also be about a foot taller than heroes at this point as well ranging up to 8' for some gargantuan sized baddies. Even better is that all of these slides can be used now within the costume creator so it's easy to see immediately what the costume will look like on a different sized body."

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at IGN.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Aug 03, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Dance Party Bree!
    Turbine has released an MP3 to be used in-game for the Prancing Pony. You know, the one in Bree just east of the Chetwood Forest. Okay, so I spent hours of my socially-ostracized youth studying the Tolkien maps, what's it to ya? :)

    " Download Prancing_Pony.mp3 to hear in-game music from LOTRO! "

    Link to the download on the LotRO front page!

    Features, Previews
    Fri, Jul 29, 2005
    Ethec
  • Lower your dice. We have you covered.
    GameDaily has posted a preview of Dungeons and Dragons Online. Dice fell silent in basements across the nation as they read the following:

    "D&D Online is aiming to bring the traditional nerd-fabulous pen and paper experience to the Internet age. We take a close look."

    You can read the entire Dungeons and Dragons Online Preview at GameDaily.
    Our own Dungeons and Dragons Online community is getting rolling at DDO.TenTonHammer.com

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jul 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Super Villain seeks waterfront home.
    GameDaily has posted a preview of City of Villains based on their viewing at Comic-Con. They wore tights and a cape, but that didn't keep them from writing this:

    "You've been good, now it's time to be bad. After gandering the latest on City of Villains at Comic-Con, we've got some more tidbits to report."

    You can read the entire City of Villains Preview at GameDaily.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jul 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Heavily armoured vehicles - breakneck speed - lasers.
    IGN has posted an Auto Assault preview covering the basics of the game. While careening recklessly through the wasteland shooting their flamethrower at anything that moved they were heard to yell:

    "There are three races to choose form here: humans, mutants and biomeks. The humans are, well, a lot like you and me. They've managed to survive the horrible contamination by investing heavily in science and genetic engineering. As a result, they've managed to develop new energy technologies and unleash some profound mental powers. The green-skinned mutants have embraced the contaminants that have poisoned the planet and have developed the power of regeneration. The biomeks are dedicated to the concept that robots ought to rule the planet."

    You can read the entire Auto Assault Preview at IGN.
    You can read past Auto Assault Previews, Interviews and other coverage at AutoAssault.TenTonHammer.com

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Jul 28, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Making friends and influencing people in Middle Earth.
    CVG now has a preview of Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar posted. Apparently you'll only be able to craft a character from the free races (man, hobbit, elf, and dwarf). A gleaming white figure on a bright white horse shouted this as he rode swiftly by:

    "Although the developer apparently discussed the idea of being able to play the game as good versus evil, in the end it's decided to let you choose characters from the four free races of the world: men, elves, hobbits and dwarves. Unfortunately, you won't be able to tread the Middle-earth turf as an orc or a goblin."

    Click here for more information, including when you'll see some familiar characters from the epic tale.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jul 25, 2005
    Ethec
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net