Archive

Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Previews

  • Vanguard Preview

    GamersInfo.net has added their thoughts to the round of previews today.

    I'm one of those people who is a fan of MMO's in general. If it has multiple people playing together online, I'll probably at least try it. It was Christmas seven years ago that my husband and I bought one another our first MMO, his and hers copies of Everquest, and I've been hooked on MMO's ever since. So when we had an opportunity to join Vanguard beta and take an early look at the game, I was more than a little excited. I knew enough about the game and Brad McQuaid to know that this game had potential to take me back to those glory days of my first MMO.

    More is just a click away.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • First Impressions

    Eurogamer.net has posted a preview of Vanguard:Saga of Heroes on their site today.

    Perhaps, on reflection, Sigil Games might feel that putting the word "Saga" into the name was asking for trouble. Calling a game a "Saga" of anything, aside from inviting silly jokes about old age pensioners that don't play very well beyond England's shores, also practically guarantees that your development process will indeed become a Saga - a long, drawn out and somewhat painful experience abounding with whispered half-truths and vague generalisations. Still - even given the number of misconceptions and conflicting views which exist on the topic of Vanguard, Sigil's developers can at least count themselves lucky that they avoided the "Forever" pitfall, eh?

    Get clicking to read more.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Jan 08, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Hit or Miss?

    Worthplaying has posted a review of the upcoming Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    It’s practically de rigueur insofar as persistent world games are concerned. This provides some unique challenges however. Specifically, how do you create an entire mythology and hope to make it engaging enough to feel like a living, breathing world? Well one way is to make sure it looks awesome, and SGO have one up on their old bosses at SOE. As you might glean from the screenshots, the graphics of Vanguard bear more than a passing resemblance to those seen in EverQuest 2. There is however one significant variable that makes all the difference in the world: artistic direction. You see, this game was crafted around the art of Keith Parkinson

    Keep reading to learn more. Head over to our Vanguard Ten Ton Hammer Community site to learn how to win a Beta Key!

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Nov 28, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Jon Wood from MMORPG.com gives his first look impressions of Vanguard

    Just posted today on MMORPG.com you can find another first look at Vanguard Saga of Heroes. Keep reading to see what his thoughts are.

    The first thing that struck me about this game when I sat down to play was the general look of it. I don't just mean graphics, either. I find the overall art style of this game to be very appealing. Vanguard does a pretty good job of skirting the line between realism and fantasy. Often companies make a decision about the look of their game and take it so far in one direction that takes away from the other. The cartoony style of a game like World of Warcraft sacrifices realism for the sake of having a "fantasy" feel, while I have also played games that tried to look ultra-realistic and in that effort, took the fantasy feel out of their game. Vanguard doesn't succumb to either extreme, looking real enough to satisfy me, while still free enough to be fantasy.

    Keep reading to learn more. Don't miss out on Ten Ton Hammer's Exclusive Hands On Preview as well.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Nov 01, 2006
    LadySirse
  • Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Profile Preview - The Bard, Blood Mage, Cleric, Disciple, and Dread Knight Classes

    GameSpot has posted this look at Vanguard: Saga of Heroes. They offer an overview of five of the classes planned for this upcoming game.

    The popular massively multiplayer role-playing genre that lets you adventure online with thousands of other players is set to get even bigger next year with the release of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes, the debut title from Sigil Games. There's a lot of potential in Vanguard, as it is being created by some of the creators of the groundbreaking game EverQuest. This is a fantasy-themed game set in a world populated by humans, elves, dragons, and other mystical creatures. You'll be able to create your own unique character which you'll use to explore this vast world.

    Get clicking to read more. Have you joined our Vanguard Ten Ton Hammer Community site? Sign up today and share your thoughts with us in the Ten Ton Hammer Forums.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Oct 19, 2006
    LadySirse
  • RPG Vault takes a look at the status of Sigil's persistent state title currently progressing through beta toward a winter launch target

    RPG Vault has posted a second preview of the upcoming Vanguard: Saga of Heroes. Find out what they think...

    Brad McQuaid and his Sigil Games Online team will soon share their vision for massively multiplayer online role-playing, Vanguard: Saga of Heroes, now in beta, with launch currently projected for sometime this winter. Groups of players will face testing but rewarding challenges as they explore a high fantasy world, the look of which was created by the late Keith Parkinson.

    Get clicking to see what they have to say about this upcoming game. Let us know what you think in our new Ten Ton Hammer Forums! Head over to Vanguard Ten Ton Hammer for all the latest news and information.

    Features, Previews
    Mon, Oct 09, 2006
    LadySirse
  • You are a PAX on the nation.
    Vanguard Crafters posted their preview impressions of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes, based on their visit to the Penny Arcade Expo. After trashing the Canadian Prime Minister while visiting Canada, Bono still had time to say this:

    " Sigil had a small booth, certainly compared to some other companies, but this fits well with where they are in development.  Three screens were set up for developers and testers demonstrate game play and the beautiful graphics.  I heartily agree with all who have seen the game that the screen shots do it no justice.  The screenshots don't reproduce the detail, clarity and life that Vanguard: Saga of Heroes has, and this is only Beta 0!  I spent most of my time drooling on the developers' shoulders. "

    You can read the entire Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Preview at Vanguard Crafters.
    Related Links

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Sep 15, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Fanguard? Nice to know that MMOs come with safety features these days.
    Vanguard's official site is featuring a number of "Fanguard" reports by beta testers; the ones with nice things to say, of course. My comment that they need a Jean Claude van Damme subclass goes unnoticed. Here's an unrehearsed, unscripted excerpt from one of the reports:

    " The night sky over Telon is a fantastic sight to behold. Vanguard does night better than any MMO I've seen, with a rich cloak of shadow descending on the land that leaves no doubt as to the time of day. The level of darkness depends on the phase of the moon - a full moon casts a fair amount of light, while a new moon does not.

    During the demo, the moon was not visible, so according to Jeff Butler we were seeing northern Thestra at its darkest. With the gamma set normally, visibility was not terribly limited, but a veil of darkness adorned every element of the landscape.

    And what a landscape it is! The screenshots do not do justice to how alive the world feels - grass rippling in the wind, rolling hills dappled with trees, and in the distance towering peaks of what I believe were the Widow's Veil Mountains (I neglected to ask). The models look beautiful in motion even with the placeholder animation, and the mobs look spectacular. I am not usually one to gush, but Vanguard's graphics in action are truly something to behold. "

    You can read all ten Vanguard, Saga of Heroes "Fanguard" beta reports at the official site.

    Features, Previews
    Tue, Aug 16, 2005
    Ethec
  • Fanguard - What Braid McQuaid wears at E3.
    Vanguard Crafters has posted a Vanguard preview based on conversations at the recent Sigil Online Games Fanguard. Fanguard, strong enough for a construction worker, but made for a game developer. :

    "Sigil is an amazing team with so much excitement about their product that they love talking about what they can. We tried to get more out of them but they were good about keeping things secret when need be!"

    You can read the entire Vanguard Preview at Vanguard Crafters.

    Features, Previews
    Thu, Aug 04, 2005
    Boomjack
  • Saga of Heroes, not to be confused with Saga of those everyday peon type guys.
    WorthPlaying has a preview of Vanguard: Saga of Heroes locked and loaded. Of all the things that they could have written, we are almost sure they wrote this:

    "The buzz around Vanguard: Saga of Heroes is immense. Sigil games is made up of some of the development team behind EverQuest, including CEO Brad McQuaid, former EverQuest producer. Sigil is designing Vanguard around the notion that today's MMOs are becoming too kind and gentle, so they want this game to be as hardcore as EverQuest. The bad-old-days of long corpse runs and xp loss (and possible de-leveling) upon death are back. To those who look back on EQ with nostalgic eyes I utter this warning: Be careful what you ask for, you might just get it."

    You can read the entire Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Preview at WorthPlaying.

    Features, Previews
    Wed, Jun 22, 2005
    Boomjack
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net