Archive

Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Reviews

  • Vanguard Review: Does Vanguard Really Add Up

    Multiplayer Games Online Directory has updated their site with a look at Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    Diplomacy

    This is quite possibly the most innovative part of Vanguard is the new diplomacy system. Finally, someone has introduced a way for players to talk to the various non-player characters wandering around the world in a real game-changing manner. The effects of these interactions can be anything from as little as earning a little bit of extra coin, getting some prestige, and having someone killed, all the way up to things like reducing prices on vendors, giving bonuses to crafting, harvesting, and the like, all across the region.

    More is just a click away.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 02, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Vanguard: Saga of Heroes Review

    gameSlave has updated their site with this review of the recently released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    Vanguard reminds me a bit of a boy racer's banger: plenty of ideas and fancy tricks under the bonnet, but still somehow less than the sum of its parts. It's outrageously difficult, clumsy to control, is littered with outrageous design decisions, full of bugs and does absolutely nothing to satisfy any sort of boredom. But, having said all that, you can't help but sit back at times and concede that it's a bit cool too.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Mon, Apr 02, 2007
    LadySirse
  • In which our hero makes some lovely woodwork. No, really

    PC Gamer weighs in with their thoughts on Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    On one of the many occasions online RPG Vanguard managed to depress and amuse me simultaneously, it gave me a quest to go and shear five goats. The NPC next to the quest-giver had just addressed me as "hero", and thanked me for coming to help his beleaguered community. So, hero, go cut some goat hair for us, because we just can't be bothered.

    More is just a click away.

    Reviews
    Thu, Mar 15, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look at Telon

    GamersInfo has updated their site with this look at the recently released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    I have adventured beyond where I have blogged at this point, but I think it's time to take a small break from my journal and give you my impressions of the game. Overall, I have been as impressed with Vanguard as I was with Dark Age of Camelot and City of Heroes/City of Villains for smoothness of their launch and stability of the servers; certainly it has been much, much better than the stability of Horizons, World of Warcraft, EverQuest 2 or Guild Wars during their first month.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Tue, Mar 06, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Vanguard Reviewed

    Play.tm posted a review of the recently released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes over the weekend.

    One of the noticeable things about the game is a lack of instances, this can sometimes require your group to camp out for a long time waiting for that illusive boss to re-spawn, not entirely enjoyable to say the least. Having spent a couple of hours fighting through waves of enemies you arrive at the section where the boss resides, only to find that it hasn't re-spawned yet due to the efforts of the last group can be quite disheartening, especially as it took so long to get there in the first place.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Mon, Mar 05, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look at Vanguard

    Strategy Informer has weighed in with their thoughts on the recently released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    In most games I play, the music is the first thing that gets my attention. The loading screens have it playing before you ever see anything. Good music will get your attention and set the mood for what is to come. Vanguard manages to do this very thing. Throughout all of Vanguard, the music carried me.

    More is just a click away.

    Reviews
    Thu, Mar 01, 2007
    LadySirse
  • A Look At Vanguard: Saga of Heroes

    Gameplay Monthly has just posted their review of the recently released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    The pacing of the game, meanwhile, is a step backward in the eyes of many. The current trendsetter, WoW, makes it very easy to gain levels and get the best gear you can for your current level. Vanguard takes a page from older games like EverQuest, Ultima Online and the early days of Dark Age of Camelot. You're really going to work at it to hit 50, get your flying mounts, and get your uber gear. Sigil makes no apologies for this, that’s what they have said Vanguard was going to be about all along. So if you aren't in it to win it over a long while, steer clear.

    More is just a click away.

    Reviews
    Wed, Feb 28, 2007
    LadySirse
  • The Anti-Review

    Gamers with Jobs has posted their thoughts on Vanguard. Be warned, it's not for the faint of heart as the title might hint at.

    When in early February, a Vanguard review key wandered into my grasp I, as something of a Massively Multiplayer gaming addict, set out immediately with the intent of investing dozens of hours into its three-tiered gameplay structure to construct a fair and well-informed review of the title.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Sat, Feb 24, 2007
    LadySirse
  • Thoughts on Vanguard

    GameZone has weighed in with their thoughts on the recently released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    The world of Telon is vast, with a variety of different environmental settings. It is, essentially, comprised of islands, each that houses different races. There is the standard mix of dark elves, wood elves, high elves, dwarfs, humans, and humanistic animals. There are 19 races spread over three world masses – Thestra, Kojan and Qalia.

    Get clicking to learn more.

    Reviews
    Wed, Feb 21, 2007
    LadySirse
  • TrustedReviews Talks Vanguard

    Trusted Reviews has updated their site with a review of the newly released Vanguard: Saga of Heroes.

    Welcome, if you will, to the third-age of MMORPGs. Let’s say the first began with Ultima Online, EverQuest, Asheron’s Call and Dark Age of Camelot – games that had a deep appeal for a particular audience, but could never quite manage to attract a mainstream following. Then came the second age. City of Heroes, World of Warcraft, Eve and Guild Wars started to knock out the elements of the genre that put off the majority of gamers, and perfectly suited those who had just taken up broadband and were looking for something to do with it. Well, now we’re ready for a third age; a range of games that, essentially, take the post-WoW MMORPG as a starting point and run from there.

    Get clicking to read more.

    Reviews
    Thu, Feb 15, 2007
    LadySirse
RSS feed

News from around the 'Net