Other MMO Coverage


AoC Developer Journal Explains Alternate Advancement System

Posted Wed, Feb 24, 2010 by Martuk

One of the most anticipated features scheduled for release with Age of Conan: Rise of the Godslayer is the alternate advancement system. If you're an old EverQuest veteran, you might remember this sort of system as an alternate method to keep your character progressing beyond simple leveling. Age of Conan's system, while similar, will be a bit different, allowing players to earn three kinds of points: Prowess, Mastery, and Expertise. These points can then be used to enhance a character by purchasing Feats and Perks. The entire system might seem a little confusing, but a new developer journal over at MMORPG breaks the system down and explains it in detail.

Players will be able to buy abilities using points earned through the alternate advancement system. The general tree is available to characters at level 20, while the archetype and class trees become available at level 80. The abilities in the general tree will scale with the player's level and means that lower level characters can also benefit from these new trees.

The high-fantasy setting isn't the only thing that would make Game of Thrones a fantastic story-based MMO.
Wed, May 14, 2014

Age of Conan’s Twelve Portents event continues this week with the arrival of Serpent Man Oldblood.

News, Official Announcements
Thu, Mar 06, 2014

Game Director Joel Bylos drops a new update on Age of Conan’s tradeskill revamp, exploits, and upcoming content.

News, Official Announcements
Mon, Mar 03, 2014

The ProSiebenSat.1 Group expands its reach into the gaming industry with the acquisition of publisher Aeria Games' EU branch.

Press Release, News, Official Announcements
Thu, Feb 27, 2014

News from around the 'Net