The End of an Era: City of Heroes Shuts Down Today

Posted Fri, Nov 30, 2012 by Martuk

It’s been a long run for City of Heroes (CoH). The first superhero-based MMOG broke onto the scene back in 2004, allowing players to create and take on the persona of their own personal heroes and later do the same as villains with the City of Villains expansion. But just under 9 years later, CoH will officially be sunset after NCsoft’s decision to pull the plug on the game earlier this year.

The decision to shut down CoH served as a call to arms for thousands of players to try and save the MMOG. After staging in-game rallies, carrying out a writing campaign, a petition that gained over 21,000 signatures from fans and the Save CoH movement, and even a last ditch long shot Disney plan, the deadline has been reached and CoH will officially be sunset tonight at 11:59pm PT.

CoH players will be holding one final Unity Rally tonight on every server tonight to say goodbye as the twilight hours loom over Paragon City.

What: Unity Rally: Last Goodbye

When: 11 PM PST (2 AM EST, 7 AM GMT) Friday November 30th

Where: City Hall, Atlas Park, Every Server!

Sources: City of Heroes Sunset FAQ, Unity Rally: Last Goodbye


CoT-header.jpg
Their Kickstarter campaign reached its goal in under a week so we sat down with Project Lead, Chris Hare, to learn more about their story.
Features, Interviews
Thu, Oct 10, 2013
Dalmarus
pg-content-header
Is player-generated content the next evolutionary step in the life of the MMO genre?
Features, Opinions
Thu, Sep 05, 2013
Dalmarus
CoH-Heroes.jpg

Prompted by fan reactions to comments made by Jack Emmert about City of Heroes at PAX East, Cryptic’s community manager responds.

News, Official Announcements
Thu, Apr 11, 2013
Martuk
CoH-Heroes.jpg

Was City of Heroes profitable? An anonymous source reveals details about the financial status of the game and NCsoft responds.

News
Sat, Jan 05, 2013
Martuk

News from around the 'Net