Warlocks are magic users, much like Mages, but with a dark twist. Masters of the dark and demonic, Warlocks tap into magics that most wouldn't even dream of. Being ranged casters, many enemies see the Warlock as helpless, but they are far from it. These spell casters can dish out incredible damage that

almost always causes their foes to die a slow painful death.

Besides being able to do their own damage, Warlocks are able to tap into the lower realms and call forth formidable demonic minions. These minions do their master's bidding without question and can be used to do damage, tank enemies, or in other utility roles.

Current Expansion: Warlords of Draenor

Choosing the Warlock

Warlocks are a ranged DPS class that relies primarily on magic spells and their “pets” to defeat their foes. Able to tame might minions from a demonic realm, Warlocks always have these trusty companions by their sides. While many may compare the Warlock to the Mage, they are totally different play experiences.

Mages burst out raw damage, Warlocks tend to rely on damage over time spells and curses to torture their foes before their ultimate demise. Warlocks also tend to rely on confusing or causing fear in the enemy to do a form of psychological damage. This allows them to befuddle their foes and take them down without ever taking a single hit.

Besides damage, Warlocks also provide incredible utility spells. For example, the ever popular Ritual of Summoning for those who just can't make it to your location on time.

Many races shy away from the Warlock. They fear their dark magic and do not trust this class. This leaves those players wishing to play the Warlock with more limited race options in game. Playable races for the Warlock include: Dwarves, Humans, Blood Elves, Orcs, Undead, Gnomes, Worgen, Goblins, and Trolls.

Warlock Core Abilities

Every Warlocks comes equipped with a set of core abilities that are common to the class. These abilities are distinctive and tend to define what exactly makes a Warlock a Warlock. While these memorable spells may take several levels to appear, they are available to every single Warlock regardless of specialization. Examples of such spells and abilities are: Shadow Bolt, Soulstone, Summon Succubus, Ritual of Summoning, and Banish.

When it comes to gear, the Warlock can only choose from Cloth items. Cloth is the perfect (and preferred) choice for spellcasters. Giving them excellent mobility to get away from enemies, while still allowing them to cast their spells without interference.

For weapons, Warlocks are equally limited. Weapons available to the Warlock include: Daggers, One-Handed Swords, Staves, and Wands.

Warlock Soul Shards

Warlocks are especially unique in the fact that they have a secondary resource; Soul Shards. Available to only Affliction Warlocks, they are displayed in the user interface below the player's health and mana bars. Soul Shards resemble Death Knight and Paladin Runes. Soul Shards work with the Soulburn spell, that empowers the next spell the player casts and granting it an special effect.

Warlocks have three Soul Shards that can be used at any given time. Once a Soul Shard is used, it needs to be regenerated using other abilities, it will not restore itself. However, existing Soul Shards will not decay. To regenerate Soul Shards, the Warlock can use Soul Harvest out of combat or the Drain Soul spell in combat.

Warlock Mana

Mana is the resource Warlock's use to fuel their spells and abilities. Mana starts out full until a spell is used. Mana can be quickly regenerated by drinking in game. Mana also regenerates slowly by itself. Mana Potions are also available for restoration in a pinch. Stats on gear can increase the amount of Mana the Warlock has.

Warlock Minions

The Warlock, much like the Hunter, relies heavily on pets. However, unlike the Hunter, Warlock pets are not companions from the natural realm. Instead these are beasts ripped from the dark side and forced to do the bidding of the Warlock. These minions are powerful tools that when used wisely can help the Warlock to cause extreme destruction.

Warlocks can currently summon a total of seven different minions. Imps, Fel Imps, Voidwalkers, Voidlords, Succubus, Shivarra, Felhunters, Felguards, and Wrathguards. These minions accompany the Warlock wherever he or she may go and provide various benefits like damage, tanking, or other utility roles. Only one of the above permanent minions can be active at any given time.

Besides the minions listed above, the Warlock can summon several short term minions. These types of minions include: Infernals, Abyssals, Doomguards, and Terrorguards. These short term guardians can be active at the same time as a permanent minion.

Warlock Specialization

As the Warlock gains levels, they will eventually find themselves faced with a choice; which specialization to choose? Warlocks can choose form one of three unique specializations, each offering up a different type of game play: Affliction, Demonology, or Destruction. Each specialization will grant the player a different variety of skills and abilities.

Affliction Warlocks focus on damage over time spells, bringing great agony to their foes before striking them down. Demonology Warlocks have a special bond with their minions, enhancing their abilities. Finally, Destruction Warlocks prefer direct damage, using primitively fire to bring death and destruction to their enemies. Remember, every Warlock spec is currently viable in game. Feel free to pick the one that suits your personal play style or try them all to mix things up! No matter which type of Warlock you play, your Warlock's damage and utility will be a welcome addition to any type of group.

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our World of Warcraft Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2016

About The Author

Amunet, also fondly known as Memtron, is an organic life form best known for its ongoing obsession with Blizzard Entertainment's numerous properties. To that end, Amu has authored hundreds (thousands?) of the most popular World of Warcraft guides, editorials, and Top 10 lists on the planet. When not gaming and writing, Amu is busy chasing after her three children in a perpetual loop of ongoing disaster.


Related Content

54 professions square
Patch 5.4 Profession Changes