Members of the MMO Hall of Fame committee have selected five new inductees this year. The committee, which is made up of several members of the gaming industry such as Zenimax Online President Matt Firor, KingsIsle Entertainment’s Creative Director Todd Coleman, and several others, each selected 10 games that were voted on with games that received 60% of the vote becoming automatic inductees.

This year’s inductees were selected from MMOGs released between 1996 through 2007. The five selected titles are RuneScape, Dark Age of Camelot, Asheron’s Call, the late City of Heroes, and Meridian 59.

Visit the MMO Hall of Fame website to learn more.

MMO Hall of Fame Inducts 5 New Games - RuneScape and City of Heroes Get In!

PLANO, TX (February 12, 2013)
– Members of the MMO Hall of Fame Nominating Committee have voted. Five new inductees are now enshrined in the hallowed virtual halls of The MMO Hall of Fame at

Each committee member selects 10 games they feel have set standards in the gaming field. The lists of nominees are then forwarded to the Hall of Fame curator. The results are then tallied, with any games receiving 60% of the votes becoming automatic inductees. This year’s crop of games contained releases from 1996 to 2007 including Lord of the Rings Online (LotRO). Surprisingly, LotRO did not get in on its first year of eligibility.

The 2013 MMO Hall of Fame Nominating Committee is a roundtable comprised of gaming industry notables: Matt Firor (President, ZeniMax Online), Todd Coleman (VP/Creative Director, KingsIsle Entertainment), Andreas Weidenhaupt (CEO & Founder, Infernum Productions), Bryan Koski (Marketing Director, En Masse Entertainment), Mark Hill (Producer, Perfect World Entertainment), Jeff Riggall (Senior Producer, Cartoon Network Game Studio), Gordon Walton (VP/Executive Producer, Playdom), Stephen Johnston (President, Eric Bloom (Gamer/Writer & Lead Vocalist, Blue Oyster Cult), and Carolyn Koh (MMO Gaming Writer).

The 2013 MMO Hall of Fame Inductees are:

RuneScape (80% of the votes)

Asheron’s Call (80% of the votes)

Dark Age of Camelot (80% of the votes)

City of Heroes (70% of the votes)

Meridan59 (60% of the votes)

"Although there was no unanimous winner in 2013, we did have a three-way tie for first place. With over 100 games to choose from, I think the committee did an excellent job of picking five that certainly set their mark in their respected area of massively multiplayer online games," said Doug Kale, director of MMO Hall of Fame.

For the complete list of votes, please log on to the MMO Hall of Fame at Http://

ABOUT MMO Hall of Fame

The MMO Hall of Fame recognizes the massively multiplayer online games that have brought years of excitement to millions of fans worldwide by honoring them for their tremendous accomplishments. The MMO Hall of Fame is owned and operated by Fuzz Buzz Media of Plano, Texas.

ABOUT Fuzz Buzz Media

Fuzz Buzz Media, based in Plano, Texas, is a marketing and business development company representing business websites in social media, online gaming, general reference, entrepreneurs and Texas restaurant reviews.

To read the latest guides, news, and features you can visit our Dark Age of Camelot Game Page.

Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016

About The Author

Zombie 0
Stacy "Martuk" Jones was a long-time news editor and community manager for many of our previous game sites, such as Age of Conan. Stacy has since moved on to become a masked super hero, battling demons in another dimension.